R2R Reflections: "Golden Years" and our Legacy ...

in ART LOVERS5 years ago (edited)

Inspired by the awesome contest of SteemItWorldMap and posting my entry to begin 2020, I have begun posting again. And I have decided to finish what I started last Spring / early Summer. What's that?

Write the final post of my reflections on my "Road to Recovery" trip of a lifetime.

Source: Creator Valiphotos on Pixabay

Reflections refined driving 31 days and 4,984 miles across parts of 8 states - Colorado, Arizona, California, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, and Wyoming almost a year ago.

In my first R2R Reflections post, I wrote about "pursuit of happiness" and what many consider an essential part of that - the accumulation of wealth ...

In my second R2R Reflections post, I wrote about what I probably thought about more than anything else - time. While many of my reflections were focused on my own personal history, I also thought a lot about the time in human history into which I was born.

In this final post, I will write down the highlights of what I thought about the "next chapter" of the lives of my beloved lifemate and I - our so-called "Golden Years." And the legacy we may leave behind ...

________________________

  • "R2R" Note: My "shorthand" way of referring to my trip of a lifetime, with the story beginning here and ending here. "Road to Recovery" <=> "R2R" ... 😉

"Footprints on the sands of time" ...

In my last post, I wrote this:

Our time is finite, i.e. we are mortal. Whatever our "number of days" may be, we are not going to be getting any more of them. Our time will come to an end.

If and when you come to the place in your life where you are starting to spend some time reflecting on the view "in the rearview mirror," what do you see there? What comes to your mind?

Source: Creator composita on Pixabay

We can all take a fairly "structured" route to the end. Following society's social norms, expectations and, whatever you do, don't get out of line. Don't "jump the tracks" or "leave the reservation" ...

We dare not, fearing the reaction of those with whom we have chosen to surround ourselves. And upon whose approval we have allowed ourselves to become so very dependent ...

How many of us are on this course through our lives? How many of us even question what course we are on to begin with?

________________________


Or ... We can take the "road less traveled" ... The path upon which I have always viewed myself following, although I still could not really tell you, dear reader, why I feel that way. It is just deep in my soul, perhaps a little too deep to reach ...

Source: Creator SplitShire on Pixabay

So ... This has long been my way through life. It would be very surprising to me, if I don't "stay the course" until the end. Now in the "Autumn season" (early winter? 😉) of my life, I certainly don't have any inclination at the moment to change course ...

What then, will I do next? As I wrote in my last post:

The longer I live, the more important I believe are these two essential aspects of life:

1. The people in my life.

2. The time I spend with them.

With the responsibilities of providing for a large family behind me, I can focus on what has always caused me grief, to one degree or another. The lack of time spent with those with whom God has allowed me to cross paths:

Never knowing for certain, for what purpose I was in their life and they were in mine, but assured it was "for such a time as this!"

I am genuinely excited to experience this in ways I rarely if ever have before now. And my beloved and I have already taken concrete steps in this direction. I truly believe it will progressively become the highlight of our lives!

And when not working on doing a much better job of investing time into the lives of others? There will inevitably be the need to rest up, recuperate, and get recharged / refreshed for another day.

What will we do?

Spend a lot of time learning more about permaculture and living simply, close to the earth ...

Source 1: Creator WhisperingJane_ASMR on Pixabay
Source 2: Creator pasja1000 on Pixabay

I am grateful to my Steemian friend, @rawutah, for introducing me to a "world" I never knew existed. We have already begun to experience a bit about this new life, having completed our first preparatory season. I have pictures and notes about all we have experienced and what it has represented to me.

At some point in the future, I hope to be writing more about this topic here on our Steem blockchain. The inspiration received from it have resulted in my beloved lifemate and I feeling literally years younger. 😊 And certainly healthier ... 😉

________________________


As with us all, time will ultimately catch up, as our "number of days" draw ever nearer to their inevitable finale. In searching for "just the right one," I loved the image shown below, to illustrate my closing thoughts.

Source: Creator composita on Pixabay

What "footprints on the sands of time" will we leave behind? I don't pretend to know. I can't even say for sure that it is wise to dwell on it much, as to what degree is that final judgment in our hands?

Of one thing, though, I am certain. As I enter the "Winter season" of my long life, I will always keep looking to the horizon.

Onward and Upward!

Closing

In writing this post, I wondered how other cultures around the world view this phase of our lives. The "final chapter" ... And I smiled, wondering whoever came up with the "golden years" reference to it, here in America. "Golden?" Yeah, right ... 😊

Have I inspired any thoughts about this phase of your life, dear reader? Do you have another perspective on it, from your heritage and cultural background in your part of the world?

I’d love to hear any feedback you may be inspired to provide.

