Butch and Sundance: The Glory Of Argentina

in #history5 years ago (edited)

cow-grazing-field-patagonia-chile_19485-20596.jpg
source

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

We're in the middle of a series about two of America's most famous and successful outlaws, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. In case you haven't been following the series, the boys have moved to Argentina in South America to start their lives over.

Their plans to build a ranch and cattle, sheep and horse operation were very successful and they were working hard. Not only on the ranch but also working to fit into the local community. The language was their biggest problem for the boys, Etta knew some Spanish and seemed to do fairly well in communicating.

There have been myths about Butch and Sundance being like Robin Hood, only robbing from the rich and then giving to the poor. That is pure fantasy though. They DID rob from the rich corporations but they never gave any of that loot to the poor.

Fitting in

However, in Argentina they gave gold coins to the poor locals in the community. I can't judge their hearts but I have to think that was part of their strategy to gain acceptance and favor with the locals. Knowing their spiritual background I think they probably did have compassion on the poor peasants in the area though.

They also attended local events and fiestas and invited many locals to their home for dinner. Of course Butch, being very outgoing, playful, and fun was a big hit with everyone in spite of his language difficulties. Personality is more important than language and his shown brightly.

Local historians tell us that the community members were very impressed with Sundance's fast draw and excellent marksmanship and he and Butch kept the same American style Cowboy clothes so they stood out from their gaucho counterparts with the wide brimmed hats, baggy pants and high boots.

A custom home

The home which the boys built was also different in style and materials because they built a log cabin while the typical ranch home in Patagonia was made of stone. I think they may have built a cabin because that's what they were used to in the States or possibly made them feel more at home.

We do have a couple of photos because they became friends with the territorial governor and he came to visit them and had a photographer with him. Word is that he was somewhat smitten with the lovely Etta Place like many of them were. The photos aren't very good quality but you get the idea.

bandidos_sundance_etta2.jpg

7999121e2c8cba60777c7b3faa8321ee.jpg
source

The top photo shows Sundance and Etta and the bottom one has Butch there too, I think Butch is on the right but it's so hard to see it doesn't make much difference. Etta had a dog who was always at her side and that's why you see the dog in both photos.

As far as the cabin it was a four room building with four windows but the windows were double hung and imported from the United States, no one else around there had windows that opened. The cabin and barn still stands.

P1030219-2-copy.jpg

P1030220-2-copy.jpg

source

You can tell those guys were doing great at fitting in and building their ranch. They built a bunk house for hired hands, a stable, a chicken coop, a barn, corrals, most think that Butch also had a small separate cabin for himself.

Etta became known as a very gracious host and an excellent cook, especially with Mexican food.

An eye witness account

Local historian Raul Cea, whose dad was a kid and lived close to the homestead said this about them:

"Senora Place had a dog- a Spaniel I think- that went with her everywhere. She was devoted to it. Ryan(Butch, who was using the name Ryan James) was more gregarious than his companions. He also loved to read and frequently borrowed books from English speaking neighbors.

The three were well to do and very cultured. They set a table with a certain etiquette...napkins and china plates. Their windows went up and down."

Wow, can life get any better for Etta and the boys? They have it all! They're fitting in, they're popular, they have money, their ranch is succeeding. They've been there for three years and they're well established.
a0esw215rr.png

I don't know what could possible go wrong do you? We'll find out in the next post.

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!

-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

l1xgphrt5d.png

PS - ya know..you might just be a redneck if:

You drove yourself to elementary school!

uvsylyennv.png

ak059z170l.png

Sort:  

Mexican food? I wonder how she got the ingredients back then. Argentinan food is quite different. Lots of beef, as you might guess!

yes I have no idea. I wonder if that was a specialty of hers before going down there. They said there were quite a few Irish and from other countries there too so that helped as far as being able to talk to them in English.
Did you say you were in Argentina?

I've never been, personally, but knew a girl from there. Her accent was a bit crazy, as they pronounce a lot of words with almost a Portuguese sound.

howdy back sir fotosdenada! yes sir I know, that Portuguese sound can really throw things off! lol...I have no idea what that sound is but I believe you. I just want to move to Patagonia after reading about it.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Howdy esteemapp! Thank you so much for the upvote and for the fine platform!

Waiting for the next one. They look as though they are all set, but this has to end.

howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! Yes sir unfortunately it ends but it didn't to go the way it did and that's the sad part but i'm getting ahead of myself! lol. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Hi janton, does the thrill of robbing come over them? Maybe they get bored with this farming life? I look forward to reading the next chapter because sadly I know the ending of Butch and Sundance.

Howdy today angiemitchell! Well, I can tell you that they did not get bored with the farming and ranching lifestyle! lol. Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

Hey janton, I think that my predicting is not so spot on. I'll wait for the next chapters, haha.

ha! Well it was an excellent guess angiemitchell, I liked it!

They are living the dream and I really hate to see it end! Let's just leave them there and say, 'and they lived happily ever after'! That is so wonderful that you found pictures of them and their cabin and it's really cool that it is still standing!

haha! I could rewrite the ending but then that wouldn't be history that I'm writing about, but it sure is tempting!
I was surprised to find the pictures too. If it was in the United States it would be a big tourist trap!

