Dreaming of becoming a Steem Representative (SR)? - No!

in STEEM INDONESIA6 months ago (edited)


Be good to.jpg

Why, may you wonder

Because I know myself. I am a perfectionist and what I do I do for 200%. People, like me are not rewarded, rarely liked and easily abused. I might be good at doing the job but - if my internet won't let me down - I would forget about myself, what I like to do most. I easily get lost in the stories I read, I would forget about real life, my family because the task of an SR never ends. I am a workaholic, easily enthusiastic and filled with energy, I can sell everything, make companies grow, others rich, except... myself.

As a community administrator - more likely the moderators do the hard job - the tasks are already heavy. I know, that is if you want to do the job right by reading every single post perhaps even need to translate.
If it comes to this aspect the task of the SR might be easier. No need to read 175 diaries only. Another plus is there are no strong connections with each community and every Steemian.

Is it possible to give everyone

on this platform a fair chance, upvote, the public to be read, will small communities like the freewriters, DreamSteem and Animals of Steem be rewarded if they stick to one topic and prefer to focus on real creative writing instead of letting Steemians answer the questions while using tags not meant for the content and topic they write, which is exactly what I am doing now?
Will great content/talent be discovered if writers avoid communities (the list with inactive communities is long)?

I don't think so. An SR is human and will visit the communities s/he knows or those Steemians more famous than others (trending) especially if running out of time, if something comes in between or after hours of searching. I'm sure @theluvbug, and many curators/hosts of contests, know all about how hard it is to find good content, read posts and if it comes to that my standards are high.

Tags are abused or can be people do not understand the meaning of the word. I am sorry to say so but this is the case by using #creativewriting, a tag meant for creative writers merely stories, brainbreakers, poetry, this Q&A overflows all the good stories Steemit has to offer! It's like using the tag photography for a story or text without a single photo.

It's my personal opinion that tags should fit the content and not be abused. Perhaps this is something SRs should focus on too since if an SR is honest and objective s/he has to use some method to find the best content and that's what tags are for, tags and communities should stand for.


fantasy-4040384_1280.jpg source

An SR should

If I were the one I would embrace that special place, because I hold all that matters to me in my hands. A world of letters building words waiting to be read.

Motivate people to write better, to translate (more readers), use a spelling checker or whatever it needs to make what is posted worth reading. By better I mean better for everyone, the writer, potential reader (including those many users with a mobile phone only), the community and this platform. Next to that s/he should be an example and be creative not just talk about it.

Steemit could be unique if there were some uniformity and I don't refer to the new layout but to all the information posted, all content that cannot be found back. And please, let us stop by using the same title! It's boring, not inviting to read and no Canva photogrid will change the fact it lacks creativity.

I am not the right person

It would stress me out if I could no longer write, if it took me over 20 hours a day to get the job done, to be present, and reach out to those who hardly be noticed and rarely read just because they join "the wrong" community. One that doesn't take part in contests set/rewarded by Steemit or is "only good" for a handful of die-hard, creative writers, because the rest rather follows the money. I am not saying this is wrong but I want to make clear that creativity isn't rewarded.
Over 95% of those who join the Q&A are proof of that.
How can creativity, originality be rewarded even be found if SRs do not care about those who join the great art contests hosted by @solperez because they do not understand the written word.
It's hard to find good content, one that triggers the brain, on this platform without room for those with a love for the written word. Isn't Steemit a writer's platform in the first place? Typing 4-6 times the same lines just to be able to meet the minimum of words kills creative writing and doesn't make content better.


music-44574_1280.png source

Creativity does make life better, no matter if it's music, the written or spoken word, the film we watch, the architecture or picture we enjoy.

While writing this it reminds me of the fable of 'The Grasshopper and the Ant', the original lesson to be learned was that creativity deserves to be rewarded. The same counts for Steemit. The platform thrives on user's creativity, their ideas and if all those people can't be found by Steemit, the SRs should and give their support but they need a way to do this.


fantasy-5348948_1280.jpg source

If I would be an SR

I had to be the light in the darkness, the friendly, always helpful host, waiting at the door to introduce a bright new world.

