Sort:  

Hi @willymac, I am just amazed in the information age, how much we are uninformed. How can we progress from barbarity if we are not taught the mistakes of the past? We have to teach each other what we didn't learn in our indoctrination centers called school.

The news of the carnage was so bad even for back then that the numbers in official reports to Washington would have a digit removed from the right side because the reviewer assumed it had been grossly exaggerated. In some cases, according to contemporary reports, that "correction" would be made yet again by someone higher up before passing it on to the top; reporting 1/100 of the actual reported number.

It was that biggest slaughter of animals in human history.

That was a true "disturbance in the Force."

My two top losses are the burning of the Library of Alexandria, and the slaughter of the Bison.

Wow. Thanks for the additional information.

It nearly killed me seeing that photo @willymac! Such despicable behaviour; so sad.

How are you doing by the way? Haven't had a chance to talk with you lately :)

Hello, @lynncoyle1! Outdoor chores have consumed all my time for days and I have barely made a dent in what needs to be done! The winds last month left a lot of clean-up and that is slow going when it means picking things up one at a time, hauling them to a safe place and burning them. Cleaning one area around the gazebo meant picking up over 1,300 pine cones! When the heat index in 95 degrees, that wears me out!

I have not touched the book I was writing before starting Steemit. The entry page needs a big WARNING! ENTERING HERE TRIGGERS ADDICTIVE BEHAVIOR! sign.

I'm working on a companion to Sterling:For the Republic and that created another addictive behavior in me. Sterling is so real to me, I have problems separating some of the characters from actual people in my life and that reality from my "now" reality.

My deepest everything to you and Brian. I have been embarrassingly absent but my life has been spent on the fringes of many things I cannot control because I can empathize there as well as anywhere else.

This farm girl understands completely how physical work in the heat can wear you out! No apologies necessary @willymac; real life takes precedent :)

I love how your fictional characters get intertwined with your reality! To me, that's the sign of great fiction...feed the addiction my friend :)

Thank you for the "deepest everything" to Brian and I. I know exactly what that means coming from you, and it's a lot!

Thanks for the update; happy to know you are doing well.

When I was working on that book I had been in the fictional town all morning and it was getting very real in my head. I got up from the keypad for lunch and had a brief disorientation because the room was different from the one I remembered. After eating, I had to run an errand and turned in the wrong direction at the end of my driveway because that's the way it was in the story.

Actually, it was a really cool feeling!

I still have a weird feeling that if I go the the place, the little town will actually be there.

Which reminds me of the dream where I took a wrong turn on a foggy night returning home and had car problems, got the car started again, and parked in front of The Hotel California!

In the dream, I knew it was not real but I said nothing because who would ever get that opportunity again?

hahaha good call on the dream! You need Time to stand still for even a moment at that point in time :)

That is so weird; talk about getting into character, and plot and setting haha

If I really worked at it, I imagine I could get there mentally and stay. Not at the California; they ran out of wine - but MY town. Everything there is perfect and I like the people! Of course, their world is ending, so I might need a rewrite before I get too comfortable there.

BTW, what has been your favorite writing adventure? Care to do a post about it?

Of course when you spend enough time there in your head @willymac, it would all tend to become rather comfortable!

Wow, that's a tough question and one I'd have to ponder on. I've never thought about it though...thanks for the idea 😅

Of course when you spend enough time there in your head @willymac, it would all tend to become rather comfortable!

But it's my safe place!

I'm pretty sure I'm not going to end up sitting in a corner, sucking on my thumb, and with a blank stare in my eyes
;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68