Authentic Indian Cowboys

in #history6 years ago

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas,
home of several native Indian tribes in times past, most notably the
great Caddo Nation which were located in our very area before the
federal government moved them into the Oklahoma Indian
Territory. I did a series on their rise and fall and rise again.

But today I wanted to talk a little more about Indian cowboys
because of the oxymoron in terminology which that causes! lol.

Many people didn't know there WERE such a thing and yet
Indian cowboys were a consistent percentage of the great Cattle
Drives heading North from Texas for some 20 years.. normally
each crew had at least one Indian drover among them and many
photos I see bear this out.

The transformation for Indians into cowboys is not a big stretch,
in fact it is a logical one given the circumstances of being forced
onto reservations and ending the nomadic lifestyle which many
tribes had, and of course, ending their necessity of being
warriors.

The Indians were, after all, the best horsemen in the world, they
knew animals and how to raise them, they were close to nature
and were the ultimate homesteaders in most regards.

wrensted_american-indian_blanket-cowboy- (1).jpg
Cherokee Kid, rancher and actor source

So when they were forced onto the reservations many of them
started ranches and growing cattle and horses. As hard as the
federal government tried to squash any native traditions which
they had held for thousands of years, most of them kept many
intact while adapting clothing and other White ways of life.

Photos of Indian cowboys and ranchers are rare and there was alot
of scorn toward them in the White world and much discrimination
unfortunately, and for those reasons photos of genuine Indian
cowboys are rare.

What I wanted to share with you today are what I consider to be a
treasure trove of photos taken of authentic Indian cowboys who
owned and worked ranches on reservations. These were taken by
a Dutch lady by the name of Benedicte Wrensted who came to the
United States in the late 1800's and started a photography studio
in Idaho.

benedicte-wrensted.jpg
source

Unlike most photographers who had an agenda in photographing
Indians, many times showing them in a destitute and pitiful state,
she became friends with the Shoshone and Bannock tribes on the
Fort Hall reservation and let them choose how they wanted to be
photographed, in what poses and what clothing.

Here are some photos of her work which are from the U.S. National
Archives.

captain-willie_american-indian-cowboy.jpg

this Indian's name is Captain Willie, his beaded gauntlet gloves
are the type worn by both white and Indian cowboys in the 1800's
especially in rodeos.

geo-cowboy_wrensted_Indian-cowboy.jpg

this cowboy is not identified but the pattern on his chaps are of the
Sho-Ban tribe.

edmo-family_shoshone.jpg

This is Jack Edmo with his wife Lizzie and their kids, they were
prominent ranchers of the Shoshone tribe and chose traditional garb
instead of their everyday ranch working clothes. It's interesting that
on Jack's moccasins is a beaded American flag as noted under the
photo by the Archive!

Here you have a family who is shunned by the outside world and
kept on the reservation and he honors his "captors" by wearing an
image of their flag!

interplay-of-cultures_american-cowboy-indians_fort-hall-reservation.jpg

This beautiful display of traditional and reservation culture shows
three cowboy Indians wearing their reservation hat and other
ranching gear such as vests, cloth shirts and pants and neckerchiefs,
but also shows their necklaces and moccasins. This is a picture that
truly reveals the interplay of culture evident at Fort Hall Reservation.
Look at how tall that guy's hat is!

lemhi-chief-tin-door.jpg

This is a fascinating photo to me..this is chief of the Lemhi tribe
named Chief Tin Door and apparently he likes this white lady! lol.
I don't know what this is about but he must have wanted to
immortalize his affections for her!

dude-indian.jpg

This is a Shoshone named Billy George who chose to go all White
Dude for this photo, unusual to have short hair also. His wife's
name is Weetowsie. Taken in 1890.

Well that's all for today folks, I hope you've enjoyed this glimpse into
the past with some rare photos. Why did it take a woman from the
Netherlands to take classic photos like this? Our disgust with the
Indians, as a whole, was so great that we didn't care. That's sad.

