You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HICCUPS FOR 3 DAYS -- What Are They and How Did He Stop Them?? --

in #health8 years ago

The diaphragm is also innervated by the Phrenic nerve...c3-c5. In medical school we learned the cool rhyme. C3, c4 , c5 keep the diaphragm alive. Breathing is very helpful. Not only are you controlling the vagus but you are also directly manipulating the diaphragm. Using OMT I can usually stop hiccups. Basically, I press underneath the costal margin and directly manipulate the diaphragm (I press on the diaphragm through the skin and have the patient breathe in and hold their breath. Once I feel the diaphragm relax I tell the patient to exhale. This would indirectly work on the vagus while also influencing the somatic phrenic nerve!

Sort:  

Thanks @tfeldman , I didn't want to get to deep on the medical analysis but yes the phrenic nerve is also involved. I imagine these technique are for those hiccups that just won't go away, and maybe hiccups need love too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57