Ha! Yep. They would build a train track around the place and stage a train robbery 4 times a day. Maybe build a bank just over the hill and rob it on the half hour!

haha! If I ever want to create a tourist trap I'll let you design it! Hey you might be staying up late tonight huh?
I don't know when they stop they're coming out when I go to bed at 2 or 2:30, I might have to stay up later too!

I took couple naps this afternoon just in case! I'm waiting!
I'll design your tourist trap anytime!

ok! I just sent you an email. it's a little bit sad though!

I'm not willing to give up yet!

yes I see that, thank you for that, I won't either until the fat lady sings! where did that expression come from anyway?? lol.

Howdy Janton! How are you? Did you have romantic dinner last night or Mrs.J had to work again.

Anyway, you are probably wondering what was up to, lol. Yesterday, I had appointment at the pain clinic earlier in the day and after I was with my daughter and the boys. Before that you can check my post and read rest of the story there.

And now let's talk about the happy life of the bunch. I am just wondering how come Butch did't find himself a woman there. He was kind of a third wheel, lol. Nevertheless, they had a good life, but how long t will be before the Pinkertons find them. The letter was a huge mistake!!! Oh my gosh!!!

howdy Miss Lena! oh, you did another post? Ok I'll check it out tonight.
Yes, Mrs. J had to work last night, besides she hates Valentines Day and all that romantic stuff, she thinks it's stupid! lol..she's not like any female I've ever met in that regard. She doesn't like flowers or chocolate either!

It sounds like you guys had a good time yesterday, was the weather nice for once?

Regarding Butch and Sundance, yes, that was a mistake but it wouldn't have mattered because of another thing that I will talk about in the next post. It's a total mystery why Butch didn't get a girlfriend there, makes no sense so I don't know the answer to that one.
I don't suppose you have any wild plans for the weekend? lol.

Well, I am not into that romantic non sense on Valentine's myself, although I like chocolate, if it's vegan and I ate one yesterday. My daughter bought it for me, but not for Valentine's . She gave it to me last week. There is a health store by the place where she works ad they have all kinds of delicious vegans chocolates there. I also don't like cut flowers like Mrs J. I prefer them in the garden, except orchids, those I like in a pot. So no, I do not have any wold plans, lol. I have to finally figure out how to use my new camera, so that's what I will be doing.

The weather here is not even worth mentioning anymore, lol, but at least we don't have freezing rain anymore.

Well lets see what's next with Butch and Sundance. I didn't think you would know why Butch didn't find a woman, but I am sure you re wondering too.

Howdy Miss Lena! yes I WAS wondering about Butch, because it makes no sense. I mean he always had girlfriends until then. Maybe he just couldn't find one that he could communicate with well enough?

So you haven't used your new camera yet on your posts?

Vegan chocolate..that shouldn't be hard to make right? Doesn't high quality chocolate only have a few ingredients anyway? But one of them is cow's cream isn't it?

Dark chocolate doesn't have any cows cream, lol. Only milk chocolate, so vegan milk chocolate is made with coconut cream. However, chocolate making require skill and refinement that has to do with the right temperature and quality of the cacao beans and all the ingredients.

Well, I have not use my new camera yet. Hopefully I will soon.

So I guess, Butch remains a mystery as far his connection to women of Argentina, lol.

howdy again Miss Lena! well I know that Dark Chocolate wouldn't have cow's cream, everybody would know that, even me! lol..but hey, coconut cream would be even better but I'm sure it's harder to use and make taste right.
I like the new profile image! You don't even have white hair like I do! You just got tired of your old photo?
Yes, Butch remains a mystery for that portion of his life. For one thing, he was working his tail off building that cattle ranch and operation so I'm sure he didn't have much time.

Well, the new vegan companies are pretty good to get the tastes right on everything. They make those vegan products damn delicious, so they are selling like crazy! Thank God! 😊

Thank you for noticing my new profile photo. You know I just got new haircut, so I took a new photo as well. The one I had so far was already three years old. By the way, did you think I had white hair like you? Well I have only natural white streaks, but I am not totally white yet, lol. How about Mrs. J? What is her hair color? Your hair is very nice Janton.

It looks like Butch was to busy to find a woman, that must be it, 😂

howdy again Miss Lena! "those vegan products damn delicious!" lol..well if they want to increase sales they have to make them taste good huh? I'm so glad that they are. Yes I thought you had white hair by the way your old photo looks but of course that color would not match your age or youthful appearance at all.

I've had this silver-white hair for 20 years, way before someone of my age would have it. But I've been blessed with no hair loss and it's very thick still so I'm thankful for that.
Mrs. J has light brown and blonde hair with a few gray streaks as well.

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 9.59% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy steem-plus! thank you so much for the upvote and for all you do to help others.

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

howdy there my friend steemitboard! I so appreciate you keeping track of all these stats for me!

Good evening Mr Janton, it seems the fellows Butch and Sundance had a very good time in Argentina building their house of sticks - thank goodness nobody came to blow it down. But then if they were paying the locals for protection maybe a house of sticks was all they needed - and much easier an build then trying to chisel out stones.

Fascinating insight as always, I am looking forward already to the next installment.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

haha! howdy sir c0ff33a! Yes sir those guys had it made down there, for awhile anyway! lol. Thanks so much for the kind words and for commenting!

You got a 6.43% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @janton! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 24 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Howdy ocdb! Thank you for the upvote and for the excellent platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34