My favorite fable

in Steem of Animals5 months ago (edited)

This post is my entry for the Contest : What is your favorite fable, Session-3 hosted by Dear @f2i5.

I must admit that I have many favorite fables or sayings that deserve due attention, but I decided to choose one from this list one that has changed its meaning many years after I heard it for the first time.

This fable goes like this: Chickens are counted in the fall! Or to make the translation clear count when they grow up.

A wise saying that teaches us not to brag about our successes before we see the end result of our work.

Those people who are engaged in poultry farming know well that not all chickens that hatch from an egg will reach the age and weight required by the poultry farmer many will die from diseases some of them will suffocate when the chickens huddle together to keep warm and some of them will be carried away by wild animals and birds.

Everything is quite reasonable if you rely on this fable but what is the mistake or dogma here?

2020-11-07-16-56-51.jpg

The truth is like a fleeting moth that briefly landed on your hand when you didn’t expect it, so, quite by accident I learned the correct version of this fable from the inhabitants of the south of Moldova who call themselves Gagauz, immigrants from Turkey.

DSC01333.JPG

Those people do not mention chickens when they pronounce such a fable I will explain why and who they mention.

IMG_20230509_150346_227.jpg

In the Gaguz version of this fable it is not chickens that are mentioned but ducklings.

The fact is that if you live next to a pond the ducklings will spend most of their lives which is the end of spring and the beginning of autumn together with their mother duck in the pond fattening on natural feed from the reservoir and only occasionally will they go to the poultry yard for feed.

And chickens spend most of their lives in the poultry yard and are easier to count than ducklings.

IMG_20230509_150339_086.jpg

And when the ducklings return home in the fall, the poultry farmer already knows how to count them correctly lol.

1artsDSC09633.png

I invite my friends @eii @ranartblog @xaviduran to take part.


Zoom in on a photo for a closer view.


1aaaw.png

More to come!

Enjoy viewing the photos and reading the article!

Have a blessed day!

1ka2019-10-22-12-16-59.png


Category:Art, Photography, digital art.
Tools:Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300
Location:Ukraine
Author:Author @barski. In my publications you will see only my author's works.

#club5050

1aa.png

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

I hoped to read a fable but nevertheless this was an interesting story.
The saying makes sense and for those with a pond it's cheaper and less work to keep ducks instead of chickens.

I do wonder why the ducks go to the yard, why not fly away?

❤️🍀

 5 months ago 

I think ducks, gooses and turkeys have their flight wings clipped.
I decided that it would be correct to present the essence of the fable, and not the fable itself, which sounds like this: Chickens are counted in the fall.
Because the English version changes it a little and simplifies it.

 5 months ago 

Or perhaps they are used to humans and no where the food is.

A translation is always different.
Thanks for answering 👍

Loading...

My favorite quote is what I tell my students: "there is NO unsuccessful, make it successful" (regarding drawing).
Not sure it always works :o)

 5 months ago 

I often have to follow this principle lol, for example yesterday when I was drawing a fisherman and I agree that it doesn't always work, but you have to fight :)

Indeed. You can always use reference images to get ideas.

 5 months ago 

This is something that can be compared to AI that steals my inspiration and ideas, I do not use AI and do not get ideas from other people's pictures :)

I meant from real life. Real images, to see how things work.
For example, when I drew a weaponized drill from imagination, I looked at guns and drills, to see how they are built.
Then, some sketches, and then the final render.

weaponized-drill-concept-art.jpg

 5 months ago 

You see, the fact is that I’m not sure that the idea of drawing something like that will come into my head in order to show how it works, I look at everything as a fascinating story in a book, in which I don’t count the number of letters and words read, if something remains in my memory, it’s wonderful, and if I forget something, then it will be my invented version of reality :)

I get it. It is great that you can see it in your head and get it into the paper.
I sometimes need to be a bit more technical, and do some research.

 5 months ago 

But there are often significant discrepancies between what I remember and what actually is. Therefore, my drawings look more like caricatures than something realistic lol.

 5 months ago 

What is this “!shop” command, what is this bot, what does it do and how to tame it? :)

Token but it doesn't work anymore.

 5 months ago 

It's not scary, the main thing is that we are still working :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50