You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Family Life - The 31 Sentence Contest Round 5

in ART LOVERS5 years ago

Awesome. Is this real life?

I love how you handled the prompt. It's like I could see every image from the prompt happening here, not that you had to do it that way but it is cool.

I had/have siblings. We no longer talk, sadly enough. Lots of trauma stuff. I don't know if they will ever work on themselves but that doesn't stop me from growing.

I’m at fault. I was so blinded by the fact that the kids would gush and welcome me home. It happened every single day. I’d enjoyed playing the part of returning hero so much I lost sight of my wife’s struggles with another child now added to the equation.

I loved this paragraph because it shows what areas need to be worked on to find a balance. I'm sure she gets lots of love when the dad isn't around, even if it is shown in a different way. I'm almost sure the table would flip if she went out of town for a week or two and returned home. haha!

I'd like to be a stay-at-home day with wife/mother that can do the same. That would be so cool!

Sort:  

The only "real life" aspects of the story are that I am a father and I know what going through a pregnancy is like, with a nice "reminder" from the prompt. ;) I wasn't an only child though, and I added that bit of fiction to the story to explain why the parents weren't prepared for handling the sibling rivalry issues.

I have an older sister, and we aren't very close either, but still, I'm sorry to hear about your sibling situation. I grew up at a time when most moms were stay at home moms. They're rare today, but the old ways were just too restrictive for women who wanted to contribute more to society than just "keeping house."

I got the story mainly from what I saw in the prompt picture. It's a great, challenging contest, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65765.48
ETH 2628.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66