Adventures in Fiji in the 1959 to 60's

in #history7 years ago (edited)

When I first arrived the little Nash Metropolitan had just been introduced.


image source

I took it for a test drive, then worked out that if I could live on ten shillings a month [$1] I could just about afford it. I wouldn’t have had the money to ship it home though, so I gave up my dream and enjoyed myself in other ways.

Eventually all good things must come to an end and I was posted back to Ohakea. We bused around the Island to Nadi International Airport.

We were put into one of the top hotels, The Mocambo.

Just in time to see our transport Hastings arrive.

There enough time to use the swimming pool and have a couple of beers.

While we driving around the Island we came upon an Army petrol station and watched them refuel a land rover. The fuel is hand pumped into the sight glass.

When the glass has the right amount of fuel in it the nozzle is put into the vehicles tank and the valve is opened.

The following day we flew back to Whenuapai, went through customs and then on down via the limited express to Palmerston North.

The sudden drop from 30 degrees to 10 degrees at the height of the day was a shock.

I knew nothing about any of the aircraft in the hanger at Ohakea, so I spent about a month sitting between 4 kerosene heaters trying to get warm.

Very shortly after I was sent to Woodbourne Trade Training School [4TTS] for a six month fitters course.

But that’s another story.

Adventures in Fiji in the 1959 to 60's - part 1
Adventures in Fiji in the 1959 to 60's - part 2
Adventures in Fiji in the 1959 to 60's - part 3
Adventures in Fiji in the 1959 to 60's - part 4
Adventures in Fiji in the 1959 to 60's - part 5
Adventures in Fiji in the 1959 to 60's - part 6
Adventures in Fiji in the 1959 to 60's - part 7
Adventures in Fiji in the 1959 to 60's - part 8

Sort:  

Loved a girl from Palmy for many years Len. Lovely pics BTW. I loved the old BP and Land Rover days as a boy ... with the old Jerry cans of petrol! Resteemed my friend :)

the best of the land rover days were having the canvas top removed, hanging onto a Bren gun mounted on a U shaped mount.
hanging on for dear life as the driver drifted through corners on the very wet roads.
I have got a grip that won't let go.

My grandpa loved using the Bren gun in India! One thrill ride indeed! Apologies the RS didn't work as the article was over a week old :( Oh well, looking forward to more old stories from you soon that I can RS :) Cheer Len from Scotland!

thanks for your comments.
have a look on my home base/whatever it is called,[where my blogs show up] there are a few other B S yarns there, with more to come
followwing you to see what you get up to.

Thanks Len. Your fit boy Trev sent me your way :) A good laddie and a great contributor here on Steemit. Great that all your wild yarns are trapped here in blockchain forever now :) One great technology indeed.

that is what sold me on Steemit. I missed getting all the BS stories of my Dad down ion paper, and he wasn't a writer. In the off chance the grandkids get curious about the fart they can read my side of the story,'
If possible do the same with your oldies, get their stories while they can still tell them.

Lay the legacy Len, lay the legacy my friend. :)

Saw a teal and white Nash for sale at a campground in Wisconsin last year. I think they only wanted $8000 dollars for it. I let them keep it.

As a girl puller what 19 year old could refuse one, if only I had the money at the time.
The car before it was a 1928 Chev sedan, probably also helped with the "want a rag top'feeling
There are still a few at old car meets in N Z.

I like petrol station:) nice pics, thank's

In the 1940s thatt was the petrol pump style, especially in the country where there weren't many customers.
Fiji Army was just a little slow in upgrading, this was in 1960.

Looks like some good times were had there!

The best age to be there, and the best place to grow up.

I do like that car, I wan't one :)

What a 'chic'magnet it would have been for a 19 -20 year old boy.
Lack of money is a bugger.

Its a hot looking car :)

There are still a few that show up at old car shows in NZ.
No good for you, no back seat.

No need for scarcasm now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62274.69
ETH 3366.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43