Migraines; they don’t trouble me anymore!

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Well they do actually, and have done for many years. It seems we IT people get them from time to time and suffer because of our work and other factors.

Over the years I have tried regular medicines such as Asprin, Paracetamol, Codeine, Ibuprofen, and even Sumatriptan, the supposed effective cure. All have failed, some made me more ill than I was initially.

ges019j9up.jpg
Source

In the last few years I discovered something that ALWAYS works albeit slowly. A medicine that I should not be taking as it is not technically my prescription.

@bingbabe suffers from terrible migraines, some that last for days and shift from one eye to the other before eventually dissipating.

She has found her own cure in the form of running. Yes just go for a 20 mile run and the migraine will curiously vanish. It works for her, but my poor calves can’t take it, and even if they did I doubt this strategy would work for me.

IMG_4298.jpg

Getting back to the medicine, @bingbabe has been going to the doctors on occasions when her strategy fails and was prescribed some medicine some years past.

The problems with her migraines are a little different than mine and are something I don’t want to mention here. Let’s just say that the medicine didn’t work for her, so one day I tried it.

Nothing happened. Wait didn’t you say they worked for you?

ol6l4ysqyb.jpg

Yes I did. Nothing happens for around an hour or maybe 90 minutes. This medicine rests on your tongue and melts into it thus entering the blood stream fast. That’s the theory but it’s still not very fast.

It does however work FOR ME, every time I have a migraine regular as clockwork. When I take a ‘Maxalt Melt’ I know the migraine is living on borrowed time.

How do you get ‘Maxalt Melts’? In the UK they are on prescription and could directly requested from you doctor I suppose if you are bullish enough to ask.

The NHS prescription charge for England is currently set at £8.80 per item.

If you live in Scotland or Wales then it will cost you a big fat £0.00. You are the lucky ones.

mxh096q706.jpg

A prescribed pack of these tablets will only get you 12. What? Yes, these are the types of tables that come in stupidly sized plastic boxes with only 3 in each.

nklro1afyj.jpg

What does that tell me? They are expensive to produce, or the pharmaceutical company is trying to get back the cost of their Research and Development budget.

sm8z7urd3h.jpg

Obtaining the tables once you have a prescription can be somewhat difficult. ‘Oh we don’t have any of those’, is a common answer I get from pharmacies.

If they say this to you, just order some. Next day they will have them in stock. Don’t let them fob you off. I have had this answer many times, these pills don’t seem popular.

mqep4egr6j.jpg

I have added a few pictures in case you try to gain these in a non UK location. I’m sure they will be available everywhere if you know what to ask for.

May you never have migraines again!


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

FOR TSE: I had to laugh at you griping at about a buck-fifty to get rid of your headache. The average retail price for 9 tablets of rizatriptan in this country is $184.52. I found them for as high as $311.00. They may not be free for you ... but at least you can afford them.

Edit: Make that a buck and a quarter. The exchange rate has gone down since the last time I looked.

Well.. that's the kind of info I was looking for. I figured it may be stupid prices there.

Is this why Doctor Hesitant doesn't want to give me more? No wonder they come in those fancy boxes.

I'm lucky. I've never had a migraine in my life. And I hope I never will. My sister has suffered from them from the age of about six. She used to get them if she ate cheese or chocolate.
I always used to have a sneaking suspicion that the reason I didn't get them was because I like having long lies. Not every morning - just occasionally. When I've lived with people who suffered migraines, they were usually the kind of people who bounced out of bed early every morning and just never stopped - until the migraine forced them to. OK, tell me I'm talking nonsense!

I get them if I hang around too long in bed. Your are lucky I tell ya!

I really hope I never get one! They sound horrendous.

An ex girlfriend of mine also suffered heavily from migraines. Seeing her in such pain, made me appreciate the fact that I didn't have them.

Good that you found something that works, in my ex's case, nothing seemed to work 100%. Not sure if she tried that Maxalt though.

That's great that you found something that could help you with your migraines! I've had little headaches now and then, but I can only imagine how much a full migraine would really suck. I guess now if I ever do start having them I know what medicine I need!

Hope you found it useful. It works for me and several others I have recommended it too.

Hey, you changed your profile picture! I just noticed! That is too bad about the migraines. Nice that you found something that works for you. I used to have some glasses that I wore just when I was on the computer. They had a rose tint to the glass and that was supposed to help alleviate the stress on your eyes. I know a lot of people that get a piercing in their ear and it helps take care of migraines, but you might not want to do that :)

Lucky me I havent had any migraine or headache's (except the ones from beer 😂) but I can imagine that it must be hell ... good that there are medicins that works for you. Here in Holland there are some discussions going on about farmacycompanies charging very high prices for their products , due to that certain people cant afford the medicin even when they need them so bad. I think thats a wrong commercial thought. But I do realize the research and developcosts are high..

These are not cheap even on the NHS, its over £1 to fix your head.. but thats worth it to me. If I get one at 11am then it's in for the day and makes my life miserable.

Generally a full sleep will fix it 90% of the time but I want my life to be pain free in the head. I have chronic pain in other parts of my body but that story is for another day.

Of course they are worth it if they get your painfree. Pain in the head can be brutal I guess...

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 296 (10/29/18)

Honestly, I come to say "how are you", I miss to talk to some old friend like you @slobberchops, I feel that I have been away from real friendship feeling for meanwhile, I dont really understand what happen to myself. BTW, I love to see you growth on steemit.

Good to see your still around and writing stuff that westerners have no clue about. Keep it up :)

thank you very much my friend, i will do all my best to provide good information for all of my friend

I've been having migraines for years and sometimes they are just unbearable! Still haven't found a good solution tho, for now paracetamol and Doliprane does the work.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm fortunate enough to have not suffered from Migraines, although in the last few years I have started to get occasional head aches which I never used to get. Normally I sleep it off if it comes late in the day, or an Ibuprofen will take the edge off.

Having spoken to plenty of people who do suffer with Migraines I know they pain is so unbearable it can pretty much stop you dead in your tracks - that's how I know I have not had anything as bad - I'm hoping to avoid it too. And they are notoriously difficult to get rid of, so congratulations on finding something that does the trick for you. I'm going to make a note of this - although I'm hoping I won't be needing it.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Hope you wont need it either. Mine are not the incapacitating type but are not pleasant in any sense. I have recommended these to friends who are not on Steemit with good results far. I felt it was worth sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44