You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Commemorating a day in Wellington’s history

in #history6 years ago

Singing is really a big part of what makes us alive. I really enjoyed your birthday poem and was looking forward to hearing about the party but when I came you I found an unexpected post about a tragedy...

But in the light of your choir I see hope for each and every soul on that boat. If they were singing those songs they are definitely crossing over Jordan.

Thank you for posting a picture of the choir. They look so happy.

Sort:  

To me, the singing to keep up their spirits shows a resilience I'm not so sure we've got any more. Although there were deaths, a lot of those singing did survive, which is to be thankful for. And yes, the choir usually looks happy. We really do love what we do, and I think it shows.

This is good news in the context of a tragedy but something I can think about in my daily life. I know my youngest son has life tough and he sings a lot.

And that reminds me once again of the post I did about the movie about African orphans who had nothing but were still happy. They sang too. I think we talked about this in one of our first ever conversations.

Yes we did and I remember your post well. One of the best experiences in my life was visiting a church in Haiti and singing with them together. I'm always glad when you share about the sounds of New Zealand.

That sounds awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53