Beach Wednesday - Paradigm Shift in the PhilippinessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beachwednesday7 years ago

20170809_191415.jpg

This picture was taken in 1996, on Boracay, Philippines, during my time as a diving instructor at Lapu Lapu Diving.
The original is a print from which I created this picture with my mobile.
While it is not much of a beach foto, I chose it to support my story.
The guy in the white T-shirt is me, by the way.


In his book “The seven habits of highly effective people“ Stephen Covey talks about paradigm shifts .
He gives examples of paradigm shifts, in the psychological sense of the term, meaning radical changes in personal beliefs.
One example is the conversation between a US Navy commander and some Spaniards where at the end the commander surely had an enlightening paradigm shift.
This conversation became quite famous in the internet later as in this video for example.


Now my own paradigm shift was not so funny, it took place one day in 1996 at Lapu Lapu Diving Center.

Two Japanese divers were sitting at one of the tables you see in the picture, talking to each other in Japanese.
Suddenly an old man came along the road in front of the dive shop, which would be to the right side of the picture. He came very close to those tables but stayed on the road, so not entering the premises of the shop. He had long filthy grey hair, dirty torn cloth and a dirty face.

Since even the poorest of people in the Philippines always take great care of their appearance in public I knew immediately that something was wrong with him, and immediately he proved me right.

He started to snarl something in the local vernacular towards the Japanese. I did not understand the meaning of his rant, but common sense told me that it were no pleasantries, and the Japanese were under the same impression.

Rage started to crawl up along the spine towards my brain.
„What the fuck is wrong with this guy? Leave them Japanese alone, you bum!“, I thought to myself, feeling the need to protect our customers against this obviously deranged guy.

Japanese are in general very polite people. They sensed that something was not ok, but did not know how to react properly. They looked over to me, who was still behind the counter, their eyes begging for assistance.

Having been in Asia for almost four years already at that time, I had learnt to not jump to conclusions and to always get a second opinion, preferably from a local, in case of conflict.
So, with barely conceiled indignation, I asked Grace, the Filippina wife of the dive shop owner, who had watched the whole show calmly from a distance „Who is this guy?“

Even today, more than twenty years later, her answer brings tears to my eyes.

„This is Antonio. The Japanese killed his parents in front of him during the war when he was still a child.“ she said matter-of-factly.

Now imagine my paradigm shift.
Words can hardly describe this cocktail of emotions running through me.
First of all shame.
Shame because I, in my self-righteous way, had failed to see the suffering of this poor man.
Then compassion. After understanding that this man was still traumatized by his terrible experience, still a child caught in a time capsule of dissociation, triggered by the sound of the language the murderers of his parents spoke, what else could I feel but compassion.
Then rage again.
Not against him, but against some diffuse something which makes those terrible things happen, the dark side or whatever.
Helplessness! What to do now? How to react?
I honestly don´t remember how the situation got resolved. I think it was something utterly unspectacular, like somebody he knew calling him away or something like that.

There memory fails me, but I remember this rollercoaster of emotions like it was today.

Sort:  

What a experience! Thank you so much for sharing. Sure, there is no "reasonless" aggression in the world. And so we have lots of reason to anwer with compassion.

A few years later Leticia, my Filippina step-mom, told me, how she and her mom were sitting on their matrace on top of the rice storage while Japanese soldiers were searching the house. Her elder brother, who was fighting with the Philippine guerilla against the Japanese, had hidden some guns under the rice. Luckily the Japanese did not find them.

According to your video: there is the real tape on youtube, which I find much better.

Thought about it, but decided against it, because of the audio quality.

very lucky, yes.
PS: in case you´re moving to india, please, take me with you!

So the scales fell away from your eyes. (@likedeeler sounds as if you speak many languages) Thank you for sharing that video, too. Your experience reminded me of starting a new term as a teacher to asylum seekers in the 1990s. In fact, you've inspired me to write more about this because I can think of a few more similar paradigm shifts (when i say similar I mean related to awareness of what happens to people during a war, particularly).

Great post dude! I can only imagine the sharp change of emotions you experienced in this experience.

Yes, that was quite something.
That´s what travelling gives you, memorable moments.
Nobody said they would be all pleasant.

So much lesson here. Thank you for sharing! Even an old story has relevance. Keep sharing!

Thank you! Yes, I will keep sharing.
I never thought, I would write much on steemit, but I´m starting to like it.
It´s such a nice and supportive community here.

Thanks for sharing this here at beachwednesday! It really caught me,,.there are really bad things happening in this world :( - For how long did you live in Asia?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01