EarthingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

An aspect of healthy primitive cultures that is seldom discussed, is that they all had regular contact with the ground.

They had bare feet, or worked with bare hands in the earth, or lived in dirt floored houses. Often all three. If they wore shoes they were generally leather soled, which are electrically conductive if the soles are thin.

barefoot.jpg

Or course they also had no vaccines, fluoride, drugs, emf’s, or amalgam fillings, and along with good nutrition and regular earthing, all of these factors are significant.

“The old people came literally to love the soil. They sat on the ground with the feeling of being close to a mothering power. It was good for the skin to touch the Earth, and the old people liked to remove their moccasins and walk with their bare feet on the sacred Earth. The soil was soothing, strengthening, cleansing, and healing.”

Ota Kte (Luther Standing Bear)
Lakota Sioux writer, educator, and tribal leader

maori.barefoot.jpg

Makereti Papakura – Rotorua, New Zealand – 1910 – Alexander Turnbull Library, Wellington, NZ

An Explanation of Earthing

We found this book explained it really well

earthing-book.jpg

Earthing is often just thought of as walking about barefoot, but as someone who never goes anywhere with bare feet myself it’s great to learn that it’s more effective to be earthed all night while sleeping.

(Earthing and Grounding are interchangeable words for the same process)

earth.jpg

“Throughout most of evolution humans walked barefoot and slept on the ground, largely oblivious that the surface of the Earth contains limitless healing energy. Science has discovered this energy as free-flowing electrons constantly replenished by solar radiation and lightning.

Few people know it, but the ground provides a subtle electric signal that maintains health and governs the intricate mechanisms that make our bodies work-just like plugging a lamp into a power socket makes it light up.

Modern lifestyle, including the widespread use of insulating rubber or plastic-soled shoes, has disconnected us from this energy and, of course, we no longer sleep on the ground as we did in times past.

Earthing introduces the planet’s powerful natural healing energy and shows how people anywhere can readily connect to it. The book describes how the physical disconnect with the Earth creates abnormal physiology and contributes to inflammation, pain, fatigue, stress, and poor sleep.

By reconnecting to the Earth, symptoms are rapidly relieved and recovery from surgery, injury, and athletic overexertion is accelerated”

Some easy ways to earth to the ground

The benefits of Earthing are due to the constant flow of unattached electrons, which neutralise free radicals. This is similar to the effects of taking antioxidant nutrients, or petting your cat or dog, but more so.

There needs to be a direct connection between you and the Earth (not just any old earth, but directly to the planet itself). There are several ways this can be done:

Swimming in water – swimming or surfing in the ocean is very effective, as your whole body is connected. Swimming in lakes and rivers is also very effective, but without the salt, the water isn’t quite as conductive as sea water.

lyall.bay.jpg

Lyall Bay, Wellington NZ

Wallking barefoot on conductive ground. Walking or paddling on the beach, particularly below the tide mark where the sand is damp, is very good. Walking on bare earth or grass is also good, especially if it is wet or damp. Walking barefoot on concrete may also have some beneficial effect, especially if it is damp.

Absorbing the fresh air and sunlight is an added benefit. (remember to avoid any sun block creams, but that’s another story)

beach.jpg

But realistically on a daily basis these next two methods are more convenient.

Connecting your skin to a bare metal rod, planted in the earth in your garden. Use electrical wire to attach this rod to whatever you are attaching to your body – eg. metal mouse pad, bracelet, Scenar pads or buy an earthing kit.

http://scenars.co.nz/

Use the connection on your house wiring. Connect your skin to the earth connection of your house’s electrical system. Only use this method if you are 100% sure your house is wired correctly!

Sleeping all night with the K1 points on your feet grounded does more than the half hour of barefoot walking that’s often recommended.

And its all pretty cheap and easy to do (no silver sheets are really required)

k1.jpg
k1map.jpg

Experiments have shown rapid physical changes

Within minutes of being earthed, changes occur in the human system.

Dr. Stephen Sinatra ran an experiment in which dramatic reductions in cell aggregation (thinning and de-coupling) were documented in three subjects who were earthed at his home for 40 minutes.

The initial blood-draws reveal clumping and irregularity, while the final samples show relatively uniform and symmetrical cell distribution.

bloodcells.jpg

Blood cells before grounding, left, and after 40 minutes of grounding, right.

(photos by Dr. Stephen Sinatra)

earthing_1.jpg

Thermograph images show a reduction in pain levels after . They show temperature, which relates to pain levels. Basically red and orange shows inflamation, blue and green are good, so the blue and green image on the right shows a huge reduction in pain from the orange and yellow one on the left.

Making your own connections

You don’t even have to make your own connections, you can buy kits online – a good starter set is two of the straight cords, two of the foot/wrist bands, and a connection plug.

Reading online, it seems like many people on forums are mainly interested in getting into an over the top technical argument, or they just want to dismiss the whole thing without trying it, meanwhile some sites aim to sell expensive silver sheets.

The type of wire used for is not too critical – stranded copper wire is easiest to use because it’s flexible, but you can just use wire that you have lying around like solid core electrical cable or even speaker wire. Any wire that conducts will do the trick.

For the rod, any bare metal rod you can hammer into the ground will work so long as you have a way to firmly attach your wire to it. (no, Blutac will not do for this!) Threaded M10 (10mm) rod is very easy to use because you can thread nuts onto it to connect to the wire.

rods.jpg

The threaded rod on the left is our home made rod, while the white painted one on the right is the house electrical grounding

Some basic cable connection blocks are handy to join the wires.

connectors.jpg

Essentially, it’s easy and cheap to test out and see if it helps you. Start by standing barefoot on wet ground because that’s very easy to do. Or set up your own rod, and have a go with that.

