Steemit Fruits & Veggies Monday - Legumes & Beans to the Rescue: Cauli Lentil CurrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)

20200123_181821.jpg
Having my head in the clouds many a day has taught me one thing, and that is how to throw together a meal in next to no time.
Gardening, blogging, day-dreaming, reading, re-decorating, day-dreaming, all are things I really love; but I tend to lose track of the time and before I know it, supper has to be served in like half an hour's time!
Keeping the pantry stocked up with cans of beans and legumes has saved the day many a time!

20200127_145635.jpg

SO... I really am not a fan of cans as I much prefer using fresh ingredients and cooking my own lentils and beans from scratch, but a gal has to have a plan B and that's where these handy little cans come in to play!

Personally, I prefer spicing up my beans, and living in Durban where we have the largest population of people from Indian descent in sub-Saharan Africa, one finds the best spice shops everywhere. I took the following photos on my last visit to the Spice Emporium, a family business that's been around for over eighty years in our city.
The scent of heady spices greets you as you enter this specialty spice shop.
20190809_133601.jpg
Beans and legumes of all kinds are to be found here, are fresher and of a much better quality than the ones found on the supermarket shelves.

20190809_133322.jpg

20190809_133329.jpg

Most of my Steemit friends know by now that hubby and I run our little bnb Lily's Cottage which is keeping us real busy throughout the year.
We currently have a retired German gentleman staying with us, who is here to provide senior expertise services to an organisation that takes care of physically and mentally challenged adults.

I don't know what I would have done if it were not for @lenasveganliving's weekly Fruits and Veggies Challenge which has been making me rack my brain trying to think of new stuff to cook and bake each week, as this guest prefers eating plant-based foods, although I must add he is not strictly Vegan.

He really enjoys beans of all kinds and the spicier, the better, much to my surprise...and delight, as that is what I really enjoy cooking, and eating of course!


A few basic facts about beans and legumes - they are a great source of protein and a much kinder protein for our planet I would say! They are an excellent source of dietary fiber, protein, vitamin B's as well as other vitamins and minerals.
It has many health benefits such as reducing blood sugar, improving cholesterol levels and helping maintain a healthy gut.

Chef line break.png
So on this Monday, my Fruits and Veggies friends, I would like to share with you some variations on the theme;)

A delicious Bean Breyani made with a couple of cans of Beans - Sugar Beans, Butter Beans and Chickpeas and of course Lentils that I shared here a while back - spicy bean curry layered with a rice and lentils mix.

Beans breyani.jpg

A Broad Bean Curry served with a tangy Carrot Salad in a Roti (Indian Flat Bread).
IMG_20190518_174600.jpg

Broad Bean Roti Rolls - sure to fill that hungry spot!
20200126_180653.jpg

A Three Bean Curry - Red Kidney Beans, Butter Beans & Black Eyed Beans, using a mild Cape Malay spice, delicious comfort food served with Basmati Rice or Rotis.

IMG_20180709_184032.jpg

A darker Bean, Lentil & Chickpea Curry made with stronger spices and again served with our favourite Rotis.

20200118_181005.jpg

20200118_180918.jpg

All these curries are made in the same way -

  • Diced Onions & Crushed Garlic & Jeera (Fennel) Seeds sauteed in a little oil
  • Diced Tomatoes & grated fresh root Ginger added
  • Spices & salt added - Masala, Coriander Powder, Garum Masala, Turmeric, Cinnamon stick, Curry leaves

Time to open up a couple of cans of beans or legumes and you have an almost instant comforting and warming meal served with rice or roti.

Here in Durban we would sometimes serve a curry in a hollowed out half or quarter loaf of bread and call it a Bunny Chow.
I'm not sure how the name originated but I assure you there's no bunny in any of these!

There however have been many debates on how the Bunny Chow originated.

One legend is that the Bunny Chows originated when migrant Indian sugarcane workers needed a container to carry their lunch to the sugar plantations. A hollowed out half loaf of bread was ideal to hold the vegetarian curries and the cut-out piece became the lid.

bunny.jpg
Image source

Back to today's menu - spicy Cauli Lentil Curry, using the same starter base as above but adding Cauliflower florets together with the tomatoes, a can of Lentils and a handful of frozen Peas and letting it simmer on a low heat till the cauliflower is cooked but still firm; and lastly garnishing the dish with Dhania (Cilantro).
Served with fluffy Basmati Rice as well as a Minty Cucumber & Vegan yogurt salad, this was a delicious meal bursting with flavour!

20200123_181826.jpg

20200123_183542.jpg

BON APPETIT MY FRIENDS!

FAVM divider.png

A huge shout out to @lenasveganliving, @plantstoplanks and @vegansofsteemit for the prizes, much appreciated by all of us!
Not forgetting a big thank you to the wonderfully talented artist @barbara-orenya, the creator of our lovely Wonkies, as well as those angels disguised as Curators who brighten up our Mondays!
You are all amazing!


Connecting the people of #STEEM across South Africa. #steemsa JOIN US ON DISCORD (South Africans Only) JOIN US ON TWITTER JOIN US ON FACEBOOK

Qurator lizelle.png
Original Content by @lizelle

Thank you for stopping by

Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

We have so much in common and you are so right about canned beans Lizelle. They do save the day every time, lol. Besides you are real magician when comes to cooking and those spices are magical, lol. What a perfect combination to turn a can of beans into a five star meal. Your German guest is a lucky man 😊

01.jpg

You're too kind Lena, it's those spices that do the trick:)

But you have to know how to use them, lol. Always a pleasure my Dear Lizelle 😍

Looks like todays' lunch hehehe - thank you for the inspiration

I looooove curry @lizelle! These are amazing recipes, I'll take one of each! :) You are a master with the spices. I would love to visit this spice shop, I would leave with way too many spices, lol Beautiful post

I always buy way too many things when I go to that shop, they have too many temptations there! Always nice seeing you my friend, thanks for popping in:)

These photos make me hungry and it's too late for a lentil cauli curry now ;0) I love that you cook the lentils from scratch - they are way more tastier. I am hooked on the red split lentil cauliflower curry. As for the spices, I am lucky there are so many Indian and Sri Lankans stores in my city.

Definitely better cooked from scratch, glad you also have access to good spices, thanks for stopping by @lymepoet!

Almost lunch time and you have me hungry again, knees go weak at the thought of a good bean bunny chow for lunch (under the air-conditioner of course), hot and tasty.

Since reading here I have introduced many more beans and lentils into daily cooking, always finding fresh ideas thanks Lizelle.

!tip

It's just so convenient not so, thanks for the tip;)

Oh wow I don't know how you do it even with the cans haha. Running the cottage and making a beautiful post with all of the things I want but can't have here in Bali.
The beans here are hard to find and the cans are a fortune. Lentils and pulses are either non exsistent or super expensive.

Your dishes and photos were very exciting for me thank you!

We are very blessed having access to such a variety of food supplies. Only saw now that my response to your lovely comment was never completed, thanks Carolyn :)

Let's tell the world about Steemit!
Share your Steemit post on Twitter, read all about #posh and #oc here
Twitter link

🎁 Hi @lizelle! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @joanstewart!

@joanstewart wrote lately about: Snails On Trails Feel free to follow @joanstewart if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

You've made me want to book a flight to come check out that spice shop again! I can just imagine the aroma as you walk through there. All these plant-powered legume dishes look fantastic. I would be happy testing out any and all of them. :)

I'm going there this weekend to take our German guest who wants to take spices back home. Would love to take you:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87