Healing Allergies Using the Power of Thought (And Some Locally Raised Honey)

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2017-08-12 at 1.55.46 PM.png

After trying the power of positive thinking for about forty years, I finally cured myself of the allergies that had tormented me for most of my life by using actual positive thoughts, and locally produced raw honey.

I had severe allergic reactions to pollen when I was younger. While my mind and I had initially decided to eliminate my allergy suffering using positive thought, my body seemed to have a different plan, and every year during the month of May, my eyeballs would itch all the way around to the back inside of my skull while I sneezed and sniffed in misery. I positively thought that I would sneeze my own head off at times during those spring days.

Positive Thinking!

So why did I still believe that my body is the shadow of the mind, and that my biological functions were dictated by my thoughts? Why, even as my eyeballs took turns lighting up my nerves with their fiery weeping, did I embrace such magical thinking when it had failed to work for me? I think I’ll blame my grandmother.

I was about seven years old when it happened: I was at my grandmother’s house one day, and during our conversation she suggested that the things that I think about the most often would be the very things that would then precipitate into my world. Intrigued, I asked her then, if I thought about a toy for long enough, then I would be able to play with that toy for real?

She then repeated that the thoughts that we entertain would be the ones that we would end up bringing into reality. Curious, I imagined a toy for a minute, and then later that day I actually found that very toy in her hall closet. I was immediately sold on the idea of creative visualization, and I excitedly showed her what I had manifested.

She didn’t seem convinced that I had gotten it, as I recall, and it was many years later when I found out where she got the philosophy that I’d so willfully inherited. As a family, we went to church on Sundays when I was little, but while my parents dragged us children to a plain old Presbyterian church, my grandmother preferred her own church, the Unity Church, founded by Charles and Myrtle Fillmore.

photo (6).JPG

Charles Fillmore and the Unity Church

My grandmother is gone now, but her church is still around today. The Unity church, based in Kansas City Missouri, is a multi-denominational church that embraces any religion or school of thought that hints at the true nature of the physical world of creation, and their teachings include the notion of spiritual healing and the power of thought in the making of an individual’s reality. Unity Church (not Unitarian) was derived from a nineteenth-century group called the New Thought Movement, which studied the human mind in a way that was, and still is, generally condemned by the big-name Christian Church as being the devil's work. We are not supposed to think that we can possess divine abilities, because the Church would lose business if people started thinking that way.

While my parents meant the very best for their children, they knew no better than to indoctrinate me into their Presbyterian church, but my grandmother liked her Unity church, and I liked my grandmother.

My Magic Didn’t Work

For many years I walked around creating reality, but with all of that power at my command, I could never seem to overcome my allergy problem. What was going on? Was ‘creative visualization’ a real thing, or was I buying into an old-but-wrong belief system? I rubbed my eye with the back of my hand and wondered if I’d been wrong my whole life-- that I actually had no control or even influence on my reality, and that I had possibly been delusional, blindly believing in something that sounded fantastic, but something for which I had no tangible evidence.

A Visit to the Family Doctor

My parents didn’t have a lot of money, and when they took me to the family doctor to see about solving my allergy problem, the doctor said that I was allergic to pollen, and that he could perform a series of tests-- expensive tests-- to discover which specific plants were bothering me. On the way home from that visit, my mom told me that the doc had actually suggested that in time, my body might build up a natural resistance to the offending pollen. Further, she suggested that if I believe that my body could evolve in such a way, that my attitude would help the natural healing process along. Here we go again! I believed that she was right though, and our family budget insisted that she be right, as opposed to paying the prohibitive medical costs simply to find out which plants I should be avoiding forever.

Doing It Wrong

As it turned out, forty years later-- forty lovely spring seasons spoiled by allergies, I was doing it wrong. I hadn’t envisioned myself being healthy, I had only dreaded the spring every year, imagining another season of itching and sneezing. If our thoughts are real things, waiting for enough mental support to allow them to pop into reality, then I was creating a world where I had allergies in the springtime, and each year I was dwelling on the fear that I would never get over the affliction. Over the years, my allergy symptoms did become less acute, but the sneezing and itching persisted, to my great disappointment.

photo (7).JPG

The Belief in the Power of Honey

A few years ago I read about the health benefits of honey-- specifically the claim that locally harvested honey could help a person with their seasonal allergies. This seems logical actually-- honey harvested in the region where the allergy sufferer lives contains pollens from all of the local flowers and weeds, and so if we ingest these particular geometric shapes-- the little soccer-balls would eventually be recognized by our immune systems, harmonizing with the foreign frequencies instead of generating dissonance and a defensive resistance to the unfamiliar shapes.

