Welcome to the Christian Fellowship Community: A little about me and my vision for this community

in Christian Fellowship4 years ago

Woohoo Communities are finally live! I'm so excited. A few weeks ago, when the beta of Communities went live, I created the Christian Fellowship Community. Now that Communities are finally live, I will be putting more effort into building this Community and curating quality posts here. If you would like to help out with moderation of this community or get involved in any way, please leave a message below or message me directly on Discord. I would love to have more support in building this Christian community here.

A little about me

I have been on Steem since August 2016, and during this time, I helped start Christian-trail and have interviewed many Steemians about their faith. I'm hoping I could start this again some time in the future if I can find some volunteers.

I had a rough journey growing up. I was born in China, diagnosed with a degenerating eye condition at the age of 6 that left me legally blind when I was in my teens. I moved to Australia when I was 7 and the cultural gap plus my vision impairment led to a lot of bullying and loneliness throughout my childhood. But half way through my uni, my best friend Jason introduced me to church and there I found Jesus, or rather Jesus found me. And ever since Jesus came into my life more than 16 years agoHe has radically transformed me for the better, and now I’m happily married with two adorable kids. If you are interested, you can read more about my story here and Part 1 of my memoir

What I hope to achieve with the Christian Fellowship Community

When we first started Christian-trail a couple of years ago, I had a weekly post called Open Church. It was pretty much like a cafe or lounge for Christians to fellowship, where everyone could be free to share a song, scripture, prayer point or encouragement as they felt led, without any focus on posting rewards/upvotes/downvotes that is so conspicuous on Steem.

Now that we have this Christian Fellowship Community, I hope it can serve the same purpose of Open Church and draw Christians together from all over the world, where we can simply just be, and fellowship and share deeply with one another.

Looking forward to meeting more of you and feel free to introduce yourselves.

Blessings
Jimmy


IMG_1769.PNG

Sort:  

Good morning (here) @nextgen622. Following up on your exchange with @blessed-girl, I am reading this post about what is expected of those joining your community. As you know, from our previous engagements, I love your testimony. It is always a marvel and wonder to me whenever I think about how we have brothers and sisters in Christ all across the world.

In my morning time with His word to us, I read this:

He says, “It is too small a thing that You should be My Servant
To raise up the tribes of Jacob and to restore the preserved ones of Israel;
I will also make You a light of the nations
So that My salvation may reach to the end of the earth.”"

Isaiah 49:6 [emphasis added mine]

"Too small a thing ..." indeed ... And here we are!

I will join your community, as it does not appear to have a time commitment expectation. I will do what I can, in my own small way and "part-time" status here on our Steem blockchain, to contribute and add value to what you are feeling led to do.

Have a great day!

Hebrews 10:23-25, Psalm 118:24


P.S. As I see no reference to one, am I correct in assuming there is no Discord channel associated with this community? @nextgen622, @michealb

@roleerob re discord community. there isn't one that i'm aware of. With the community i joined up to help with down voting / muting spam and will usually just vote on stuff i like. if you see stuff i miss or feel something should be voted on let me know. my time commitment is minimal also

Okay, thank you for your confirmation @michealb. I'll do what I can to help. If I notice something needing attention, how would you prefer me to let you know?


P.S. Like this at.bob77 account I just muted myself. This "Old Path" group just keeps "morphing." Sad witness ...

you can leave messages on my last post / comments or find me in discord. 'old path group' is the worst kind of spam in my opinion.

If I use the tag #christian-trail it shows up in the group?

No, I think you need to go to the community here, and then click post from within the community.

@nextgen622 so you're the lovely person behind christian-trail!! That was one of the few tags I followed (and used) in my first often confusing forays into Steemit.

Really want to be a part of this Community and contribute here too!

Oh, btw my name's Joey and I'm from Singapore. Nice meeting you!! (:

@nextgen622 and I JUST read your testimony. Was moved almost to tears. Thank you for sharing God's blessing in your life - how He worked so wonderfully. Your wife and child are so beautiful too!

Thank you for taking the time to read my testimony. Praise God for His grace in my life. God is great and so gracious towards me.

Welcome to the community Joey. Glad you found your way here.
Yes, Steem can be a bit confusing when you first get started. Christian-trail was an idea I encouraged to get started, and I was involved in some posts at the start. But the one who manages the account and got it started is @majes, a very helpful brother in Christ.
Look forward to reading more from you and feel free to let me know if you have any suggestions for the community going forward.

Blessings
Jimmy

Oh I see! Now I've followed @majes as well (:

Sure, I will let you know when I do - quite excited. (: Ideas are popping into my head but I need to sift through them first!

What will take to build this community going forward?

Posted using Partiko Android

I think the main thing is to have more engagement on posts and encourage more people to get involved. All ideas are welcomed. Thank you for your interest.

Been looking for something like this on Steem for a while now. Never really followed 'Steem Church' as it seemed complicated on which blockchain they were focusing on.

Anyways, looking forward to meeting some fellow brothers and sisters in Christ!

Hey, great to see you here brother. Thanks for dropping by. Yeah, I would love to see this community be a space where we could meet other brothers and sisters in Christ around the world and share some deep fellowship and encouragement. Feel free to let me know if you have any ideas for the group. Blessings

For sure....I was actually trying to bring some friends of mine over to Steem to set up some kind of bible study on the blockchain. Not sure exactly how it would all work, but I'm going to point them to this community for sure.

That would be great. Let me know if this eventuates.

Bible Study on the blockchain! can't wait to see what that looks like.

Finally I got this Community where we can share and uplift the faith of others... Thanks for this kind of people who are willing to support and share the goodness of our God... May the Lord Bless you more...

Welcome to the community. We are also on [Hive. You can find us here.

hola soy cristiana desde hace 12 años y si me gustaria aprender de otros cristianos y si desde mi humilde conocimiento puedo enseñar a otros, alabado se el Señor, estamos a la orden bendiciones amados hnos

This is beautiful and I am a lover of Christ. I am looking forward to seeing other Christians in the community though I use @itestify to post about Christianity stuffs now and I am hoping to be more active on steemit again. I will be checking from time to time if God willing and contribute my little effort to the community.
The Lord will continue to be your strength.
Shalom!

Glad to have you join the community. Thank you for dropping by. Look forward to reading more from you and would appreciate your prayers for the community. Blessings

I have been off Steemit for almost a year and got back to a list to subscribe to! The only thing I was sure about is being a Christian so here I am. I will be around I hope and help moderate when I can. It's a great idea.

Welcome to the Christian Fellowship community @nitego. Glad to have you here. I can give you the moderator role if you would like to help moderate posts and welcoming new members. Let me know if you have any other suggestions for the community too. Blessings.

No problem i'll be glad to help.

Thanks, it’s pretty flexible, just whenever you can. I just gave you the mod role.

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95