A reply to @devann

in UBI3 years ago

image.png

Several months ago, I initiated a #UBI (Universal Basic Income) project attempting to consistently enhance people's ability to earn a basic income. I detailed some of the elements in my rationale.

The idea was to create a post each day that:

  1. carried ones own content
  2. critiqued and promoted the work of another (or others)
  3. identified "friends" so people could look at their content
  4. set these "friends" as beneficiaries

I set my first attempt in Kazakhstan (KZ). KZ has a minimum wage of about $2.00 per day. There is a store in KZ that, while carrying Korean products they are general and accepts Steem and Steem Dollars:

Steem Mart

It is inconvenient to convert Steem to cash, deposit to your bank, and finally buy products (losing value at each exchange). Being able to purchase products directly lessens the transaction fees for everyone involved and would also increase the currency's value.

In this example of a UBI Post, it promoted the posts of a native of KZ. In three posts, she made more than what a minimum wage worker would make in a month. My object was to raise a new member to earn $10 per day.

image.png

That goal was easily met by promotion. The only problem is that people fail to post every day or fail to understand about promoting others in their "group."

The first problem is something I have no control over. The other is a symptom of something else. I discussed what I perceived in my article on Simulating Green Beard Altruism. The video below describes how Ultruism fails unless it is "Green Beard Altruism."

I have adopted "friends" as the term to describe people who support me. Some are women too pretty to be called "Green Beards." While I will attempt to upvote them at every opportunity, often people will not post daily. Setting them as beneficiaries at least assures they will receive a little bit every day.

The following are beneficiaries for their ongoing support:

@tarpan
@zero-to-infinity
@steem.skillshare
@digital.mine
@steemchiller
@devann
@enveng

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31