HICCUPS FOR 3 DAYS -- What Are They and How Did He Stop Them?? --

in #health7 years ago

Imgur

Hiccups For Days

A few years back, my friend showed up to my place with a bout of hiccups. We laughed every minute or two when he would hiccup mid-sentence. He mentioned that he had been hiccuping for several hours and that he believed the hiccups came from eating to quickly. He was hungry and ate his lunch very fast that day. It was soon after that he began his bout of hiccups. He tried the usual stuff to try to stop them but nothing worked.

He slept with hiccups that night and went to work the next day with hiccups. When he stopped by my place after work the next day, he was still hiccuping. I thought this was strange, a whole day of hiccups. Being the Internet Google Geek that I am, I quickly jumped on the Internet and started searching. I quickly had him try some of the different techniques that I was reading.

"Drink Water through a straw, and plug your ears,"
"Nope."
"Try a spoonful of sugar,"
"Hiccup."
"Ok, try something sour like vinegar,"
"Hiccup!"

Imgur

It went on like that for several hours with no results. He crashed on the couch that night because he could not make it home. He did not sleep well that night from the hiccups. A couple of friends and I marveled at watching him sleep and hiccup through it. He went to work the next morning and he still had the hiccups. Then he showed back up after work, he was still hiccuping. By now I mentioned to him that he probably should go see a doctor, but he refused since he did not have insurance, and did not think it was a medical concern.

So I then continued researching all I could on hiccups and techniques to get rid of them. He tried everything. Nothing seemed to work. He left home that night sad and hiccuping. By now he was exhausted and sore. He said he could not eat or sleep well. That night he had the hiccups all night and awoke with the hiccups the next morning. That night I had continued to do a lot of research and learned all I could about hiccups.

What Are They and Why Do We Hiccup?

Hiccups actually involve quite a few muscle reactions to take place within milliseconds. Although medical science still can not fully explain what can trigger a hiccup or an episode of hiccups, it does explain that the Vagus Nerve is involved in hiccuping. The Vagus Nerve sends a signal to the Brain, which then sends signals to other parts of the body such as the diaphragm (stomach muscle), the larynx (throat/tongue) and other muscles to create that "hiccup" sound when the muscles contract and the throat closes. Since hiccups occur only in milk drinking mammals and more so in nursing young, scientists hypothesize that it is a self burping mechanism while suckling.


Hiccups are categorized into three groups: Normal, persistent (over 48hrs) and Intractable (lasting more than a month). At this point my friends hiccups were going on for more that 48hrs with no end in sight. I kept digging into Google search when i came across this website that claimed much success in curing hiccups but without a guarantee. The website was very plain and mostly text, making me almost dismiss it, but i read on. I realized my friend had not tried this breathing technique explained on this website.

The next day after work my friend showed up all beat and haggard, with his hiccups of course. I excitedly told him what I had learned about how the Vagus Nerve travel from our Brains down around the neck touching the heart, diaphragm and other breathing muscles. I explained to him that hiccups can be triggered by many different things such as eating to fast, or something cold or even a cough that can irritate or bother the Vagus nerve. I told him that most hiccups are normal and go away quickly. He of course was impatiently hiccuping away while I spewed all this information that I am sure he did not want to hear.

The Fix

I finally explained to him the untried breathing technique as shown on Cognital.com. This website sells software, but on their website is this page on hiccups with over 10,000 testimonials so the technique must be good. After 3 days of hiccuping my friend finally stopped on his first try using this breathing technique. It really saved him because I don't think he could have handled another day of hiccuping.

Imgur

Hiccups are normal and relatively harmless. If Hiccups persist for more than 48 hours, then it is time to see a physician. I also learned a great new breathing technique should I ever encounter another person with a persistent hiccup. This technique should be one of the first things tried since it seems to stop the most persistent hiccups.

