Growing Up in a Rural Area or Urban Area

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago (edited)

pexels-photo-4200705 (1)~2.jpegSource

Growing up in the rural area was one of the exciting experience I have ever had as I reminisce on the community sense of belonging,shared values,coming out together for various events and activities,marking of festivals.I could remember going to natural spring and streams to swim along with my peer group,we shared farming activities,participating in palm oil production and making of native cassava flake popularly referred to as garri,and the availability of good organic food and fruits for consumption.Life was more sustainable and self sufficient as rural life offered us the opportunity to grow our food,raised animals and live more peacefully and sustainable.

Although with all of these we had faced the challenges of poor infrastructure,no access to basic social amenities and quality education, quality health care services.Theses factors caused many person to migrate to the urban areas but they were never much better in comparison than those that stay put at home.Because those at home take advantage of the resources around and live a sustainable life as in lower cost of living,cost of food,housing and other life dialy neccessities were lower thus allowing people to save money and live a comfortably life.

Now let me go further by answering the contest questions.

Differentiate between urban and rural areas stating three major features

skater-cruises-thew-middle-road-downtown-crowded-lisboa_181624-37679~2.jpgSource

An urban area is a thick populated city or town where there is good infrastructural facilities and basic social amenities such as good road network, electricity supply,water supply,access to quality healthcare,good housing, employment opportunities, shopping malls and entertainment facilities.Houses also are arranged in a street etc.

It has these basic features:

  • Dense population

  • Good infrastructure and basic social amenities.

  • High cost of living.

Rural area is a local community with people of shared value,love,culturally inclined and a community sense of closeness and connection to their neighbours with no access to basic amenities and infrastructural development but have access to lower cost of living,cheap houses,good and natural food and water this making them to live comfortably and sustainably.

Features:

  • Affordable cost of living

  • Sense of belonging,closeness and cultural ties

  • Access to nature,living a quite,comfortable,sustainable life which promotes their mental and emotional wellbeing.

pexels-photo-3760978.jpegSource

Which area did you grow up and why?

I grew up in the rural area,in fact I'm a typical village brought up..Lol.Although I used to travel to Lagos and Portharcourt during holidays in my Montessori and college years anyway.I really didn't like the idea of living in the rural area because it was so boring to me though life was easier and more comfortable,I was still nurturing the hope of going to the city so that I could explore life and expose to new thing,meet new people and new opportunities.

images (2).jpegSource

I actually spend my growing years with my grandma in the rural areas,while that happened was due to my parents divorce that led my mum to leave us at the care of my grandma while she went for business trips at the sea side to raise money for me and my siblings upkeep.My grand mum was very disciplined and had stringent rules that didn't tolerate those childhood juvenile dilliguences,if you move or offend she would beat the daylight out of to you.She was better at raising children even more than the real mum,she was caring too,my mum trusted her for our Safety and left us in her tutelage,thanks to those wonderful drill and strokes of cane of hers which has made me become a useful person.

If you were told to go to the area you didn't grow up from,will you?

Yes of course,I will gladly go so far the benefits outweigh what I lost if I don't make an attempt.Because going to such a new place will expose me to meet with new people,experience new things and jam with several opportunities.These will add up to my experiences and form another chapter in the book of my journey of life.

What things are they in the area grow up that aren't in the other?

One of the main attraction of the rural area is lower cost of living.Housing prices in the rural area is often significantly cheaper than the urban area,this makes it easier for people to afford larger home and even start a small farm or garden.In addition the cost food and other basic neccessities are lower allowing inhabitants to save money.

pexels-photo-4473490 (1).jpegSource

Another interesting thing about rural living is the slower pace of life.In rural areas,there is tendency to be close to nature including the warm spring,streams,beaches,fresh fruits and veggies,spending of time with family and friends,and pursue hobbies and leisures.They take life so simple at a slower pace which also leads to a decreased level of stress and a greater sense of physical,mental and emotional well-being.

Overall growing up in the rural area was a memorable experience I will never forget in a jiffy.Life was more simpler,more affordable,the cost of food was cheaper and we were close to nature.There was this sense of community, slower pace of life,and the agribusiness my people engaged in was sustainable.Alhough the rural areas face certain economic limitations of non availability of the basic social amenities,it's still offers the opportunity for sustainable,self-sufficient lifeslyle, this safeguards the overall well-being of an individual.
And I appreciate the fact that I had the opportunity to learn life from that perspective which has invariably become enriching and rewarding experience.

Special Invite

@goodybest

@scilwa

@okere-blessing

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...
 6 months ago 

Hello dear, I wish to you to be in peace and living their best moments of life.
You grew up in a village but you had the curiosity to know new things to improve your economic condition, that is why you find the village boring.
You are right, there is comfort in the village but there is no opportunity to know things, hence people with curiosity prefer to live in a city where there is a lot to learn.
I enjoyed reading your post. Wish you good may you always achieve whatever you aim for yourself in life and make the best journey .Greetings from me Have a beautiful.

Thanks for stopping by and taking your time to read through..Blessings

Growing up in a place you feel safe and belong is an advantage to sound health. The stress and anxiety of living in an urban area due to the hectic day to day activities can be do depressing leading to health issues. You've wrote well sis... enjoy your night

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63974.07
ETH 3426.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54