I doubt I can do anything for my country since that community #alldutch no longer exists. By the way, it wasn't meant for Dutch people only but for everyone who spoke Dutch even the Dutch not spoken in the Netherlands or those speaking Dutch but living abroad. If these people are still on this platform they most likely write English and subscribed to different communities. I don't think they like to stick around with Dutch people only, they rather "travel the world" to experience different cultures, to meet different people and do not care about using a country tag. So for the people in my country, I wouldn't do much except perhaps promote this platform if it comes to writing in real life.

I would not force into posting on X, to me this platform is a passed station just like FB, which with us mainly the elderly still use. Besides platforms famous for spreading fake news and their trolls aren't the best media to be associated with.
It's my experience that if people are enthusiastic they are the best promoters and salesmen. So allowing them to promote in the way they like best, that fits to them is the best way. Lately, the question was asked: How sincere are you on Steemit? Does a fake profile on X sound sincere?
Personally, I prefer Telegram most of all social media, others might be creative enough to make a post on YouTube or TikTok. If so let them go for it.

I noticed many big communities demand to benefit them. It's fine to ask but it shouldn't be law. It will make it hard for many to grow if their post does not even reach $0.20.
As mentioned before the (ab)used tags are a huge problem since years, mainly by those hosting contests.

It's a fact information is lost. Did Steemit delete all this content? Since there is no index, and most communities no longer stand for a topic it's impossible to find what you are looking for. By using the right tags we can change that but communities hosting contests should not demand the first 5 if not 6 for their benefit, tags no one with common sense would use to search a post, let alone those we like to welcome on this platform or who use a search engine to find the needed information.

Just for your info: I do not like meetings, I've met up with enough boards for the rest of my life to know that whoever makes the agenda already has the answers. It's a waste of time and if it comes to platforms (time differences) most likely a waste of the little bit of night rest left after spending already 20 hours a day on Steemit.


fantasy-4480599_1280.jpg source

If I was a Steem Representative...

I needed magic, eyes everywhere and the time at my hand. Indeed I would need a magic wand.

But hey, this is not my dream. I do not have 24/7 access to the internet, I don't like to be stressed, pushed and cannot ignore the urge to write what I am proud of. I don't like to worry about what if I get sick.
So this dream is someone else's and while they follow their hearts I follow mine.


Pictures: pixabay.com / Canvas used
Banner: is mine
15-2-2024
I am a mobile phone user only


PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png

@miswarofficiall @eveetim @blessedlife @patudoh @patjewell @gertu would you like to be an SR?

A special thank you to the Ladies of Steem @patjewell and @jaynie with her helpful article about headers.

#steemexclusive #steemindonesia-s15w5 #holland #club5050 #creativewriting #kittywu #steemit

Sort:  

I'm not sure if any of the commenters - including the moderators - even read your post. But this is just as characteristic of the current Steem as what you write: it could all be so meaningful and creative - if it weren't for this mindless, endless repetition of homeworks...

I'll tell you something (as a Steem Representative): I wanted this position in order to be in a better position to initiate change. I'll tell you something else: that was wishful thinking...

Some did not even read the title, or refuse to take a "No" for an answer. They count everyone dreams of being an SR (my dream is a library like Belle was given by the beast).

Perhaps some communities will change? Or is it all about fame and greed? It's hard to tell.

I'm sorry to hear the position of an SR is not what you hoped for but can be if all SRs stick together a change is nearby. There must be a way to find all those creative people.

I won't give up that easily.

Thanks for reading and commenting.
❤️🍀

Loading...
 6 months ago 

People may have different opinions and purposes by being active on this platform. I can fully understand what you are writing and it is absolutely true without saying that those SR did not do their best, but the fact is that fact, which is some good posts sometimes missed by SR or curators. I also find it difficult when I need to find different (eye-catching) posts in the community. Searching the whole community is something that consumes most of the time while using the tag as complying with the rules set for the curator (club, burnsteem, etc) is not really helpful.

It is also a dilemma, on one hand, SR or Curator is required to support good posts and guide the user to improve the quality, on the other hand, we have a short window to find those who "really" deserve attention and are worth reading (both photos and narrations).

Have a good day @wakeupkitty.pal

Best Regards

It might be a help if just like years ago a list with recommended tags show if you type life, health, story,poem, contest, or...

