SteemFoods Contest -6- | Promote A Traditional Food | Pani WalalusteemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemFoods3 years ago
Pani walalu is a type of sweet made in special occasions. Most of the time it is made for the New Year festival. New Year festival in Sri Lanka is a festival we celebrated in April. It is also called Sinhala and Tamil New Year. Nowadays we can find them in stores selling pani walalu all over the year. This recipe is so famous with upcountry people as they won’t miss this in their sweet tables in festivals.


IMG_20201114_171550.jpg

Ingredients:

250g Undu seeds or Undu flour
125g Rice flour
30g all purpose flour
1 cup Coconut milk
¼tsp baking soda (or 1 cup of Coconut water)
Pinch of salt
Sugar
water

I had to soak undu seeds for few hours. It is recommended to soak it around 6-8 hours or overnight. I soaked it around 2-3 hours and directly added them into the blender with little bit of water. If we are using coconut water for the recipe, this is the time to add it instead of that little bit of water. We shouldn’t add all the coconut water at once because this batter is a little bit thick one. Coconut water also has the ability of risen up the mixture but it takes more time than baking soda.

IMG_20201114_143238.jpg

IMG_20201114_143647.jpg

After blending it should be come out as a smooth batter without any small pieces of undu.

IMG_20201114_144315.jpg

After that I have added shifted rice flour and all purpose flour into the mixture. Because I haven’t used coconut water, I added the baking soda and then the salt. Then I added coconut milk little by little while mixing the batter.

IMG_20201114_150212.jpg

This batter shouldn’t be so thick or much liquid type. It should be in between. I kept it covered until it rises. It took about 40minutes because, I used baking soda and because of our warm climate. If I have used coconut water, I will keep it about 6 hours to rise.

IMG_20201114_151040.jpg

After it rises, I got the mixture and mixed it again. The batter didn’t have the requested consistency. So I added little amount of coconut milk again. My batter looks in this color because I used red rice flour for it.

Then I poured the batter into a piping bag and with the help of it poured the batter into oil. While frying this flame should keep low. otherwise this will be burnt.

IMG_20201114_162749.jpg

IMG_20201114_162800.jpg

Got the fried pani walalu out of the oil when it turn out golden brown and dip it in the sugar syrup. I made sugar syrup before starting the frying of batter using brown sugar and water. A little secret I learnt recently 😉, add few drops of lime or lemon so syrup will not get harden while it cools.

IMG_20201114_160557.jpg

IMG_20201114_164337.jpg

Here is my final result... There were few cousins at our place today.. my mother prepared tea for everyone, served with pani walalu.

IMG_20201114_171544.jpg

IMG_20201114_172643.jpg

We can find this sweet at any sweetshop or dessert shop and buy them paying LKR 30- LKR 40 per one. I bought the most delicisious pani walalu I have tasted from "Hela Bojun Hala ", Kandy.

If you visit kandy be sure to try it!

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hi :

Your participation in the contest, which I organized with the #steemfoods-traditional tag, has been successfully approved. Your recipe with pani wala looks extremely tasty. Can we add extra chocolate sauce on this dessert? I saw your first post on the SteemFoods Community, the cupcake recipe, you are making great content. I have added this dessert recipe to my 'Best SteemFoods Posts of the Day'. We voted for this post with -steemcurator02. I'm looking forward to the other recipes you will prepare in the SteemFoods Community. :)

Thank you so much. I haven't tried adding chocolate sauce on this. Because we dip it in sugar syrup it taste so sweet. Thanks again for your support.

@rasinkani I love pani walalu too.There was a place in my town selling best pani walalu but Now their quality is not good.Once i tried making these but it didn't came well like this ☺️☺️

This was my first try @madhumunasinghe. It came out nice and delicious. 😍
You should try again.. we can learn from our faults 😊

Yes! I found a new recipe should give a try to make it ☺️🤗

before reading this post, i saw Recipe:Flower cake making (made by me)

he used rice , and you used Undu seeds or Undu flour, but you added sugar syrup, so i liked these both recipe, but your recipe is same as we have jalabi in our area , your recipe and jalabi are same food, but we used maida as flour in making jalabi design, thank you very much for sharing this sweet dish , nice yeah it is very much easy for breakfast and i love to eat it with milk tea, nice photography also that you made best of luck dear

Looks like they have similarities 😊

i love to eat it with milk tea

Yeah it is good with tea...

nice photography also that you made best of luck dear

Thank you!

I bought the most delicisious pani walalu I have tasted from "Hela Bojun Hala ", Kandy.

me too. 💕💕 I want to eat one right now 😢😢😢

Pani walalu reminds me our trip to kandy 😊 let's go there again and eat them 😍

 3 years ago 

Thank you for setting your post to 100% Powerup.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97