How to Yoga - Revolved Head to Knee Pose

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemians!

Today, I'm so grateful for CHANGE.

Thank god we don't have to stay stuck in the same place 

forever and ever!

Thank god we can transform and evolve

and learn and grow!

I'm giving big thanks for Steemit 

and this community of DO-ers 

who are building a better world.

Thank god we can rise up to embody our values

and create a planet that is in OUR best interest!

In gratitude for expanding my mind and 

blowing the lid off what I thought was possible,

I gift you the treasure of yoga. 

May this tool assist you in being everything you want to be!


This is Revolved Head to Knee Pose

AKA Parivrtta Janu Sirsasana in Sanskrit

(parivrtta = revolve, janu = knee, sirsa = head, asana = pose/posture)


Revolved head to knee is a wringer.


When I go through challenges, 

I'm reminded that it's preparing me for something better.

Reverse head to knee can be physically demanding,

but the beauty of yoga is that it is 

Kaizen = perpetual improvement.

Revolution of the body encourages revolution of the mind.


Doing this pose today prepares you for life's twists tomorrow.

Forward folds focus attention inwards, 

illuminating stale habits to dissolve.

The forward fold/twist combo massages the internal organs;

use the breath to release that stuff you don't need anymore.


The twist builds life force energy 

and lubricates, aligns, and lengthens the spine,

activating the body's relaxation systems

while engaging muscle tension--

simultaneous stimulation of the sympathetic and 

parasympathetic nervous systems 

trains the individual for responsible responses

rather than reactions off the mat.


Plus it feels really, really, really super duper.


How to REVERSE HEAD TO KNEE POSE:

  • Put on some nice music if you're into it.
  • From seated, draw the sole of the right foot to the inside of the left thigh.
  • Twist the upper body to face over the right knee.
  • Bring the back of the left hand to the outside of the right knee.
  • Bending from the waist, reach the right hand overhead towards the left toes. It doesn't matter if you reach them.
  • The left shoulder comes to the inside of the left knee.
  • Left hand can remain against the knee for leverage, or you can bring it to the left foot.
  • Look up under the right arm.

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out.

"Reshape yourself through the power of your will." --the Bhagavad Gita



💛 Sara!


infinite thanks to the ever lovely @everlove for the photo
We can make fully custom Steemit Ts fit for a king!

Sort:  

Sara I love that you are sharing yourself! Thank you for showing up everyday!

Thank you for showing me what it means to be supportive and responsible!

Great to see yoga on Steemit!
We need more of it. I hope it gets support and there will be more!

Thank you! The more cheap/free and accessible options for health and wellness that people know about, the better.

Great Job Sara!
Your moves are inspiring!

Thanks, I hope you feel excellent after trying them!

Hope you'll make more postures. :)

I'll share as long as people dig it! Please let me know if there's something I can help you with!

I'm doing Yoga from time to time. But doing it continuously is hard just like with all things. So any advice for this? :D

Great question! There's so much more to yoga than the physical practice, so this is really important. Even just doing yoga from time to time has great benefits, but here's my advice if you want to establish a steady practice:

When I started yoga, I actually didn't like it. I went to a couple classes and they were super hard and NOT peaceful and I really didn't get it. Eventually I found a 20 minute video, and I made a choice to commit to practicing with it every day for 2 weeks. At the end of the first week, I noticed I was considerably stronger, plus I recognized the pattern in the movements so it didn't feel so foreign and weird. At the end of 2 weeks, I was hooked.

Start small! You can find a short video with a focused routine of something that your body really needs, like hip openers or heart openers. Make the choice to do it for X minutes each day for Y days, and you WILL see improvement in that time--plus you'll have the satisfaction of reaching a goal you set for yourself. Same thing with meditation--when I started, I had to set a timer for just 5 minutes because it was a realistic time I could achieve, but even then I wanted to get up and do something else dozens of times. Practice made it easier.

For me, once I felt and saw the benefits of yoga in my body and my life, it became something I wanted to do, something I really looked forward to doing, rather than something I felt like I "should" do or "had" to do. That makes all the difference!

Great answer :). Ok, so just doing it with ones own pace and setting some rules for oneself to establish the practice and learn to enjoy it?
I don't really have problems with the movements, at least I think so, 3 years ago i started Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu - Japanese Martial arts I think I get the same satisfaction like you when I'm having training.
haha, i started with like 15 minutes and I haven't really sat still for that long before. Some days later I felt muscles I had I never felt before, that was kinda really funny.

Recently I've been more meditating than before.

Namaste ;)

I love this pose. You get a forward fold, a twist, a heart opener, and a lateral stretch all at the same time! Thanks for sharing the physical/mental benefit possibilities and the beauty of yoga here on steemit.

Yes this is a great full body posture! I'm glad you're enjoying the yoga; it's truly my pleasure to bring it!

I always find it difficult to get my elbow on the inside of my knee, it feels more comfortable to be on the outside...any tips?

Thanks
Cg

Sure! Try breathing into a twist before you bend and reach for the foot.

From seated, draw the sole of the right foot to the inner left thigh.
Turn the chest to face the right knee. Bring the center of the chest in line with the knee.
Draw the left hand onto the left leg.
Bring the right hand either to the mat behind you, or place your fingertips behind your head.

Now breathe for a while just twisting, opening up the chest even farther to the right while pulling the shoulders back. Lots of extension in the spine, extending up through the crown and rooting through the hips, just breathing into space space space that you're creating in the upper body. Hold that as long as it feels good to you!

If/when you're ready for a forward fold and reaching towards the left foot, maintain all that space in the upper body. Pulling the right shoulder back is key, you don't want to collapse in on yourself as soon as you start to fold forward.

Forward folds are really excellent for practicing patience, so enjoy that aspect too!

Awesome! Thanks Sara, I'm going to print this out and try this tomorrow morning. I'll report back :-)

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09