Commemorating a day in Wellington’s history

in #history6 years ago (edited)

This week has been a bit frantic, which is why there’s been no post about my party yet. It’s still on its way, but in the meantime, here’s some history about NZ’s worst maritime disaster, plus a performance from my choir.

50 years ago yesterday, on the 10th April 1968, a week after my 10th birthday, the Interislander passenger ferry Wahine sank in Wellington harbour during a storm. Despite heroic rescue efforts, 53 lives were lost.

On this 50th anniversary, a number of events were planned to commemorate this event, to acknowledge the lives that were lost and to remember those that did everything they could to help. Ironically, the weather decided to join in and there was a storm yesterday as well. It’s still very wet and windy here and all up and down the country.

Image is from the NZ History website, which has this to say (and more if you want to read the details):

The sinking of the Lyttelton–Wellington ferry Wahine on 10 April 1968 was New Zealand’s worst modern maritime disaster. Fifty-one people lost their lives that day, another died several weeks later and a 53rd victim died in 1990 from injuries sustained in the wreck. The Wahine’s demise also marked a coming of age for television news broadcasting in New Zealand as images of the disaster were beamed into the nation’s living rooms. The footage was later screened around the world as the international media spotlight focused on Wellington.

Would-be rescuers stood helplessly on the beach at Seatoun as the Wahine succumbed to one of the worst storms recorded in New Zealand history. It seemed impossible that so many lives could be lost so close to shore. Although the main cause of the accident was the atrocious weather conditions, the subsequent inquest also acknowledged that errors of judgement had been made both on board the ferry and on shore. Shipwrecks were commonplace in the 19th century, but this was the 1960s – how could a large, modern vessel founder almost within sight of New Zealand’s capital city?

Some of the news footage at the time is on Youtube. This clip is about 12 minutes long, and there are 3 more parts. You would probably just want to watch bits of it

You may remember I said that the Community Choir’s next gig was part of this commemoration. We gathered in the Wellington Railway Station from 7.30am to 8.30am yesterday, and sang some of the songs from the era, including some that are known to have been sung by the passengers on the ship as it was going down, and in the lifeboats.

The set list included:

• Rock my soul in the bosom of Abraham
• Sloop John B
• Michael Row the Boat Ashore
• We Shall not be moved
• Blowing In the Wind
• Hey Jude
• Pack up Your Troubles
• And a few more

Here’s a 5 minute video clip with excerpts from three of them. As we only had two rehearsals to learn 10 songs, this is one of the rare occasions you’ll see us with word sheets. And the multitude of puffer jackets testifies to the coldness of the weather in what is technically still autumn. But still, nearly half of the choir made it there. I wasn’t one of them, though, sorry.

Also, I can’t embed the video, so you will have to go to the dreaded Fakebook if you want to have a look. https://www.facebook.com/WellingtonCommunityChoir/videos/1908757842482292/

This article from news website Stuff has a bit more about the disaster and the commemorations and a different short clip from the choir. The photo of a small part of the choir, below, is from this article.

An apology

Sorry to those whose comments I haven’t replied to over the past week. Check your Replies tab soon, I might get up to date over the next couple of days.

PS

It's just started hailing! In Wellington we seldom see hail (or snow) except VERY occasionally in the depths of winter. Here's a photo of our deck. There's some thunder and lightening too. Do I really want to go out to choir tonight? (I do want to, cos it's last week of term and we don't get together during school holidays.)

hail.jpg

Thanks for reading and listening

Images from Pixabay, or by myself or @sift666, unless otherwise stated.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

I remember well hearing the dreadful news of this catastrophe @kiwideb It brought back a lot of memories. I thought the choirs tribute to those who lost their lives and the families concerned was very touching. (I had to tune in via FB) but it was well worth it. The blended harmonies of the choir were a joy to listen to and I could tell it created a very positive atmosphere at the Wellington Railway Station. I've heard the weather has turned very cold in N.Z. and I hope you will get some beautiful weather when you cross the ditch next month.

Yes, it has been very cold this week, and I'm sure we'll enjoy the Brissie warmth. Even though I wasn't there in the video, I thought it was worth sharing since it was such a nice close in video. We threw it together in 2 weeks, so there weren't as many harmonies as usual, but it was nice to be able to hear the ones we had.

I was looking for you but didn't think I recognized you @kiwideb I hadn't heard those songs for many years and I thought the choice was rather poignant considering they were sung by the passengers.......a fact I wasn't aware of. That was a great effort with only 2 weeks practice. I am a fan of good harmony. (I used to sing with my sisters when we were young.)

Nice you have mild Winters. Our turn for the Warm weather. Has been colder than normal this Winter. Spring is late, so will really appreciate it when it warms up. Have fun with the Choir.

I guess we have mild winters compared to other places, and some winters are milder than others. But after the storm this week, maybe this winter will be colder for us too! The choir will keep us all warm inside anyway, over the winter.


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

This piece of History is really unfortunate event and i am praying for the Rest Of Peace, and in my opinion this is really an great ceremony event where people who lost their life, they can be remembered once again. Thanks for sharing and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed.

Thanks for your prayers for those who were lost.

Singing is really a big part of what makes us alive. I really enjoyed your birthday poem and was looking forward to hearing about the party but when I came you I found an unexpected post about a tragedy...

But in the light of your choir I see hope for each and every soul on that boat. If they were singing those songs they are definitely crossing over Jordan.

Thank you for posting a picture of the choir. They look so happy.

To me, the singing to keep up their spirits shows a resilience I'm not so sure we've got any more. Although there were deaths, a lot of those singing did survive, which is to be thankful for. And yes, the choir usually looks happy. We really do love what we do, and I think it shows.

This is good news in the context of a tragedy but something I can think about in my daily life. I know my youngest son has life tough and he sings a lot.

And that reminds me once again of the post I did about the movie about African orphans who had nothing but were still happy. They sang too. I think we talked about this in one of our first ever conversations.

Yes we did and I remember your post well. One of the best experiences in my life was visiting a church in Haiti and singing with them together. I'm always glad when you share about the sounds of New Zealand.

That sounds awesome.

the news is very sad, because the ship is sinking, I feel sorry, may the family left impatient. thank you very much already sharing @kiwideb.

Yes, it was one of the saddest parts of our city's history, especially for the families who lost someone.

Good music selection, are you the one wearing a blue sweater in the middle of the crowd?

I hope my ability to detect faces was on point this time, hehe :)

Um, sorry, actually I was one of the ones not there! If I had to go into the city to work anyway, I would have braved the storm and gone in an hour early to be there. If the weather had been even semi OK, I would have gone into the city, sung and then come home again. But it seemed a bit mad to go out into the storm when I didn't have to. Call me soft...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52