Save your pennies - DIY Homemade Deodorant

in #health6 years ago

Chemicals and armpits

If you rub a garlic clove (like the ones from this recipe) in your feet, after some minutes you'll taste it in your mouth. Crazy, right? We tend to think of our skin like a barrier, but it's actually a huge organ that needs to be cared for and it's deeply connected with our well-being. So why are there so many dangerous chemicals in our regular shower gels and shampoos and stuff? Some of them are scientifically proven to be dangerous for you and for the planet, and if you happen to eat them you may be in deep trouble. It just doesn't make any sense, and that's why I started buying organic, vegan, fair-trade soaps made only with vegetable oils and essencial oils. I even clean my house with non-toxic, safe, homemade stuff.

But deodorant... That was a difficult step. Most "deodorants" that we find in the stores are actually anti-perspirants that clog our sweat glands through aluminium or zirconium and simply prevent sweating. Some studies have suggested relationships between anti-perspirants and breast cancer; kidney malfunctions; and some other problems. I've been using these "anti-perspirants" since I remember so it caught my attention. DNA mutation and uncontrolled growth of cancer cells? No thanks.


Deodorant_2.jpg

But if you're thinking about switching to real deodorant (that lets your body sweat but then kills bacteria that enjoys your fatty sweat, neutralizing the smell), I should warn you about an adaptation period: our body has A LOT of toxins to get rid of after years of clogged glands. You'll probably need to put deodorant twice a day for about one week before your body regulates itself. And after that you'll have no crazy stuff in your armpits, no smell at all and you'll actually feel better.

For me, the major problem with the switch was the price of these natural deodorants. I was paying about 9€ (11$) for each stick made out of herbs, beeswax, baking soda and some other easy-to-find ingredients. I thought "9€?... U crazy? I'm gonna bake this shit myself". And I tried. And failed. So I quit and continued paying money like crazy to avoid cancer (or kidney failure). Until last week I found this post by @llfarms on How To Make Your Own Herbal Deodorant. It seemed so simple that I had to try again. And it's so cheap that I made some maths at the end of the post for you.

Homemade cheap bio deodorant

Ingredients

(with translation to portuguese)

30g (2Tbsp) – Organic Unrefined Coconut Oil - Óleo de coco
20g (4tsp) – Organic Raw Shea Butter - Manteiga de Karité
10g (2tsp) – Olive Oil - Azeite
20g (4tsp) – Beeswax - Cera de Abelha
15g (3tsp) – Arrowroot Powder - Amido de Milho
15g (3tsp) – Baking Soda - Bicarbonato de sódio
Essencial oils of choice (I used the ones I had at home: Tea Tree and Lemon)

How to make

It's so easy that you'll regret even having brains:

In a jar put the shea butter, the beeswax and the coconut oil. Put that jar inside a pot of water (double boiler) and BURN IT WITH THE FLAMES OF HELL like a boss. Let it melt and then add the baking soda and the arrowroot powder. Mix and add the olive oil and the essencial oils. Take it off the boiler and put it in a container you can use with fingers or spatula. You can also buy or reuse an old roll-on container.

Deodorant.jpg

Deodorant_1.jpg

Done. Easy. Cheap. Safe.

Now to maths

184g organic coconut oil - 3€ -> (30x3)/184 = 0.48€
120g organic shea butter - 12€ -> (20x12)/120 = 2€
90g organic beeswax - 3€ -> (20x3)/90 = 0.66€
200g organic arrowroot starch - 1.5€ -> (15x1.5)/200 = 0.11€
500ml organic olive oil - 7€ -> (10x7)/500 = 0.14€
1kg Baking Soda - 1.5€ -> (15x1.5)/1000 = 0.02€

TOTAL = 3.41€

I was paying this much for the same thing:


screenshot
Source

i-could-have-5a9ae0.jpg


DQmS1SF61LjKWUuHRToDmXTHysQHtjsBLomDLTnuw58UsPJ_1680x8400.png

Here are some of my last posts, check them out!

My Dear Devil - A short story based on the idea "A reverse werewolf: a wolf that turns human on the full moon"

Improving Autonomy - Some ideas on how to develop autonomy in today's schools

My Recipe for Soy Bolognese - A delicious vegan recipe for soy bolognese!


If you enjoyed this post please consider:
upvote follow resteem
Source: @runicar


Sort:  

Yay! So glad you made this! Thank you for the shout out ❤

I "adapted" it to what I had, but I did order the herbs and next time I'll try to infuse the olive oil as you did :) some herbs are difficult to get in Europe (witch hazel for example!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41