Until "next time," all the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work together to build up our Steem Communities and increase the value of the Steem blockchain! 👍 😊

Respectfully,
Steemian @roleerob

Posted using SteemPeak and “immutably enshrined in the blockchain” on Monday, 20 January 2020!

________________________

P.S. For those to whom this may not be clear: #hive-114105 <=> #powerhousecreatives <=> @steemitbloggers

divider 123.png


________________________


Interested to read more of my related posts?

Lead Image Title, Link, & Summary
Observations: Gratitude and the Simple Things

Summary: Reflections on a quiet, peaceful morning about what is truly important and being grateful for what we so often take for granted.
Reflections: My "Road to Recovery" Trip

Summary: An old saying is, "Plan your work and work your plan." Here are the thoughts leading up to my R2R trip of a lifetime. Including an outline of where I intended to go and why.
Reflections: Officially retired ... Or am I?

Summary: "Officially" retired, I reflected on another old saying - "Today is the first day of the rest of your life!" As a began to think about what the "next chapter" of my life might be. Including whether I was truly through working ...
R2R Reflections: Immense Wealth! Yet, still the "pursuit of more"

Summary: While on my road trip, I had a lot of "windshield" time to reflect back on my life and "the pursuit of happiness" as an American. Including all that I had learned over a long career, on the controversial topic of wealth.
R2R Reflections: For Such a Time as This ...

Summary: While on my road trip, what I probably thought about more than anything else was our time. While these reflections were focused on my own personal history, I also thought a lot about the time in human history into which I was born.

________________________


SteemPeak: An awesome interface for our Steem blockchain.

Check it out!


This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort:  

I think that these latest publications have been both a perfect start to the year as well as the golden clasp that concludes a reflection of life that undoubtedly enriches all your readers. I know that whenever I tell you, you don't accept it so easily, but I think you are a very wise man. In the details you find of each experience there are always traces of that deep path through which your soul travels, that path full of Light. Thank you for sharing your trip and so many valuable questions.

I think that everywhere we look for that way of valuing the important things in life, I also believe that in all places we learn to approach it as we get closer to the last stage of life. Youth is chaos maturity seeks the essence.

I send you a big hug, also to your wife and family. Spend an excellent Sunday with the people you love so much.

Much joy and a beautiful Light.

Up well before 🌄 (here) @leveuf, you are very kind to "drop in" and supply some of your encouragement about what these posts represent to you. It is a blessing to me to "hear" they have provided you content for deep reflection and then choosing to share some of it with us here.

Inspired to write a bit again, we'll see how long that holds up. I am almost instantly back to the challenge I have always faced. Justifying time spent "in here," at the inevitable expense of time invested "out there" in the real world. But ... Here I am ...

God bless you, my dear friend. In whatever way you are being led forward, I pray that it is "out in the light," of what truly matters. What truly is of value ...

Thanks for investing your time to add value to this post. Until "next time," all the best to you for a better tomorrow! 😊

I know how you value your time, that's why your publications are worth to visit, they're always important reflections on society or this micro-society in the blockchain, important news or simply a share of how you experience the journey in this life. We've talked about presentation and substance and both are enjoyable in your posts! Always a pleasure to visit you, dear @Roleerob!! See you soon "here" or "there". 🤗
May your Sunday is full of Love and Light!!

I’m really glad to see you are back to writing again! This was such a nice and engaging write up!

You’d think I was already in my Golden Years as much as I think about my life, purpose and impact. I think it is essential that we are always reflecting on our time here, especially we as Christians. We don’t know when our time will be up and it’s crucial we are spending our time wisely and making the best of the time God has given us.

It was inspiring and encouraging hearing you talking about the two essential aspects of life. I need to do better with spending more time with my loved ones , even giving them a phone call if I can’t get to them.

One thing I have been reminding myself lately is that these things on earth are just “things”, we can’t take them with us. Sometimes we get focused on our material possessions so much that we miss the whole point. What’s more important than what we have accumulated is who have we impacted? Who have we inspired or encouraged today? As you stated...what legacy are we leaving behind? These are the focal points that we should ponder on.

I hope you and your beloved have the time of your lives visiting and spending time with those you love. Thank you for this post. 😊

It is a blessing to me to "hear" from you @crosheille this morning. And encouraging to my writing it, to "hear" you found some value in reading this post. From an "old man," who has "been through the wars" ... 😉

As we both believe, our Lord is sovereign in all things, even the timing of events in our lives. I awake this morning have spent two hours last night in the home of a member of our church, listening to a man representing the largest missons outreach in the world to the Muslim nations. With a specific leading and heart for the plight of the people of a major city in the Muslim world - a city of 8 to 10 million people ...

Puts me in a deep reflective mood this morning about what, as I write my last two posts and what you also touch on, is truly of value. And what, in His "moment of truth," in a garden, our Lord's words recorded for eternity were: "Nevertheless, not my will, but thine be done."

