You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Community Building with steemingcurators Community

in Steeming Community4 years ago

I normally just mind my own business here, but for some reason I was drawn to look at other posts to see what is happening here on the Steem Blockchain. I'm actually quite disappointed by what I'm seeing here.

All these years we have complained about vote-selling bots and now we have exclusive communities that use Team Steem support to bribe people into delegating SP. How is that different than the voting bots? You are selling votes and creating exclusive communities. How is EXCLUDING people supposed to BUILD Steem as a whole? Why should Team Steem support certain individuals and not all users of Steem? This information is very disturbing to me. Is @steemchiller part of this Team Steem? He is our #1 witness and I would never have expected him to be a party to the cliques that were killing this platform earlier. The last thing Steem needs is more exclusive groups with control of large amounts of SP. DECENTRALIZATION is supposed to be about spreading control, not funneling it into one or more super-users.

Can't we just create communities of like-minded people just because we enjoy being in a certain community? Why should anyone's content be muted unless it is offensive?

I can understand using muting to control content of those who disrespect the guidelines of a community and post CONTRARY to ESTABLISHED protocol, but to suddenly post new rules and retroactively mute content that falls outside the NEW rules is cruel in my mind. Setting a date for NEW content that falls outside of rules is fine to take action against because people would need to deliberately be breaking the rules at that point.

Anyway, I've said enough. I'm probably one of only a few that actually cares about the welfare of others, so my opinions will likely be ignored anyway.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Hi @happyme thanks for your input, we have actually withdrawn that acts of muting instantly and you can see we have apologized to the community for that Steemingcurators Community Announcement 28/October/2020

All these years we have complained about vote-selling bots and now we have exclusive communities that use Team Steem support to bribe people into delegating SP. How is that different than the voting bots? You are selling votes and creating exclusive communities. How is EXCLUDING people supposed to BUILD Steem as a whole? Why should Team Steem support certain individuals and not all users of Steem? This information is very disturbing to me. Is @steemchiller part of this Team Steem? He is our #1 witness and I would never have expected him to be a party to the cliques that were killing this platform earlier. The last thing Steem needs is more exclusive groups with control of large amounts of SP. DECENTRALIZATION is supposed to be about spreading control, not funneling it into one or more super-users.

Those people and parties that you mentioned have nothing to do with steemingcurators acts. We did what we did as our independent decision and taking into consideration what the community members suggesting us to do.
We are trying to build a self-sufficient community hereby collectively gather the steem power that we got from the short term financial stimulus STEEM POD Open Discussion Vol.01: Why Dormant account on Steemit? that The Steemit Team is giving out to the community members throughout the writing challenges and contests that they are running. They are helping us so that we can help ourselves.

We do not EXCLUDE anyone in the community, that's not our intention. We were just trying to get people ATTENTION as I'm aware that PEOPLE ATTENTION is so hard to get these days hence the muting post act, and I have learned its offensive for certain vulnerable heart human. If you read our membership requirement there is NO MINIMUM AMOUNT OF SP you can delegate to become official member of steemingcurators. You can even delegate 1SP and gain the official membership, but hopefully, they will gradually increase that in time at their own pace to help the community mission.

I appreciate your concern and your perspective, I just wish that you have read the whole thing to gain better perspective before jumping to a conclusion and accusing people like this. Thanks and good day to you.

Hello @cryptokannon,

Thank-you for your reply. I actually did read the entire thing and also went to one of the links for the requirements of joining the group. I found it confusing about the levels of minnows who have just 0-500 SP, but are expected to delegate 500 SP? I suspect that I'm mis-interpreting the tables, but that's what I understood from it. I wonder if anyone else would have trouble understanding it.

I think you might not have understood what I wrote, because I know you are doing these things on your own. However, you are getting sponsorship from Team Steem (at least that is what you wrote).

I wouldn't say that I'm jumping to any conclusions, and I'm not accusing anyone of anything... I'm just disappointed by the way things are being done on Steem and expressing that disappointment and the reasons why I'm disappointed. I don't believe that stating disappointment with reasons is to accuse anyone of anything; its just telling my feelings and explaining where they come from. I'm sorry if you felt I was attacking you or your group.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65