Family Life - The 31 Sentence Contest Round 5

in ART LOVERS5 years ago (edited)

Stephanie Pratt from Pixabay


This is my entry to The 31 Sentence Contest Round 5 by @tristancarax. It is a contest based creating a story with 31 sentences exactly, and each sentence has a set number of words allowed. For more information on joining the challenge see this post:

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Family Life

I recall the period before the birth of our child, from the moment we first learned we were pregnant, and then through the “surprises” that being with child brings. Though I’m not a woman, I am a father and understand that pregnancy comes with changes to the expectant mother’s life as the new life she carries, develops.

As is the case with many pregnancies, our first one came with many odd and sometimes surprising desires, such as strange foods; foods she otherwise hated. When the changes to her body began she was happy that she was a mother as she caressed her “bump.”

With each new change it became more difficult to know how to act or what to say around her. Thankfully, I am blessed with the ability to accept change, especially when it’s not only predictable, but it also brings with it the understanding we must have.

It’s crucial that expectant fathers prepare themselves for these coming changes and surprises, enabling them to remain calm when “storms” arise.

You must keep reminding yourself that most changes will disappear, though some will remain. Those that remain, however, will be those changes that will only serve to improve your relationship with your partner, the mother of your child. Believe me she will love you for supporting her.

Then we decided we’d have another child.

We did plan for it, just as we had the first child but with some new tweaks added. It was important to take into consideration that the new baby would have an older sister, and therefore we had more things we needed to consider before child two was born. We had decided on three kids in six years’ time.

One thing we didn’t do was to consider the interactions of growing siblings. Failure accepted. My wife and I both had been the only child in our families growing up, so a lack of understanding on our part concerning sibling rivalries was to be expected. Indeed.

One choice we’d made had become a small issue for awhile. We’d decided that my wife would be a “stay at home mom” as we’d both agreed it would be best for the children. This turned into a small issue later on, and unfortunately wasn’t consumed as new knowledge.

Instead, there was tension at home; tension between the kids; tension for mom having to hear all their selfish and petty complaints. My wife became jealous of me going to work at my job. When the third and final child arrived, we felt we were back at step one at times.

I’m at fault. I was so blinded by the fact that the kids would gush and welcome me home. It happened every single day. I’d enjoyed playing the part of returning hero so much I lost sight of my wife’s struggles with another child now added to the equation.

But thankfully, like I wrote earlier, it’s fine. We have love for each other. We’re doing it right.

Family Life © free-reign 2019

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @free-reign! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 600 posts. Your next target is to reach 650 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

 5 years ago (edited)

@free-reign you did a great job making a smooth story out of the strict sentence structure! Enjoyed hearing your real life story about the family building. How old are your kids now?
@tipu curate

Than you @blueeyes8960, this is a fun contest! Actually the only part of this that applies to me is that I am a father, but with only 1 child, a daughter. I grew up with an older sister, so I wasn't a lone child. It's mostly fiction I made up from the prompt picture. :) Thanks for reading!

 5 years ago 

@free-reign - lol I thought it was a true story. Good job!

You have garnered support from the @bananafish community. We appreciate you're fine work and hope that you will continue to produce awesome content for us to feast our minds on.

Thank you @bananafish community!

Awesome. Is this real life?

I love how you handled the prompt. It's like I could see every image from the prompt happening here, not that you had to do it that way but it is cool.

I had/have siblings. We no longer talk, sadly enough. Lots of trauma stuff. I don't know if they will ever work on themselves but that doesn't stop me from growing.

I’m at fault. I was so blinded by the fact that the kids would gush and welcome me home. It happened every single day. I’d enjoyed playing the part of returning hero so much I lost sight of my wife’s struggles with another child now added to the equation.

I loved this paragraph because it shows what areas need to be worked on to find a balance. I'm sure she gets lots of love when the dad isn't around, even if it is shown in a different way. I'm almost sure the table would flip if she went out of town for a week or two and returned home. haha!

I'd like to be a stay-at-home day with wife/mother that can do the same. That would be so cool!

The only "real life" aspects of the story are that I am a father and I know what going through a pregnancy is like, with a nice "reminder" from the prompt. ;) I wasn't an only child though, and I added that bit of fiction to the story to explain why the parents weren't prepared for handling the sibling rivalry issues.

I have an older sister, and we aren't very close either, but still, I'm sorry to hear about your sibling situation. I grew up at a time when most moms were stay at home moms. They're rare today, but the old ways were just too restrictive for women who wanted to contribute more to society than just "keeping house."

I got the story mainly from what I saw in the prompt picture. It's a great, challenging contest, thank you!

I saw this challenge and honestly could not figure out how it works, now that could be due to skimming. It is a good story, showing how complex life is and even more so the role of a parent and partner. Good work.

It's a real challenge, and I naturally go for that aspect in a contest. You should give it a try for this week's round. He posts a picture and you try to make a story or poem, related somehow to what you see in the picture.

Here's the link for this week's contest, round 6: https://steemit.com/31sentencecontest/@tristancarax/the-31-sentence-contest-round-6

 5 years ago 

This is fantastic! Wow. So much truth in this, seamlessly presented. Really great work. I love most of your work, but this form seems to have streamlined your writing. Did you enjoy doing it?

I really enjoyed it, but there were only 3 entries this week, so I hope more people will get interested in it as I think this could be one of the best contest themes ever! Thank you for suggesting it to me, and I hope to see you and your talented writing this round!

 5 years ago 

I'm working on one, but it's more of a political statement than a story and is very choppy at present.
This task really stretches and develops writing skills.
I'm so glad you gave it a go. I love your story.

I just read it - it's a great entry! I entered mine this morning right before I read yours. I really like the contest, and really glad you turned me onto it. :)

 5 years ago 

lol we were reading each others' entries at the same time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35