The Weather Condition In My Locality (Nigeria) & How I'm Preparing For A Possible Disaster

in Steem Kids & Parents10 months ago

IMG_20230910_072845_318.jpg

Weather conditions has overtime been playing a significant role in signaling us the possible outcome of what the cloud holds for us. Nigeria which is located in the Western part of Africa is not left behind of this natural phenomenon.

For some times now, Akwa Ibom State which is seated on the Southern part of the country has been experiencing heavy rainfall and it's been really hard going out to work or even seeing where to get what to eat, in this contest, I will be sharing with you all the weather condition over here.

What Is The Weather Condition In Your Locality And How Does It Affect People's Activities

IMG_20230910_073047_036.jpg

As much as I could remember, the weather over here has been too coldy and cloudy, leaving people uncertain about how the day might go. I am living in the state's capital and believe me, as busy as this place has always been before now, nothing of such is happening again, heavy rainfalls, people are even scared to go out to the market to buy foodstuffs, the other time I went to the market, I had to pull off my shoes so I can walk because of the mud in the market.

Also, alot of religious activities has been hauled and sometimes, those who just want to go at all cost will meet a scanty church and mosques and it hasn't been funny. The picture above is today's cloud, indicating that there might be a possible downpour and right now I am contemplating if I need to go to church or not because already, it's windy and it might rain in few seconds and my umbrella is faulty because of the last wind I used it on.

Do You Think There's A Possibility To Cause A Disaster If Yes, How Are You Preparing For It?

IMG_20230910_072910_891.jpg

Sincerely, if it keeps raining this way, I think there will be need to worry, owing to the fact that the last time it rained this way early this year, the Dam between Nigeria and Cameroon was filled and it overflowed taking down as much properties as it could, though, I am not living in a riverine area, but it was such a heavy loss to those living around the riverine areas, my uncle was a victim, so, directly or indirectly it might affect me, but if it does, I will have my uncle stay in my room at my dad's compound.

Secondly, just as it is raining this way, we know mosquitoes will be breeding on stagnant water and start biting people leaving them to suffer malaria disease just as I suffered few weeks back. In my street, there is no tarred road, no gutter, all we have is large base of stagnant water, so if this happens, then houses closed to the road will as well suffer from erosion and I am not praying for such. But then, for a preventive measure, I have my mosquito net and repellent so I could use to fight mosquito just for the mean time.

I want to invite @etette, @bossj3 and @emily08 to participate in this contest.

Thanks for reading

Sort:  
 10 months ago 

Thank you so much for being part of this contest, and telling us in detail the weather condition in your locality. Potholes are everywhere now and a possible mosquito breeding, you've done the best thing by getting a mosquito net. Let's hope for the best, and success!

 10 months ago 

We only hope for the best while being in expectant of Government's intervention.
Thank you for your comment.

Loading...

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @edgargonzalez

Screenshot_20221130-164846_Canva.jpg

 10 months ago (edited)

weather is one of the natural phenomena that always disturb the activity of people, so it worried a time when it comes People to displacement

 10 months ago 

Good entry you have here @megareigns, I love your preparedness towards future disaster and how you shared the difficulties people have been going through. I also participated https://steemit.com/hive-139765/@emmy01/the-weather-condition-in-my-locality-nigeria-and-how-i-m-preparing-for-a-possible-disaster

Best wishes

 10 months ago 

There is a saying that goes "prevention is better than cure", so it is better I prepare than waiting to be infected before I get a mosquito net and repellent then spending money to treat myself

Thank you for your valid comment.

 10 months ago 

Come to think of it, the mosquitoes are growing more livelier and getting their bellies full with blood while blessing Thier human host with malaria. Looking critically it's because of the heavy rainfalls which creates puddles and stagnant water....
Thanks for opening my eyes brother.

 10 months ago 

Yes my brother, sometimes, I do just think "why don't these mosquitoes focus on feeding on other things than human?" But then God knows why.

Thank you for your valuable comment.

 10 months ago 

They do feed on other things,but our blood is more nutritious after all. And we should not just enjoy good, let's take a bit of the bad, such is life.

 10 months ago 

Yeah, you really prepared for the coming disaster even as you are not staying in a riverine area, and you also prepare ahead of time with your mosquito net which is the best preparation against maleria parasite.

I also agree with you on the fact that directly or indirectly we'll be affected by the disaster. So is important we prepare for such ahead of time because if it affects any of our relatives is indirectly affecting us too.
Wish you all the best of luck, one love 💙🌹✌️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37