Close The World 🌏 - Community AbusesteemCreated with Sketch.

image.png
Source License

When it was announced that endingplagiarism was moving into the shadows, that is exactly what happened. The omnipresence is still in action and the fight against plagiarism and abuse continues.


Today, I bring to you the abuse of an entire community - Open the World. It's hard to really understand what is happening in this community but it is clear that it was created in order to obtain steemcurator and booming support and for no other purpose.

The community was created on 12th April 2021 and quickly became a hotbed of plagiarised content.

The 1st post was plagiarised from here to set the tone for what was to follow.


Why so much Plagiarism?

It might seem strange that one community can attract so much plagiarism but the reason is simple - in their quest to get steemcurator01 and booming support, they needed to appear to have an active, thriving community so numerous accounts were created to achieve this. Creating original content takes time and this is where the plagiarism comes in - it's quick. I don't think the administrators of the community realised how much effort this would require so it's no surprise that the primary administrator - @ibrahim7869 has been inactive for over 2 months now.


The Honest Users

Unfortunately, honest users get dragged into this too and I've no doubt that not all of the community moderators are corrupt and I suggest to those moderators that aren't simply duplicate accounts of ibrahim7869 to follow @christophergls's example and resign (I'll tag you in the comments).

With renowned plagiarists like @mubdi-technology having their posts pinned, if there are any honest users using this community, I recommend that you stop doing so with immediate affect so that your reputation does not get severely damaged by this.


The Corrupt Contest

Following the discovery by @xaviduran that the recent contest was fraudulent, @open-theworld put out a statement that it was the work of a single user who has now been banned. Conveniently an account that has been dormant for 2 months - "coincidentally", the same period that the 2 admins indicated above have been dormant for.


How Many Accounts are they Running?

Fucked if I know. With 892 subscribers and 74 active posters, I'd guess about 50 of the active posters are duplicate accounts, probably more. I've caught many of them for plagiarism and if you'd like to reply in the comments with any posts that are plagiarised, I'm sure some mob justice can be dealt out.


The Community Support Application

https://steemit.com/hive-151614/@open-theworld/2qcayu-application-for-monthly-community-support-program-open-the-world

And here is the reason behind the open-theworld scam - steemcurator and booming support have the power to make or break your time here on Steemit. Steemcurator01 has supported a coupe of contests in the past and open-theworld got greedy - "If I can get a $30 upvote by giving away 12 Steem, I wonder what I'll get by giving away 100".

As @stef1 has suggested in response to the "redemption" post, there were honest users in the original contest - if you're trying to run an honest community, the 100 Steem Prize should be awarded to those users.

There's also this...

And a secret endingplagiarism helps us a lot in this work.

I hope this helps.

image.png
Source License


The future of OPEN THE WORLD 🌍

When a community is set up for the wrong reasons, it's doomed to failure. I've seen countless communities that have been set up for the identical reason and (I believe) the community support program was created to ease the pressure on the Steemit team from all of these bull shit communities and the constant requests for support.

My hope with this post is that the Steem Team become more aware of the persistent abuse by these users and remove support for them and their administrators indefinitely.


100% Payout to @bettervision who is doing great work helping improve vision for people in deprived communities 👍


image.png
Source License

Sort:  

We have not supported this community for a couple of months, and will not be supporting them in future.

Hi @steemcurator01, I would like to ask you to support the first post of @xaviduran that gave us the information the suspicion of @open-theworld:

https://steemit.com/hive-152587/@xaviduran/horrible-deception-case-of-plagiarism-inside-our-platform

I have mentioned Xavier in my post but somehow you have not noticed it. He really deserves appreciation. Without his we would not notice such behavior of community.

Thank you in advance,
@stef1

Many thanks @stef1 for the mention you made of my entry to @steemcurator01. Indeed.

You are welcome :)

very saddened by this case @steemcurator01, this destroys the steemit platform that we love, love your own work even though it is as simple as possible and make it a place to learn in creating good and great content,, very unfortunate for the violations committed by a corrupt community.

In my opinion, this community is not suitable to be supported by steemcurator01 because apart from containing hatred, it also has an influence for steemit lovers who want to share many events there

Many thanks @steemcurator01 for your support, that's a morale booster to continue the struggle.

Many thanks @steemcurator01 for the support. That's a morale booster to continue the struggle.

@rupok admin
@ahsansharif mod Top 5 Selector (Pakistan)
@muhammadsameer mod Special Modarator ✅
@omeresa mod Copyright Checker + Special Mod
@faran-nabeel mod Writer + Rules Update✅
@samin1 mod Newcomers Helper + Active Mod✅
@open-theworld mod Community Account

image.png
@open-theworld started the powering down

also, @ibrahim7869 started powering down.

image.png

I think they realize they can't answer our question so they starting to shut down their account from the steemit and thank you so much @endingplagiarism and @xaviduran for supporting this issue.

Great work in here, you guys are amazing! We have seen some of this users in Writing & Reviews as well... luckily we caught them in time.

Greetings @endplagiarism, first of all receive my sincere thanks for the recognition and your support to clear my name which has been affected by the terrible work and the lack of ethics demonstrated in said community by other administrators and mod. I hope it does not bring me more consequences, since I am already mentioned in my resignation to the community, I have lost the support and the votes that I received in my photographs.