Users can use on topics, SR can so too.

There's no need for a host of a contest to let participants use 5-6 tags including the name of the host. There are plenty of hosts who can do with 2 or at most three.
Not let participate non club members is a choice made by the host.

I understand how time consuming it is to find good content, perhaps it is possible certain Steemians give a hand (see @theluvbug and others).

It would also be helpful if steemit.com would not automatically show 'trending' but new posts instead.

This is a way to discover new posts, different authors,guide them, inform about the idea behind the clubs and so on. I hope basic info given to those who need it won't be seen as spam.

Thank you for reading and commenting.

❤️🍀

 6 months ago 

"Perfect"
That was the first word that came to my mind. A perfect analysis from every angle. You have done a master's research which will put everyone in their right mind to think twice before applying for this thankless job.

Note: SRs should have more power to support deserving candidates rather than just visiting, voting and publishing a weekly report.

Thank you, in the first place for reading, it's more than the community I posted in did. I though the 'No' in my title would alarm the reader enough.
It did not... Everyone dreams of being an SR.

I agree with you that SRs could do more if Steemit is not able too. It doesn't feel great to represent a platform that doesn't confirm to your expectations (I should say the picture they painted).

It feels like selling spoiled food while and the customer it's high quality.

Thanks for the compliment, a master research wasn't needed.

❤️🍀

You don't wanna be SR, neither do I. I think they need too much time to do their job, but I also think your critics should ger to some SR caring for improving Steemit.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

It indeed is time consuming. Someone has to do the job but that job could be made easier if...
Those SRs are here too.

Thanks for reading/commenting dear.
❤️🍀

 6 months ago 

You know it took me almost 20 hours to write a comment on your post just to wipe it. (•ิ‿•ิ)

As for those tags;
https://steemit.com/hive-153970/@patjewell/what-you-need-to-know-about-tags-or-hashtags-on-steemit

🤣 did you make a post out of it?

Thanks, is it the old list? Wouldn't it be better if it automatically shows up if you post and all communities would work by it?

A great day!

❤️🍀

 6 months ago (edited)

Amper het ek (•ิ‿•ิ)

Yip it is.
For me the easiest would be if there is a drop down menu to choose from but it will make it very difficult with contest posts.

Tags could be used (topics) and next perhaps visiting communities, with enough SRs no need to translate?

I hope the new Steemit layout can introduce a drop down menu and communities could use "contest" plus one of the given options...

🤔

It's worth the try plus I hope the struggles of the SRs will be heard.

🍀❤️

Honestly, I'd loved to be SR, but the stress is what I may not really like.
I believe you to be a perfectionist because reading through your post, it's usually well scripted, in-depth and worth it.

I believe one day, your hard work will pay, recommended and rewarded.

The question is if all the stress is worth hours of work and frustration. It is not for me.

Perhaps if the job could be done by more people, no need to translate and every SR takes care of a certain topic?

For now I already find it hard enough to create time next to writing to read,comment, upvote and answer. No matter how much I do it's as if my CSI is always low. It geels like a lost battle. All I want is to write and receive energy from what I am doing instead of being drained.

We'll see what the future brings.
Perhaps if you are aware of what stresses you, you can avoid it and be a great SR.

❤️🍀

!upvote 40


💯⚜2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ Participate in the "Seven Network" Community2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ ⚜💯.
This post was manually selected to be voted on by "Seven Network Project". (Manual Curation of Steem Seven). Also your post was promoted on 🧵"X"🧵 by the account josluds

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 160%

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

Becoming a Steem Representative (SR) is an ambitious dream of the people working here. It symbolizing a desire to actively contribute to the Steem blockchains governance and growth. With dedication and perseverance achieving SR status can lead to meaningful impact within the Steem community and beyond. Keep growing my dear and best of luck.

Who are those people working on Steemit?

To my opinion each Steemian has that opportunity. You can write, be creative, read others, comment, upvote, help out those who are new and show the way.

It's nice to read your comment, I thank you for taking the time, but did you read what I wrote?
Is it your dream to be an SR? If so, perhaps you can tell me how you would do it, schedule your time?

A great day to you
❤️🍀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63760.92
ETH 2737.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60