While doing research for this write up, I also learned that there is another technique to stopping persistent hiccups. According this article, A hiccup cure that really works, a Dr. Francis M Fesmire came up with another technique to stop hiccups. Dr. Fesmire had a patient with a severe case of hiccups, and nothing seemed to alleviate the patient's 30 hiccups per minute. The Dr. then remembered that the Vagus nerve plays a key role in hiccups as well as in certain heart conditions. He had read a paper where a patient had a heart rate of 200 beats per minute. The paper, Termination Of Paroxysmal Suprventricular Tachycardia By Digital Rectal Massage alleviated the patients hearts problems with a rectal massage, so the Doctor recommended that for his hiccup patient and it worked. Dr. Fesmire's technique has proved to work so well for other patients, that in 2006, Dr. Fesmire was honored for his new technique for stopping Intractable Hiccups with the Ig Nobel Prize in Medicine during a ceremony at Harvard University. Before passing on, the Dr. also claimed that "Happy Endings" (orgasms) would also alleviate persistent hiccups as well. Now I can tell my friend that he has options to what he can do to himself should he ever have the hiccups again. ;-)

Imgur

10/27/16
Full $teem Ahead!
My Top Blogs

- Caffeine Madness


- Printable STEEMIT MAZE for Kids

streetstyle logo
Signature Logo Created by @czar
if you need one, he is steem dollars reasonable!

Sources:
pic 1
pic 2 / flickr.com
pic 3 / flickr.com
pic 4 / wikimedia.org
pic 5 / pixabay.com

http://www.prevention.com/health/6-things-your-hiccups-are-trying-tell-you
http://www.wikihow.com/Cure-Hiccups
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15926725
http://www.todayifoundout.com/index.php/2012/05/what-causes-hiccups/
http://www.cognitial.com/hiccups.shtml
http://www.improbable.com/ig/
http://www.rd.com/health/wellness/9-quick-cures-for-hiccups/
http://www.abc.net.au/science/articles/2012/09/04/3582324.htm
http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/181573.php?page=2

Sort:  

Great article, thanks for the dedication to good work as well as the info. Namaste :)

I had Hiccups for over 10 days continuously, went to see a doctor but doesn't helps, so went to another doctor giving me the same comment. I almost die because I cannot breath properly.
This is a true story. Apparently, Magnesium tablet or powder can help. My Pharmacist is better than those stupid GP. Never trust them quack they don't know their stuff.
My diagram muscles could not relax, later causing Reflux. Where the stomach acid came up and burnt the top chamber. It was very painful and hard to breath. This is very serious.
Next time when you see a person having continuous Hiccups, tell them to see the pharmacist for Magnesium tablets. It will helps, it is because I believe I drink too much coffee, that stop my daily intake of magnesium from my meal. Lack of magnesium supplements can cause muscle cramps that what it is.

I wonder if a happy ending would help instead of meds.?

The diaphragm is also innervated by the Phrenic nerve...c3-c5. In medical school we learned the cool rhyme. C3, c4 , c5 keep the diaphragm alive. Breathing is very helpful. Not only are you controlling the vagus but you are also directly manipulating the diaphragm. Using OMT I can usually stop hiccups. Basically, I press underneath the costal margin and directly manipulate the diaphragm (I press on the diaphragm through the skin and have the patient breathe in and hold their breath. Once I feel the diaphragm relax I tell the patient to exhale. This would indirectly work on the vagus while also influencing the somatic phrenic nerve!

Thanks @tfeldman , I didn't want to get to deep on the medical analysis but yes the phrenic nerve is also involved. I imagine these technique are for those hiccups that just won't go away, and maybe hiccups need love too!

I've had a couple of patients with intractable hiccups normally they are not truly intractable and stop of their own accord but in rare cases medication might help. Chlorpromazine is usually recommended - but that is only in the very rare cases when they won't go and are interfering with normal life.

I remember hearing about that Ig Nobel award. Also there was another award given to people studying why Wood Peckers don't get headaches!

those two words with the ending of this article just make me smile, WOOD and PECKER. lol

The record is 68 years by Charles Osborne. He may have hiccupped over 500 million times. They suddenly stopped when he was 96, giving him a year of respite before he passed. :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29