The geometric/musical explanation made sense to me, and what’s more, I believed that honey would have no choice but to retune my body to my environment in this geometric fashion, or that through entrainment, my body would be compelled to sing along in tune. I had already noticed that the honeysuckle and privet hedges (which seemed to be the spring blossoms which were affecting me), were also a favorite of the honeybees. I like honey, and it occurred to me that medicine-- the best medicine-- would be one that the patient already likes, and shouldn’t necessarily taste like we might expect a healthy food to taste; it might be just as sweet as honey!

I started buying a raw (not homogenized, or cooked) local honey, produced about an hour away but within this same rather subtropical climate, with similar vegetation and wildflowers, and I bought a little plastic bear squeeze-bottle, filled it up and began squeezing honey by the tablespoon into everything.

I began making daily smoothies containing a huge dollop of local honey as a sweetener, drinking this potion every day. Whether it was a placebo effect, or if it was musical cellular geometries at work, or if it was simple bee magic that was doing it’s thing, I finally experienced my first springtime with no allergic symptoms a few years ago.

Conclusion

Maybe we do create the universe with our thoughts. If so, then maybe we’ve all been doing it wrong. When a mother frets, and says aloud “Oh, I hope little Johnny doesn’t catch the latest death virus going around”, is she inadvertently making exactly such a world by putting it into the world as a thought? Are we affecting our world, and are we also affecting the realities of other beings?

I solved my allergy problems in the real world, but I am uncertain where the credit really should go. I’ll begin by thanking my grandmother, and then I’d like to thank the bees and their honey. After that I would thank Charles and Myrtle Fillmore for giving my grandmother the idea that thoughts are heavy things, destined to coordinate into reality when repeatedly imagined. I thank my mom for saving us all some money on doctor’s bills, and for reintroducing the idea that our bodies are self-healing devices, and that we can either assist that or deter health, depending on our thoughts surrounding our healing and maintenance of our health. Finally I would thank our family doctor, who actually admitted that his services in this case were completely unnecessary and overpriced, and that it was possible that I could simply heal myself instead. Thanks doc!


thanks for reading along as always, don’t forget to give a nice up-vote if you enjoyed this piece, and go and find some local honey no matter what, it will be a way of supporting a local business and, believe it or not, may have health benefits.

Image credits: All images in this post are mine


@therealpaul

Sort:  

Glad you overcome it with the help of honey and positivity. Honey indeed has a wonder of benefits. Cheers.

Yes and it helps that I already like honey! Thanks.

You're welcome :)

Very little is needed to make a happy life; it is all within us, in our own way of thinking.

Funny thing that from a medical perspective honey increases the risk of allergies since it kills most bacteria but leaves clostridium alive. I would blame music for the improvement.

Now I didn't even know that bacteria and allergies were related, but I have heard of it's antibiotic properties.

Very interesting story about your life. You were suffering from allergies, feel sorry to hear that but now you're good it's all good. Yes honey has the great medicinal value, in our country the use of honey is so vast that people have the faith that it can cure Allmost all types of physical problems such as flu ,snizzing, cough, skin problems etc. Your grandma and your mom knew the truth about the secret of our imuno system that our body itself have it's healing process and power. Any way ,the greatest question is that you are quite good now, ends well is all well. Great informative post, Great job. Thank you so much, I hear from you. Have a great time ,wish you good luck and sound health ,by the way my brother is a doctor if you have some quary you can tell me, .Happy steeming friend, be happy thanks.

Yes I am well now, no allergies for a number of years now, thank you. I am fortunate to have had those influences in life, I feel. That's nice that you have a doctor in your family to ask questions. I haven't had a lot of time here, and I'm just now able to pause and reply, I'm glad that you commented, and happy to hear from you as always.

