Saturday dynamic for Steemkids - Photography/ Only in AFRICA

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago


BeFunky-collage.jpg

Kids, today I invite you to come with me on a self-game drive looking for some wild animals.

Our drive is going to take us through the Bothongo Rhino & Lion Nature Reserve. This reserve forms part of the Cradle of Humankind which is situated near Krugersdorp, the town where I am living. Krugersdorp is near Johannesburg in South Africa. The reserve has more or less 600 animals.

Just promise me one thing. That you will not get out of the car as dust free, healthy and happy children are most wanted by these animals.

Our first stop – the African elephant

There are two species of the African elephant in South Africa. The African bush elephant which you will find in the Bushveld which is more inland and the African forest elephant which you will find in the forests near the coastline of South Africa. The bush elephant’s ears are the largest and that’s how we can tell them apart.

IMG_7356.JPG

Did you know?

• The elephant is the largest mammal on land and live for 60 – 70 years
• Their tusks are made of ivory and is actually teeth
• The skin of the elephant is very thick and leathery
• They have more than 150,000 muscles in their trunks
• A baby elephant is called a calf

Our second stop – The Gemsbok

The gemsbok is well known for its straight up horns which can grow almost 120cm long. They use their horns to defend themselves. You will find the gemsbok in the bushveld and the Kalahari dessert.


IMG_7414.JPG

Did you know?

• A gemsbok can kill a lion with its horns
• They get the water they need to survive from the food they eat
• Only the adult gemsbok have stripes in their faces
• We say that they are wearing socks as their feet are white at the bottom
• A baby gemsbok is called a calf

Our third stop – The Ostrich

The ostrich is a bird species which you will only find in Africa. It is also the largest and fastest bird in the world. They live best in warm and dry places. Their legs and claw like toes are used to defend themselves. They have very long necks.

Did you know?

• An ostrich only has two toes and three stomachs
• The skin of the ostrich is used for making shoes and handbags
• Ostrich feathers are called plums
• +/- 24 Chicken eggs will make up 1 ostrich egg
• A baby ostrich is called a chick

IMG_7374 (1).jpg

Our fourth stop – The Blue wildebeest

The Blue wildebeest is a large antelope. It is called a “blue wildebeest” because of the silver-grey colour of the skin. They have long black hair and a beard hanging from their neck and throat. Their horns are sort and curly and they are widespread all over the continent of Africa.

Did you know?

• Blue wildebeest sleep for about 4,5 hours every day
• They defend themselves by travelling and gathering in large herds
• Their muscles are 2,5 times stronger than the engine of a car
• Blue wildebeest can swim therefor they can travel anywhere
• A baby Blue wildebeest is called a calf


IMG_7398 (1).jpg

Our fifth and last stop is at the hippo pool – The Hippo

Hippo is not their real name. It is actually “Hippopotamus”. You will find hippos mainly in wetlands, wet areas, as they spend a lot of their time in water. You will find most of the hippo population of South Africa in the iSimangaliso Wetland Park where you will find them wandering in the streets of the town St Lucia at night.

Did you know?

• Hippos are the most dangerous animal in Africa
• They can hold their breath for up to 30 minutes
• The mother hippo carries her babies in her mouth to help them across water
• When they sleep they sleep under the water
• A baby hippo is called a calf


IMG_7386.JPG

And that is where we are going to end our drive day. I hope you have enjoyed the day just as much as I did.

Remember, take care of nature and… DON’T LITTER!

Activity:
Ask daddy or mommy to help you find the places on the map where your think we saw some of the animals.
You can also ask them to download the field guide for you.


BRLNR-map.png
Image Source

#club75
10% payout to steemkidss

Sort:  

Hello, very good work.I see that you like travel and adventures, I would like to take the audacity to invite you to Steem Travelers.There you can share all your experiences, reviews, cultural and historical aspects.

https://steemit.com/trending/hive-111293.

You greet you @rafaelcmontero of Steem-Travelers Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you for your kind remark. I indeed love travelling.
I have joined but need to be verified. SteemWomenClub verified me on my introduction post. Will you do the same?
https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@patjewell/this-is-me-me-in-my-moment-of-exposure

Wow!!! I did not know that the elephant is the largest mammal on earth and have a life span of 60-70 years until today... I love this article because it comes with so much knowledge.

 3 years ago 

Thank you for reading my post,
The elephant is the largest animal on land. On earth will be the whale 😊
What amaze me is that they can pick up something as small as a peanut with their trunks

Exactly, what God can not do doesn't exist. Thanks for the update once again ma.

@tipu curate

--
This is a manual curation from the @tipU Curation Project.

 3 years ago 

This is a really interesting and informative post. I learned some new information.

I didn't quite understand how you saw these animals? You were driving all along the area?

One more question, an ostrich has three stomachs? How? where? That's quite astonishing.


  • plagiarsim-free ✔️
  • bot-free ✔️
  • club75 ✔️
  • steemexclusive ✔️
  • curation trail ✔️
  • beneficiary ✔️
  • delegator ✔️
 3 years ago 

Thank you for reading my article.
Yes, we drove the route stipulated on the map. We saw a lot more animals than covered in the article. It was absolutely worth it.
As for the ostrich - An ostrich doesn't have teeth. That then also the reason why he has 3 stomachs. It is to break down the different things in different areas. It is also the reason why they often swallow small stones, to grind the food

 3 years ago 

Oh. That is some interesting information. I think I should research on the bird(or animal) myself.

It would be nice if you make a series and cover more animals. I am sure it would be an interesting read.

 3 years ago 

Thanks for the suggestion. I will consider it.
Enjoy the research!

Thank you for a beautiful post. It makes me proud to say that I am from Africa and South Africa in particular.
I have a learned a lot from your post. Well done!

 3 years ago 

Thank you for reading my friend. I'm glad I could do South Africa proud. There is so much to learn and share from it.

Amazing photograghs! They are so beautiful and astonishing. I really did enjoy the ride through theses routes, haha. I've learnt so many new things today. I can't thank you enough for sharing this. Thank you! thank you!! thank you!!!

 3 years ago 

It warms my heart to read that you have not only enjoyed the ride with me but that you’ve also learned from it.
Thank you for reading!

 3 years ago 

Africa is a blessed land with all the beautiful animals. Thanks for giving insight about different animals. I'm surprised you didn't say you were afraid during your tour because if I'm the one, definitely I will be.

 3 years ago 

Thank you for reading my post. Luckily we drove around in our own vehicle which were closed and not open like the game drivers vehicle. At least it made me feel saver. :-)

 3 years ago 

Wow!
That great🥰

Fotos súper hermosas, y a la vez algo temerosas, no podría tomar una sola foto de esas por el pánico, saludos.

 3 years ago 

Hello @patjewell, Your post has been selected as one of the quality posts for the day by steemkids community. Congratulations! Please keep making quality and original contents with us here. We love you so much and will like to read more of your posts.

Please endeavour to resteem, vote and comment on the post of selection. Thank you!

 3 years ago 

Awh! Thank you so much!
It's great to not only to share in this community but also to educate at the same time.

Bellas fotografías, gracias por compartirlas 🙋‍♀️❤️

 3 years ago 

The pleasure is mine. Thank you for reading my post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63