"FISTWEDGE"- It took me right into the Stone Age

in Dream Steemlast month

Let me make it clear at this point that I tried my best but I could not find anything even though I tried various keywords including #FISTWEDGE #fist #wedge but I got a little success when I used the search term #FISTWEDGE in Stone Age although that confused me even more.

However, it took me to Wikipedia which gave me a hint of what to expect even if only partially as I could find nothing with the name of FISTWEDGE. However, I take it as first wedgeedge and explain it as follows.

Flint_hand_axe.JPG

Wikipedia

In the Stone Age man was a hunter and his life revolved around gathering food and survival from dangerous animals. I guess these are common characteristics and tools of the Paleolithic Age.

The Stone Age men used simple chipped stone tools for hunting and other purposes. Paleolithic people were completely dependent on weapons and tools made of stone, as they lived in hilly areas, near caves, rivers and rock shelters.

Source By Theroadislong - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0,

Early Stone Age man was nomadic and had no knowledge of house building and agriculture. So they had no community life and lived in hills and caves.

Lower Paleolithic Age spread mainly in Western Europe and Africa and early man lived a nomadic lifestyle. Paleolithic population preferred to live near water sources, as stone tools were abundant near river valleys.

This era saw the manufacture of the first stone tools including the earliest stone tools found today and is called the Oldowan tradition, which refers to the pattern of stone tool manufacture by hominids.

Broken stones called eoliths are considered to be the earliest tools or tools made from bone, teeth, and horns.

These tools were made from large and small scrapers, stones, choppers, etc. Hand axes and cleavers were the typical tools for hunting for food and hunting animals was the only method of eating and staying alive. These tools were mainly used for cutting, digging, and skinning prey.

Paleolithic people mainly used hand axes as weapons, which were used for hunting as well as protection which included stone tools.

I did not stop here but searched for more sources of information and reached Britannica and found more sources and photos

Screenshot (2198).png

Screenshot Courtesy, Robert R. Converse, the Archaeological Society of Ohio

I wouldn't like to try a stone knife to cut my meals but for the Stone Age people, almost all their tools were made of stone hence the name stone age though other materials like wood, bone, and antlers were also used.

The Stone Age, which lasted from about 2.6 million years ago to 10,000 years ago, was a time when humans settled along waterways and used primitive tools. Limestone, or probably also known as gypsum, played an important role in the making of tools during this time.

I did not stop here but searched further and reached this page which probably gives us an idea of FISTWIDGET a little more vividly.

Screenshot (2199).png

Source

Tools made from limestone were used by Paleolithic humans, such as weapons, knives, and other tools. Incidentally, I know about limestone or gypsum which is an important mineral used in cement manufacturing that could be used in a number of ways, such as by quarrying and fusion with other rocks from the earth.

@ty-ty

Beneficiaries
#hive-107855
@wox-helpfund
@beautigoddess
CONTEST: WHAT IS YOUR EXPERIENCE AS A MOTHER LIKE

Sort:  

... and some of us are convinced that the great problems of mankind only began when people preferred to become sedentary. The disaster may have begun when the fistwedge had had its day...

 last month 

Does that mean the man was a nasty creation of whosoever did this? I guess the universe would be better off without humans as they have done the most harm to everything 😄

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

 last month 

Thank you so much @suboohi ma'am.

It shows how people were more creative before and hardworking too. Now we have guns to prey and knives to cut food items.

I can't imagine to do everything with fistwedge if we are deprived of advanced tools now.

As man has succeeded with advancements, more destruction has become our fate⚠️

Hello dear friend
I had a similar experience to what happened to you when trying to translate the word of the week into Spanish.
In my native language, it doesn't have an exact translation. "Hacha de mano (Hand axe)" could be a close one.
For the story, I solved it by going to the meanings and metaphorical associations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49