For now, I will leave it at that, as details of what he shared with us are not to be posted anywhere. Suffice it to say, the plight of these people - in particular the women - is extraordinary. Extraordinarily grim, from this Steemian's perspective ...

Thank you again, my friend and sister in Christ, for investing your time in stopping by and adding value to this post. May our Lord richly bless your new day! 🙏

Psalm 118:24

It was absolutely a pleasure to stop by and visit and take some time to read your writing. I know I can learn a lot from your wisdom and the life you have lived :)

That missions outreach sounds very profound. Thanks for sharing a bit of it.

May the Lord continue to bless you and your family as well.

 5 years ago 

I truly like this kind of post. Something to ponder that I might now have already. We will all get there one day and I think it is a wise move to give it some thought while you can do some things to change its course.

Outlining the important things in life and how they evolve and change really hits home because so many people are resistant to change. The more people read things like this, the more they may look twice at the advice. One can hope.

Great write and of course, we are glad to see you at PHC~!

Upped and steemed

!tip

Thank you for stopping by @dswigle and adding value to this post! I really appreciate getting your perspective on it.

"The more people read things like this, the more they may look twice at the advice. One can hope."

Yes, if they ever see it ... Hahaha! That is one of the fun things about our Steem blockchain is how we go about resolving the challenge of getting "eyes" on what we write.

For me, I really value the engagement and hearing from others as much or more than the upvotes. Sadly, after the EIP changes of HF 21 / 22, that seems to be in decline. Which was part of why I stopped writing ...

Well, anyway, I have started back up. A little bit for now. Thanks again for stopping by and letting me know your thoughts on the subject! 😊 👍

 5 years ago 

Well, I took it home with me to hopefully give it a few more eyes. A really nice piece! I hope it does well!

You're very kind @dswigle. Thank you!

🎁 Hi @roleerob! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Monday Musing All The Way Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Congratulations @roleerob! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Wow! What an encouraging message to wake up to 🌄 this morning @steemitbloggers! Thank you for the support!

I hope the post provides at least a little "food for thought," or even a little inspiration to others, in a similar time in their lives ...

Psalm 118:24

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Thank you @theluvbug for your encouragement and the link to join PHC, which you provided on my last post. A step now taken and for which I am grateful!

The path of my life did change a few times and took a turn sometimes and went a 180 in another direction and that is some that’s hard sometimes but also great. I don’t want to know what the future will being I will walk my walk of life 😉

Yes, my friend, we never know what is coming @brittandjosie, on our paths through this world. Having definitely experienced ...

"... went a 180 in another direction and that is some that’s hard sometimes but also great."

... a few of these myself, I have learned to simply say, "I don't write the script!" And then do my best to learn whatever lesson might be a part of it and go on ...

Thank you for stopping by and adding value to this post! 😊 👍

You are very welcome and its so nice you came to the PHC

I'm part of this sector, but I've always seen it as no different than other stages of my life. I believe I think that way because I've looked at life from the perspective of one body of work, rather than dividing it into phases, from the beginning. Or, just three phases, but the life phase sits alone in the middle; birth - life - death.

I don't know why I view "life" in this way, but I suspect I'm not alone.

Nice to meet you @roleerob!

Thank you for your perspective @free-reign and for your thoughts, which add value to this post. Part of what "keeps me going" here on our Steem blockchain, is engaging with others all over the world. Provides lots of opportunities for what "might be" ...

Have a great day! 👍

 5 years ago 

Time slips away quickly, early years one is so busy doing what must be done to keep a family running.

A day arrives to soon when you stop, look back deciding some time must now be spent enjoying you.

Travel if you are able, explore whatever you can, soon enough time runs out.

African people respect their elders, sharing knowledge very valuable for younger generations to build and grow.

“When an old man dies, a library burns to the ground,” an African proverb

Yes, amen @joanstewart ...

"... early years one is so busy doing what must be done to keep a family running."

... as this sums up far too much of my life very succinctly.

While only hinted at in some of what I have written, I have often "looked back" and wondered if there was not a different, better path through it all. I am pretty much at peace and settled now on knowing this is largely a futile exercise. We cannot go back, only forward ...

As for imparting any wisdom to the next generations, that is a key element in what my beloved and I hope to invest a considerable amount of time into ...

Who knows, maybe they will even listen a little bit! Hopefully ... 😉

Thank you very kindly, for stopping by and adding value to this post! 🙂👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I love finding on my way this kind of reading that awakens my positive thoughts and feeds my life.

Thank you @carolinacardoza, for stopping by and adding value to this post. It is encouraging to me ...

"... that awakens my positive thoughts and feeds my life."

... that your reading of it inspired this response.

God bless your new day!
Psalm 118:24, Hebrews 10:23-25

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56849.09
ETH 2508.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32