Borage; a paradigm shift

in #herbs7 years ago

@likedeeler's interesting post on paradigm shifts yesterday had me thinking and I recalled one from childhood. I would like to share this non-fiction post out of deep respect for all home schoolers on the Ecotrain, whatever their reasons for home schooling.

https://steemit.com/beachwednesday/@likedeeler/beach-wednesday-paradigm-shift-in-the-philippines

Matlock Bath, in the UK's Peak District

I was 11. We'd just moved to the Peak District. The city school I'd left behind was practically a free school: not so, surprisingly, in the country! I was not adapting well to the stricter, dumbed-down regime so found solace in wandering the nature on my own.

High Tor, Matlock Dale - geograph.org.uk - 426617

Limestone country means crumbly outcrops and lukewarm springs. A Catholic child, I would find a grotto and pray to the Virgin Mary that God would take my soul before school on Monday.

The Great Masson Cavern

That day, I caught a glint of blue from a neighbour's garden. Virgin Mary blue. I bent down. And borage, the herb of happiness and courage, burst upon me:

Borage starflower Rohtopurasruoho 02

I'd never seen anything like that flower in the city. I gazed for long minutes before running home for my Pocketbook of Wild Flowers.

I ran into our small terraced garden. It was damp. The mountain winds were cold around my ears. I could smell soil and wild garlic. I called my mum out from the kitchen.

I was going to grow herbs.

I didn't even know what herbs were, other than the obvious (Paxo sage and onion stuffing mix; Parsley the Lion; Scarborough Fair) but from that borage moment I knew I had to grow them.



My mum's friend was growing a few in pots. It was a mile up the hill but I'd have walked ten. I picked up marjoram, tarragon and a book and took to the hedgerows and fields with a trowel.

School was more bearable knowing there were herbs. Herbs filled lonely lunch breaks and weekends. I liked medicinal ones so made a cardboard filing system covered in wrapping paper, even though no one in my family was ever ill. But they did enjoy my nettle soup.

By age 13 I was even more unhappy at another school. I was taken to doctors, who found "nothing wrong". Age 14, my parents tried homeschooling. We made it for a year before the local Education Authority put its foot down.

But in that year off, I had my freedom back and was happier than ever. With the borage.

We were by then living in green belt: the garden was a long and narrow strip behind a miner's cottage. I dug out clay, cleared patches and set paths. By then I had 80 different varieties (hedgerows were richer in those days). It was a bit of a mess: the neighbours called it a "weed garden" and not everything thrived (like coastal samphire in Potteries clay - that's how you learn I guess) but as long there were herbs then everything was OK.


School never got any better; I skipped lessons in the hedgerows. When it came to 16, I was asked about careers. Of course I said "herbalist". But there was no internet and no one knew how to advise a 16-year-old girl who wanted to be whatever it was a herbalist did. I was directed to the Weleda herbal cosmetics factory. But no one thought to mention the herb garden and I didn't ask so I missed it; besides, I had my own garden and didn't want to work in the factory - I wanted to be a herbalist!

Like my school friends: Nicholas Culpeper and John Gerard.


By 16, though, boyfriends were arriving. School never got any better but then there was punk and another variety of herb and university and you know how it is.

But that little blue star flower had triggered a paradigm shift to somehow support a young person maladjusted through the systematic assaults on her freedom that were called state schools. So John Gerard was right when he wrote:

"Ego Borago, Gaudia semper ago (I, Borage, bring always courage*)....

Those of our time do use the flowers in sallads to exhilerate and make the mind glad. There be also many things made of these used everywhere for the comfort of the heart, for the driving away of sorrow and increasing the joy of the minde."

Which is what, is it not, education and schools are supposed to do?

Thank you, home schoolers.

(Nearly all images in this post were taken from Pixabay or Wikipedia, and credited.)


Check out the ecoTrain highlight posts, showcasing our amazing passengers every week
https://steemit.com/nature/@eco-alex/ecotrain-post-highlights-5th-july-12th-august-2017-more-amazing-content-every-week


Sort:  

I love borage!!! I love to eat it and look at it. I see so much of my own life in this story... Plants saving my life...thanks for sharing this story!

Oh thanks, @omdemian I'd LOVE to hear your stories, too. I hope we'll hear some herby ones soon :)

What a beautiful flower!

I HAD to upvote that :)

Interesting story and beautiful flower...

Amazing post interesting reading about your story😊 and I just Love the flowers 👍👌✌️
Beautiful and so useful 😊lol
Upvoted had no choice.. Hahaha

Thank you, @saffisara. I'm heading to check you out too - I KNOW I will like things you've been posting <3

My pleasure @healingherb 😊 and thank you for your kind words, means a lot ❤️

I did check out the ecotrain 👍 amazing I had to resteem it. So much greatness in one post.

I'm suggesting to anyone interested in the ecotrain to contact @eco-alex. I'm not sure if he's recruiting at the mo and he is very busy but I will copy him this message :)

That's really amazing 😊 I do follow him sence a while back but thanks for the reminder 👍
He is doing a great job

Congratulations @healingherb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you @steemitboard - I upvoted you :)

Very unique and attractive post, thanks for sharing. I wasn't sure what borage was, but now I know, lovely.

Thank you for your kind comment, @clumsysilverdad :)

Beautifully written! I had a full illustration in my mind as the words flew before my eyes! That, is how a story should be! Thank you for sharing with me! It reminded me of my childhood garden I built hidden in the edge of the woods where a spring came out of the ground and created a bubbling brook that flowed to the nearby river. I enjoyed remembering my garden... Thank you for stirring it up!

Thank you for that lovely feedback. I also had a garden in the country near a brook - there were violets in those woods :)

Loved your story, I had a similar one growing up. A borage popped up in my garden all by its sweet self right next to my tomato plant. I love the magic of flowers and herbs. I love how you can pin pint the time and flower that started your journey into your passion. Thank you for this post and for writing it so openly.

Thank you. That borage must have looked beautiful by your tomatoes....giving them some happiness and courage :)

This is such a lovely post! Your photos are fantastic, and I love your description of your younger self wanting to be an herbalist. It's scary to imagine how industrially reared adults at that time would have no idea what an herbalist was, and direct you to the cosmetics factory!

Thanks @stortebeker. Yes, it's amazing, isn't it? But it's true! However, they were right to do that because it had a lovely herb garden....maybe that was my missed opportunity? But it all worked out :)

Did you get to work in the herb garden? I imagined they sent you to work with all sorts of chemical compounds in bottles, because they may have had some herbal ingredients. But if the herbs were real, and you had the opportunity to take care of them, then it couldn't have been so bad after all.

Unfortunately, I didn't @stortebeker. Looking back, it would have been perfect but things don't always work out that way.....probably for a reason, tho - no regrets here :)

I liked your post so much I included it in my Look What I Found! curation series. Take a look: https://steemit.com/curating/@stortebeker/old-school-style-beekeeping-alcohol-distilling-and-discovering-the-herbalist-within

Thank you so much @stortebeker! Excuse my belated thanks - I'm on and off Steemit.

Beautiful, I want to go there and I don't wait to long.

Thank you. You sound like a bot but appear to be a real person. If you mean the Peak District, then yes it is very beautiful and I'm sure it would be happy to see you visit it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29