Steemit Engagement Challenge / S19W4 - "My city special bites ."

in Knack4buzzlast month

Steem greetings all the way from the motherland-Cameroon. It is another awesome week to share with you all one of those recipes you will commonly find in every restaurant in Cameroon. It is a delicacy, originated from the South West region of Cameroon and because of its unique taste, it is loved and eaten all over Cameroon.

IMG_2855.jpeg
Image designed on Canva.

It is a vegetable soup and requires smoked beef, cooked cow skin, smoked fish, crayfish and some palm oil and Maggie. We usually eats it with either garri or water fufu all made from cassava.

It can be easily seen in any native restaurants and also commonly prepared at home. I’m not a lover of eating what I did not prepare. I cannot give a review of any restaurant that prepares it so well. Therefore, for this meal I will share my own recipe because I always cook my food.

IMG_3462.jpeg
Image from my phone gallery.

Below I’m gonna share the full recipe and I hope you all find pleasure in reading through this content.

To begin with, you need to follow the various steps below but be rest assured that cooking according to me has no formula. What matters is the end product.

Step 1:
Take your smoked meat, canda, washed the canda properly to avoid sand and boiled on high heat. Add a bit of salt and Maggi for it to taste well. But incase you do not like spicy food, abit of salt in the meat will be good. Allow it to boil until it’s ready.

IMG_5099.jpeg
Washed smoked meat and canda.

Step 2:
While the meat and canda are boiling, take your water leaf, washed it and cut into desirable sizes and drained in a colander.

IMG_5094.jpeg

IMG_5096.jpeg

Step 3:
Take your sliced eru leaves washed it like three times with clean water and drained in a colander. This is because, the soup is not watering. Allow water in it can make the soup watering.

IMG_5098.jpeg
Sliced washed eru in a colander

Step 4:
Add your smoked fish in the boiled meat and canda and allow it to boil for about 5 minutes until the water is dried off. Removed everything and keep in a bowl. Put the water leaf in the pot to boil for about 5 minutes, add your eru , stir to mixed up well and add palm oil, the boiled meat, canda and stir abit. Allow it to settle well and the water from the water leaf dry up.

IMG_7316.jpeg
<supThe eru is almost ready but still lacks some key ingredients to give it a unique taste.

Step 5:
Here you will add your grind crayfish, some seasoning cubes, salt and maybe some hot chilli 🌶️ to taste well.

IMG_0450.jpegCrayfish before and after grinding.

IMG_5107.jpeg


Step 6:
Add some seasoning cubes and a-bit of salt to taste. Stir it a-bit for the ingredients to properly mixed well. Your eru is ready to be served.

IMG_7317.jpeg
Eru ready to be served.

Remember at the beginning I said we usually eats it with either garri or fufu all made from cassava. It is easy to prepare.

For the garri, you boil water and put in a fish and added garri, closed the lit and allow it to be ready. Stir it and served with the eru.

IMG_5113.jpeg
Garri served with eru.

In case you do not want garri, take fufu which is still cassava fermented inside water for two days and grind. Mixed it up in a pot with cold water till the paste is not hard. Placed the mixed fufu on the fire and stir until it turns from white to a cream white colour to indicates that the fufu is ready to be served.

IMG_3462.jpeg
Eru served with fufu.

In sum, eru leaves and water leaf are medicinal plants and very good for our health. I will like to invite @saxopedia, @rafk and @crisvera to share their unique recipes with us.

Sort:  

Hola amiga se ve súper esa comida típica de donde vive y está super también como explicas como se hace así todos podemos aprender felicidades 🤗

It’s a delicious meal and because of its medicinal value, most people loved it. Thank you for the support.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

This article presents a delightful view of Cameroonian cuisine with a detailed recipe for a beloved vegetable soup from the Southwest region. The step-by-step instructions for preparing the dish, which includes smoked beef, cowhide, smoked fish, lobster and palm oil, are clear and engaging.

I appreciate your time reading through my content and giving positive feedback.

Hello friend
Wow, it's amazing that you can cook it yourself, especially when it comes to vegetable soup recipes that contain various ingredients such as smoked beef, cooked beef skin, smoked fish and crayfish. Certainly you also show in the field of cooking your own food rather than relying on restaurants, which highlights your satisfaction and expertise in the cooking process.

It's important to remember that cooking is a deeply personal art. Following a recipe is one way, but experimentation and adjustments to personal taste are part of the process of culinary creativity. Share your recipes with that passion, and readers will appreciate the insights and tips you provide based on your experience.
Good luck in this challenge.

Greetings friend, I always prefer to prepare my meals and do not like eating at a restaurant because they unnecessarily expensive and I do not trust the hygiene routine at restaurants. Thank you for the support.

I really agree with your opinion friend, good luck

Chai. 🤤

Seeing meals like dis is always an appetizer to me. I just want to bite anything I'm holding especially my phone 😁.

Thanks for inviting me to check out my dear. I'm so happy to be following up with your kitchen Conner recipe. U have demonstrated do well the Step to produce fufu and eru.

Omo see meat.🤤 I wish I was there in the kitchen to here you prepare like I should be having a free meal right now.

Thanks for sharing with us. I will use this tutorial to try it preparing on a Saturday and share it in my diary post.

Good luck in the contest ma'am

Foodie like you 😁. It’s so easy to prepare it if you follow the steps but remember I said cooking has no formula for me because what matters is the end product if it taste good 😊. Thank you for the support.

Hahahaha 😂. Alright.

TEAM 7

Congratulations, your post has been successfully curated by Team 7 via @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲

We encourage you to publish creative, educational and innovative content so that you have a chance to get valuable upvotes. Be the best to be nominated at the 7 best posts at the end of the week.


1.gif

I appreciate your support @irawandedy.

Hi @chant, that is an interesting recipe, such combination of smoked meat and smoked fish is unusual to our traditional soups in area that I live. I wonder how it will taste. Do they both have strong own taste or maybe after being smoked both have similar taste?

As to cooking how long you cook meat, of course depending on what type it is I know that beef needs longer time for cooking and fish usually very quick. The end result looks delicious :)

Greetings @stef1, what gives the soup a unique taste is the smoked meat, smoked fish, and crayfish. Without them, the soup will not taste good.

For the timing of the meat, it all depends on the means you used to boil it. Using a pressure pot takes about 5 to 10 minutes to cook well. For our normal gas cooker, it takes about 45. For the local fireside, it takes about 1hour. Thank you for the support.

Loading...

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Hello dear @chant!

Your vegetable soup recipe looks amazing. It is impressive how you use smoked beef and fish together creating a unique taste. But how will be its test spicy or what? I can't imagine because I have seen such type of dish first time. Thanks for sharing this delightful Cameroonian dish.

The smoked meat and fish gives it a unique taste. Without this, the soup will not taste good. It’s not spicy but you can still prepare it with fresh meat. Just that I like the smoked meat to reduce gouts from fresh meat.

I sure it will be so Yammy specially if it's is made up of your hand😍😍.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58027.38
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38