Next post will be about Indian cowboys from the 1800's to the
present which I doubt(as smart as ya'll are)that few have any idea
about and I know you'll like it because it's a story of triumph of the
human spirit against prejudice and oppression.(human spirit wins)

thanks for reading guys, God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

ps- ya know...you might just be a redneck if:

You've spent more on your pickup truck than your education!

Sort:  

Amazing job.

I'm ft hall shoban. And huge history of us before that and continus today.

Yes we are amazing horsemen. I was raised on the back of my best friend. That mare would carry me home after swimming and was very protective. I've not had a horse since her passing.

The ft hall Indian wild horse relay race might be something you could look into. The tribe does post alot. And the videos from that are on YouTube from our powwows this year.

Again. I'm sharing and voting. Nice seeing the truth and family names.

Will you contact me on discord? I might be able to source more ft hall people for you to interview.

Many thanks!

howdy sir ganjafarmer! thanks so much for commenting. I am familar with the Shoban but not with ft hall shoban.
I do mostly Old West and cowboy posts but I when i saw the exciting relay photos online I thought that would be so interesting because people have no idea that they exist!

Those are not part of the Indian rodeos that the INFR hold?
I will contact on discord, thank you!

Oh you are in for a treat!

And yeah hang on. The kind.network banner is clickable. Takes you to my discord room

Spark up Conversation on Discord

k4.jpg

IMG_20180731_000647.jpg

JPEG_20180729_131244.jpg

howdy again ganjafarmer! hey I'm way behind today and trying to catch up so it's going to be awhile before I get back here, might not even be tonight but what's your schedule like most days?

4-6 pm pacific time daily I'm doing the show.

Other than that I'm very free!

And your post is being read on the ft Hall rez.

ok thank you sir. wow how is my post being read on the ft Hall reservation?
how is that possible? lol.
What is the ft? what does that mean? does the nation have a website?

Fort hall. And the link was sent to family and passed around the reservation and I'm seeing if our family can get more about the unknown picture. And Billy George? Well the George family is well known and William George is a name that rings a bell. Will ask about it.

And yeah you can talk with the tribe but they are very closed door about the heritage and history. I've asked a few times about getting them here... Maybe one day. Until then? Oh fine article sir! Was raised on the back of a horse since I was a baby. And our connection to both horses and dogs is very deep. And training methods are unparalled in my opinion. We really bond and respect our companions.

And the reason Shoshone warrior was a great cattleman? Well unmatched horsemanship and bravery. Other tribes respected the Shoshone enough that the cattle drive would be safer than ones with other tribe involvement. And the reach of the Shoshone nation spanned the entire Oregon trail.

Had the 1806 treaty with Lewis and Clark expedition been ratified? The Shoshone made it possible. In return we were to be honored as an ally and recognized our borders.

Currently we have to operate on the 1868 Jim Bridger treaty... The kid from the revenant and Hugo Glass Saga.

Personally? Well done! And nominating you for Earth Tribe. Besides would love to have you on my daily show...

thanks so much sir ganjafarmer...oh of course, Fort Hall in Idaho I think it is, sorry about that duh! lol. I got your discord channel up now but i see that you are off, I'll click your name when it is green, I'm just learning how to get around in discord.

howdy again sir ganjafarmer! thank you so much for this website, I love this thing, I am so buried in projects right now but I will eventually read every word. Does the Reservation have good internet and everyone has computers?

You found some great photos this time. I do always look at old pictures and wonder what was going on at the time. The back story is an intrigue.

as i mentioned above looks like a paid gig or wild bill type show if not an outright slave situation. chief is a bit farfetched imo. i tagged a tribal member to hopefully give some insight.

Thank you so much for the insight. I will go see your above comment and follow the story with great interest.
It is a shame the museums do not provide better information.

lets see if my tag gets an answer below, under my comment. i just posted it. indians for one dont trust archeologists and especially museums lol

Well thank you. I feel pretty honored that you choose to share so we can learn more of the true history.

