Basic Mistakes you must avoid as a Moderator in the steem blockchain.

in Steem Alliancelast year

I have had quite a very rough time as a moderator on the steemit platform and I feel it will be nice to share with all moderators my experience so that they won't fall into the same situation as mine.

Being a moderator means you have some basic knowledge of the platform and you are also acting as a mentor to all those who publish their articles in the various communities you are working with because you have the right to guide and correct users.

pexels-photo-8363153.jpeg
source

I have been a moderator in at least 5 different communities on the steemit platform and I must say, I understand in-depth the role of a moderator. Being a moderator means you are also a steem promoter because you act as the face of steemit within and outside the platform.

Here in this article, I will be discussing a few mistakes that I have made in the platform which has almost cost me my reputation. The case is still ongoing but I guess my story will help others not to fall victim to the same circumstances.

Plagiarism

If anyone must plagiarize on the steemit platform, it mustn't be a moderator. I made the silly mistake of taking a screenshot from a post without properly sourcing it. Ordinarily, if it's a normal user who committed such an act, he or she will be warned never to do that again but my case was taken publicly for the world to see.

As a moderator, please avoid every form of plagiarism and always ensure to produce high-quality content even if it is one article daily. This is to help you keep to the standard of the steemit team and also maintain your reputation.

Mentorship

This is another aspect I have failed as a moderator on the steemit platform. Did I fail? I have always tried my best to recruit and mentor users on the platform. I have received messages from users seeking my mentorship.

I have put all my effort into trying to guide and educate users both within and outside my country. Recently an investigation was carried out about the users I have introduced to the platform.

All of which was confirmed to be a real user but the level of damage that caused me was unbearable. I mentored and guided and that made a user exceptionally good in her writing up which made it suspicious as well.

The mistake in mentorship that I want to highlight today is that for no reason should you associate your transaction with that of your recruits or mentees.

I was accused of using multiple accounts because of this very act probably because I'm a member of Club 100. It's amazing to see how far steemians are ready to go just to see the downfall of others. Can such effort be used to raise a user?

Conclusion

Both plagiarism and the issues I have mentioned on the basis of mentorship are two key factors that must be taken into consideration by all moderators. It is a mistake that I have made and I wouldn't want any other user to make same mistake hence I suggest you avoid all the lapses I have listed above. I hope this piece guide us all so that such an act doesn't get repeated.

Sort:  

I made the silly mistake of taking a screenshot from a post without properly sourcing it.

I was going to leave you to get on with your life on Steemit but whilst you continue to belittle what you did, I cannot allow you to continue without correction.

You did not "take a screenshot without properly sourcing it". Let me quote what you said in this particular instance:

Note: All screenshot are taken by me from the tradingview website were i perform my analysis from. Source

This isn't simply taking a screenshot without providing a source - it's a deliberate act of deceit, passing off the work of others as your own.

As pointed out to you in my article which you're indirectly referencing and the comments that follow (which you've chosen not to defend), I have also highlighted some of the entire articles that you plagiarised. If you would like me to dedicate another post listing all of the examples of this, then please continue along the path which you are currently choosing. I do not wish to do this and I have absolutely no doubt that you wouldn't benefit from this either.

if it's a normal user who committed such an act, he or she will be warned never to do that again but my case was taken publicly for the world to see.

Yes. As a moderator you are held to a higher standard. As a Community Curator, you are held to an even higher standard still. Abuse this, and you destroy all trust that users have in moderators and community curators as a whole.

...because of this very act probably because I'm a member of Club 100. It's amazing to see how far steemians are ready to go just to see the downfall of others.

You think that I care who you are? Somehow, you think that I dislike you for a reason other than the fact that you are trying to cheat those who have entrusted you with a significant level of responsibility. You are certainly not the first person that I have exposed for this. You are certainly not the most self-important or have the highest power. You are simply the user that I stumbled across in the latest abuse of booming votes.

Your inability to show any real remorse for your deceit and abuse of power indicate that the only mistake that you believe you made was getting caught.

 last year 

Greetings dear friend @the-gorilla, i didn't justify my action in anyway and that is why i said i made a silly mistake. The essence of this post is to keep other moderators on their guide so the do not fall into this predicament as mine.

Your inability to show any real remorse for your deceit and abuse of power indicate that the only mistake that you believe you made was getting caught

If i didn't show remorse i couldn't have written this article to guide others from not making same mistake as mine. I have done wrong and i accept my fault. Thanks for the correction. This will make me a better steemian.

Yes, it is important that other moderators do not make these mistakes.

It is just as important that when the mistake is made, to own it in its entirety. Not to play it down as a "simple error referencing a screenshot" as you appear to be doing in this post, and in your post yesterday.

You know that it's more than just a screenshot. Please stop implying that your indiscretion was an irrelevant accident when we know that it was not.

 last year 

Thanks for the corrections boss. All corrections are taken.

Plagiarism (though a no-go) is one thing and I don't want to imply that all those mentioned are your accounts either, maybe you really were just the "guide".
What I find much worse is being a "turncoat": On the one hand you write stupid assessments to users (with hope) as moderator under their posts (free of plagiarism ✅ or "name all sources when using foreign content" ❌ ), on the other hand you do the same. Trust is the key word here, which you have trampled on by your behaviour.
Moreover, you do not mention at all that your "pupils" have received a conspicuously large number of sc- and booming-votes due to your intervention. Others can only dream of that. Is that fair? And here again it is trust that you trample on. This time not only the trust of the users, but also of the Steemit and Booming team. Because people rely on "their curators" to act loyally.

 last year 

Greetings @chriddi, thanks for your wonderful comment. I'm so happy for the corrections i have gotten this past few days. I know it will make me a better steemian. I hope to see more guide and corrections on my post so that if given the opportunity, i can guide users more appropriately next time. Thank you once again boss.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32