There are many ways to connect an earth connection to your body. We use Scenar pads connected with a wire to a metal rod in the ground outside the window, and sleep with the K1 points on our feet earthed to the ground.

Although Scenar Therapy itself is not earthing , the Scenar accessories are very useful. The cables and sticky pads are designed to be electro conductive, and are ideal for earthing.

patches.jpg

This is a photo of my knee being treated a few months after it was fixed up with a lot of hardware after being snapped in half. Here my leg is earthed using Scenar patches – earthing, along with Scenar treatments, helped to reduce the pain and inflammation

There are other kinds of pads and wrist bands available such as the anti-static bands used for grounding when working on computers, that can be used for earthing.

antistatic-wrist-band.jpg

Grounding rods work better if the soil is wet, so if it hasn’t been raining, it helps to water the area around your metal grounding rod.

This website has a good summary of the make your own basics: http://www.naturesplatform.com/earthing.html

A good thing about the info on this site is that it’s really cheap and basic, but ignore the stuff about connecting to plumbing pipes and fittings – unless you know otherwise about your own house, most older houses have had their metal pipes replaced with plastic ones. And newer houses are using plastic pipes. So plumbing fittings are generally not much use for earthing .

pipes.jpg

Under our floor, the old metal pipes remain, but they are not connected to anything – all the working plumbing is plastic

If this post isn't long enough for you, there is more info on my earthing web page here - http://www.frot.co.nz/design/health/earthing/

website-disclaimer.jpg



MY WHOPPING GREAT STEEMIT SIGNATURE

Because sometimes I like to do short posts with pictures, art, photos, and funny stuff, and then there is bugger all in my post, I need a whopping great signature to put at the bottom of my short posts to give them some beef.

On my longer posts I’m really just including it to go on about myself, but what the hell, we all need to blow our own trumpet sometimes.

@cheetah likes to point out that I’m plagiarising my own signature, but he is also voting for me, and a vote is a vote, so I’ll call that a good thing.

@sift666 is my Steemit alias. As 666 is the number following 665 and preceding 667, and I’m using the number here on my Steemit account, it might mean I’m a worshiper of Satan. Or it could indicate that I have troll tendencies I need to work out with myself.

My real name is Ian Gregson, aka wheels007. I’m a professional sifter from Wellington New Zealand. My interests include photography, conspiracies , web design, writing, nutrition, art, design, philosophy, technology, anarchy, health, computers, humour (humor), gratuitous arse shots, and anything that makes my eyes bulge while I make squeaking sounds (except torture).

Back in the glory days of Steemit (August 2016), I once made $404 for a post and went on a three day bender. It took months to work off the after effects of the hangover and I’m still attempting to understand how that ever happened.

I’m currently developing a new website portal to rival Steemit called www.frot.co.nz where I’m testing out a new feature called “frottage” that may revolutionise blogging and create a global paradigm shift.

Photos and pictures labeled @sift666, www.sift.co.nz or www.frot.co.nz are my own creations, while pictures with no credits are sometimes ones I found in my image collection and have no idea where they originally came from, or might be my own photos that I haven't put a signature on.

Otherwise, due to pressure to conform, I’m having a crack at including an image credit beneath each picture I copy off the internet. I do have opinions on this subject, but am practicing putting a sock in it.

To tell the truth I often have no idea what I’m going to post next, but I will be sure to include pictures. If you are a person who prefers mainstream opinion, my posts may not be entirely your cup of tea. But if you like to dwell on the wild fringes of conspiracy theory, or you are a whale with a massive blowhole, you might like to follow me on Steemit. It would be great to have you on board.

Sort:  

Loved this book, you have written a nice summary and introduction to Earthing and this deserves a resteem!

Thanks - I'm really liking the way so many people have come back to Steemit and started looking at the old posts in the past week - many of which were pretty good but were sort of lost and forgotten - with all the new members and renewed interest it's like a Steemit renaissance!

My pleasure. Yes there are plenty of excellent posts lost among regurgitated content and boobs! I can't see the resteem button for your post though, does the button expire after a certain amount of time?

Yes it does, but I don't know how long the cut off point is - you got me wondering and I did a quick search but couldn't find the answer - I'll take a guess at 30 days - if you find out please reply here because I'm curious.

Mission accepted! I just tried to resteem your reply as I see the button but the message 'only top level blogs can be reposted' appeared. I'll see what I can spy and let you know...

Ok, through my powers of deduction I would say it is exactly 7 days. I found nada on the search but then ding what if I visit a regular bloggers profile... found one who blogs daily, checked down the list of blogs, resteem button disappeared on day 7 - was available on one post in day 7, and not the other.

Brilliant - sometimes it's hard to find stuff like that out on Steemit - it's probably on a 30 page manifesto somewhere!

I tried 7-8 search combinations and so if it is then they've not done a great job of documenting it! Which could be on purpose perhaps? Hmmm

I've just blogged in relation to the resteem and our conversion today, I hope you don't mind and enjoy the article! Thanks! Asher

Earth is our mother. Nature our teacher. Don't ever be apart of them.

Sometimes I feel like I'm lost in a virtual reality and need to find my way back :)

Interesting, informative post, thank you. Instinctive to me, yet having recently moved back to the city from the wilds, grounding through spending a great deal of time barefoot, or swimming in the ocean, has become more of a challenge - I do not feel at all drawn to wiring myself up to the house though!

I know what you mean, it doesn't sound very natural, although it's not actually the house but the ground outside the house.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60799.23
ETH 2640.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58