I reiterate the need for the administrators and moderators of each community to maintain ethics in their work, so as not to disqualify the platform, others users told me that there is examples of other communities where the winners of the contests are always the same, without taking into account great works presented by other users, but I know that in the same way as they detected this great lack of OpentheWorld, you are aware of the other communities.

Great recognition and gratitude for the work you and the others users did to stop this abuse, and for the actions taken. I hope soon I will return to my photography posts, which I have not been able to continue due to the damage to my smartphone camera and I can't buy a new one.

Greetings from Margarita Island 🏝️ Venezuela.

TZjG7hXReeVoAvXt2X6pMxYAb3q65xMju8wryWxKrsghkQGH1KZABRcJAAUSg4cPWwfQVHH7b8b6r66u5SaD5u4ZMNjCBR8GejWeEe17nWvoLWrdWpPWDrPrpftruzTuzRsfFtC5k1vET8-01-01-01.jpeg

Hi @christophergls,

others users told me that there is examples of other communities where the winners of the contests are always the same, without taking into account great works presented by other users

That's utterly right and I know several instances. When I had time I'm going into this matter deeply.

Thanks @endingplagiarism for the mention,

Now I know why every time I mentioned you, I didn't get any kind of response, I just misspelled your account name. I can't find any self-flagellation emoticons.

For the last two days I have been browsing some of the that community/cave of burglars accounts and, for example, I have seen that the administrator ibrahim7869's account was almost exclusively dedicated to attracting new followers, giving likes and saying that in his community his posts would be worth more, hundreds of messages of this type were sent from his account recently.

After all that has happened, I am almost certain of two things, that there is only one person behind all this mess, and that some sector of the Bangladeshi community passively supported him.

Just one more question, do you know if tatjanastan is going to include me in his anti-plagiarism contest? I have contributed to the contest and I haven't noticed that I've put into with this particular case.

I reiterate my thanks, and as we say in my homeland, salud y saludos! (health and greetings!)

I am really happy and appreciated your action as there is lot of newcomers attract towards this community and they will get bad impression through this community .

Really thank you so much for taking action against this community.

Many thanks @mayureshpandit for the support to this sad story. You also collaborated with the comparison of the 'awarded winners', to discover the deception from the very beginning.

It's our responsibilty to raised the voice if we see something wrong and you really did great work and show the actual situation to everyone.

Keep it up and Thank you so much for writing the post about this issue and also inform others.

I will remove "Open the World" from the list of active communities and won't include it in future editions. Thanks for the information.

How many other communities are similar minded with whale votes?

I'm not sure - At some point, I'll go through the #communities-202110 tag and see what scum bags we can uncover.

Will be interested in your findings...

I've only done a brief review and my thoughts are... A couple stand out as a bit iffy where they've received a cluster of crappy comments within a short period of time - generally indicative of a single person using multiple accounts (but could also be nothing).

https://steemit.com/created/hive-177070 - This one really stands out to me. The main admin reached 🔥 Stage 4 🔥 with his original account and stage 2 with his current account. There's also an unusually high number of deleted posts which appears to be a consistent theme. This one stinks which I suspect you already knew!

Sir even if you won't upvote but i you would love to hear your idea about this community
#steempromoafrica. Thou it's young but i would appreciate you visiting the community.
Thank you

 2 years ago 

With most respect i have highlighted many times that since the day from when you stepped down the whole system of PLAGIARISM got slow as well as got affected.
When you were in charged it was too difficult to find plagiarist,but now its too easy in just few minutes i use to catch these kind of users but sorry to say now there is no Support from steemit team yes #Kiwi-crypto and #Endplagiarism these both are working hard but as i mentioned our section of fighting against PLAGIARISM got affected.
You can see when you were working against plagiarism there were many investigators but now there is no one left except me.
I feel so sorry but it's so true that now i use to see plagiarism every where but i can't stand all alone against PLAGIARISM untill we make a team and then start our fighting !
I have also texted you on discord.
Waiting for your kind reply and hope so you will guide us Thank you !

Cc
@endingplagiarism

This is where the imporance of community adminsitrators and moderators comes in. If you're an administrator or moderator within a community, then you are expected to tackle plagiarism and abuse by educating users and then flagging and muting them if necessary. If communities and community leaders don't do this (or as in this case are the problem themselves) then I'm sure that the Steemit team will remove any existing and future support as they had already done in this case - particularly if they're applying for Community of the Month support. There are so many great communities applying for the programme that deal with the issue meaning that those which don't really stand out.

Until the day that a dedicated person or team is employed by Steemit (which I don't expect to happen under TRON's ownership), the model of individuals scowering the entire platform and highlighting abuse is unsustainable since even when it might be profitable from an upvote point of view, is unlikely to be the motivation behind people registering in the 1st place.

My recommendation to you and all other users fed up with plagiarism and abuse is to tell the leaders of the community that you are a member of and if they don't act, then escalate things in the way that xaviduran did.

 2 years ago (edited)

Well said totally agreed with your statement

My recommendation to you and all other users fed up with plagiarism and abuse is to tell the leaders of the community that you are a member of and if they don't act, then escalate things in the way that xaviduran did.

But already i have done this act too but i haven't got positive response. I am continuing my journey without the support but sometimes it gets harder when you haven't get positive response.
Though i understood what you said and I'll surely follow your tips but at last I'll just request that this Endingplagiarism section should be strong,as it needs many more changes,the fight is too slow because there is no structure and no plans to fight against it.
I hope you will get my point.Once again thank you so much for listening out my point of view.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45