It's my pleasure. You are busy enough, but I have lots of ideal time, feeling bored what to do.I feel better now by reading your reply. Thanks for sharing with me, have a great time friend.

Hi friend I am again coming to you. I need your help to help some of flood effected people, so please come to my post and do what ever you want to do. Thanks, have a happy time.

I was allergic to pollen for a while until I moved to another less damp city. Now I feel very good, upvoted

I think the plant that was giving me trouble year after year was the vines of honeysuckle that grow around this region, and I always liked the aroma in the spring. The first year that I felt no allergies was a surprise though, I'd forgotten that I ever had troubles until I smelled the honeysuckle that year with no sneeze!

The greatest pleasure of life is to realize what others think you are unable to achieve.
Walter Bagehot
Followed & resteemed & Upvoted

I know that feeling well! Thanks

I am a great believer in positive thinking. I am plagued with the itchy eyes particularly. I might have to try and get a hold of some good honey and start imbibing and believing!

I used to squeeze my eyes shut tight and roll my eyes around to scratch them all over, all through the merry month of May. There is most likely beekeepers near your area that sell honey that holds the right geometries for you. I tried believing for a long time-- it was when I knew that the honey would tune me up that I was able to finally forget my allergies.

I will be checking out the local honey produce. I am a big believer in it. When I had glandular fever many moons ago it helped hugely!

I rub my eyes with balled fists and it leaves them in a total state. Its hard not to

Yep, I remember the double fist action on the old eyeballs. I don't think that it takes a lot of honey to make a difference, just daily persistence with at least a tbsp was my approach.

Oh man, your grandmother was so insightful! I think if she were alive today, she would be raking up all the STEEM. We talked about manifesting thoughts to reality before so you know my sentiment about that. I really love the idea of the Unity Church, I really wish there was something like that here. It's awesome that it promotes inclusion and compassion for different beliefs. The world could use a little more of those. Scratch that, the world could use a lot more of those.

I'm the same way with allergies, though my poison is dust, which I think is just as or even more prevalent than pollen. Mine hits me during the rainy season, which is, uh, right about now. I'm no stranger to red swollen eyes and sneezing as a means of communication. I wish you had posted sooner about your allergies so I would've suggested honey. I have taken to honey since two years ago, right about the time I started embracing alternative medicine and acupuncture. It's a miracle, isn't it? You nailed the explanation there, but I just wanted to add that it's also anti-inflammatory, which is a big thing against allergies.

You really get your point across so effectively, brother. Humor really goes a long way. Nicely done post as always!

Thankfully I'm not bothered by dust, I have dust on everything around here! I had a friend say once, "It's always Halloween at Paul's house." I can't remember ever actually going to my grandmother's Unity church, but if I had to attend church it would be my choice. There is still one in this town, but the internet makes a fine church for my Pantheistic studies. Thanks for noticing the humor in the article, I always wonder if my sense of humor is appropriate, but I try to sneak it in there when I can!

It's a good way to weed out likeminded people. Those who get your humor is almost always a great way to find out if you'll get along or not. In this platform, when the spam averages by 10, it's great to keep a gallery of people you get to have normal conversations with haha

Yes I finally made a list of Steemers who I decided must be human, one of the clues is when I find humor in their words. Bots and spammers tend to have a poor sense of humor!

Haha! Bots don't usually reply, while spammers become violent when they're called out. Some of them feign innocence, but yeah haha They're far from it.

Another nice post with great info about our health from @tharealpaul
I think your post is very useful to us..
I always appreciate your post my dear friend

Upvited and resteemed

Happy steeming...keep it up post..
thanks..

Thanks @dinisanda, I'm happy that it is useful.

hey this is a very nice article to write about. thanks for sharing. check this out
https://steemfollower.com/?r=1768

Nice try, but smells like spam to me- thanks for the vote anyway:
Screen Shot 2017-08-11 at 7.30.55 PM.png

Also, I did NOT "check this out", as I'm wondering why I should. Why should I? What's up? What is it? Is it related to this topic at all? Let me know soon!

photo (7).JPG
These are pictures from the article, how about that!

Am I cluttering things up here? It's too bad, I was testing these images looking for a file that would show the images in the feed, and I found one, so thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59727.23
ETH 2674.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44