Now that picture of Billy George, that is something different. Hey, maybe he realized having short would be a lot easier to maintain than long hair, and cooler in the summer!

howdy hebrewhousewife! well, that would be so interesting to know, on the information from the National Archives it said that an Indian agent called him "the dude Indian" because he always wore nice white man's shirts and coats unless he was working on the ranch. So I thought that was interesting, he really liked our style of clothing or was trying hard to fit in when he left the ranch.
too bad we can't interview these people. I just never see any photos of Indians with short hair from that period.
thanks so much for commenting, do you have a post today?

People used the word “dude” during that time? Interesting. I’m sure we could learn a lot if we could interview them.
Yes sir I did. I’ll be interested to see what you think too.

hebrewhousewife! yes the quote with the word dude in it was a quote from 1890 by an Indian agent so I was really surprised that he called the Indian the "dude" Indian! lol. who'd a thought.
as far as your post, yeah I don't know, that's one that mepatriot should know about, I don't know what they want with all this info but it sure isn't safe with them, that cracked me up when I saw that.
so I don't know but I'm with you, don't trust them.

Really enjoyed the photos janton, I bet there are lots of stories that are forever hidden, like good juicy ones - haha

haha! yes Ma'am too bad we don't have any lengthy interviews of these Indians, that would be fascinating, thanks so much for commenting.

Hey thanks @janton. I really enjoyed this post. She did a lovely job.

thanks so much squirrelbait I agree, I just more magazines or newspapers back then would have taken more photos and done more interviews.

Me too! I wonder what people in the future will think of all the info we gather and post, assuming the data can be read by future software.

This made me smile (loved the pics) and feel sad for what the government did to the Indians. I can’t wrap my mind around it.

howdy this fine Monday night thefarmerswife!yes Ma'am everyone was sick of them and just wanted them out of the way or gone.

what a shame, it sure wasn't God's plan I know that, many of the tribes, probably most of them were willing to work with us and adapt and integrate and think what we could have learned from them in terms of natural medicines and herbs, working with nature and so on.

These are some beautiful photos. @janton
great history write up

howdy there rebeccabe..thanks so much, I guess I'm a dinosaur but I love old vintage photos, especially if they are rare like these. I mean no one took photos of the Indians on the reservations like that, people didn't care about the Indians, most people just wanted them gone instead of working together and learning from each other.
thanks so much for commenting.

I learned a little bit of history lesson today. :-)

good morning sir quotes-haven! yes sir well alot of people probably did it they read the post because how many people know that there were full-blooded Indian cowboys? did you? We never saw them in Hollywood or tv and that's where most of us get our impressions of the Old West. thank you sir.

Ultimate homesteaders indeed! Thanks for another wonderful historical post

good morning buckaroo! thank you so much...well I love old vintage photos and to be able to study the people in them but I didn't know if readers would find it boring or not.
When South Africa was "settled" by whites, were there a forcing out of the native peoples? I don't think I've ever heard stories about that.

Not at all! Except for small villages of the San people most of the country was uninhabited except for the wild animals. The first encounter with black tribes was in a very isolated area. Of course the media don't tell THAT version. They always give the impression that the poor native blacks were forced from their homes. Not true! The biggest dispute over land back then was actually between the British and Dutch settlers.

What a wonderful and special collection of photos! It is remarkable that someone took the time and the care to make them and archive them for future generations to enjoy! Thank you for sharing this fabulous series with #steemitbloggers 💙

howdy this fine Tuesday thekittygirl! I've seen you around from time to time but I'm not sure where..are you in Asher's Engagement League? I see that you are also in the Alliance too! I just got into the playground but don't know how to work that, haven't contacted anyone.

I must say..your blog background image is one of the most striking that I've seen!
Thanks so much for the kind words about the post, I love vintage photos but didn't know if people would be bored with them. To me they are a treasure, a look into the past of a type of people group that we know little about because we just wanted them gone or at least out of the way
even though they were proud, noble, and we could have learned so much from them! so thank you and God bless you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61757.84
ETH 2985.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48