How to YOGA - A Pose A Day: Down Dog

in #yoga8 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemit!

I love you, and I want to share other things I love with you. 

I'm expanding my love every single day, so this could easily become a daily exchange. 


I'll start with one of my greatest loves: YOGA.

Yoga makes everything better!

Yoga changed my life!

Yoga is one of the first miracles I remember experiencing. 

Yoga is the shit, as they say in the popular vernacular.

I'll gift you a yoga pose a day so that you too may have blissful, joyous, miraculous healing! 



This is DOWN DOG

AKA Downward Facing Dog  

AKA Adho Mukha Svanasana in Sanskrit 

(adho = downward, mukha = face, svana = dog, asana = pose).


Call it what you will; this pose is incredible.


Down dog is classic. 

Down dog is foundational for sun salutations.

Rodney Yee instructs to hold down dog for 2 minutes from time to time - 

when I first started yoga, I thought that was impossible, 

but I respected Rodney and his ponytail so I gave it a shot,

and I'm glad I did!


Now, I love down dog. 

Down dog is a relief.

Down dog is a staple. 

Down dog is my go-to when I need some yoga but don't have time to get full-on in it. 

Down dog gets all up in that root chakra.

 If you only do this one pose a day, you will reap major rewards.

This is whole body glory!


How to DOWN DOG:

  • Walk/jump feet to back of mat. Look, you're making a triangle between your body and the ground!
  • Feet hip width apart; hands shoulder width apart. 
  • Spread the digits.
  • Root down through the palms of the hands, activating all your fingers. Creases of the wrists aligned with each other.
  • Root down through the feet, growing long all down the back of the legs. It doesn't make any difference if your heels contact the floor; stretch into it like you're going for it.
  • Weight is evenly distributed between hands and feet - it feels like you're trying to split your mat in two by actively engaging your upper and lower body.
  • Lift the quads towards the sky.
  • Roll the shoulders open.
  • Feel the extension in the back body.
  • Focus on the navel (extra meaningless yoga points if you say it in Pattabhi Jois voice).
  • If you freak out or it's too intense, drop your knees. It's really not a big deal!

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out.

Stay here as long as it feels yummy, 

or consider what B.K.S. Iyengar sez: 

"The pose starts when you want to leave it."


💛  Sara! ૐ

Sort:  

Oh Sara Sara! So glad you are sharing your passion here. You are a really great instructor, and giving Steemit the treat of your is a really good pose. I also really love your Steemit t-shirt!!! Going to do down-dog. Thanks for the inspiration!

Thank YOU for BEING an inspiration! Your support means mountains to me. Thank god for @everlove!!

seen this yoga pose before. never know the name till now. thanks. :-)

You're welcome! Hope it encourages you to give it a try!

Actually I've tried this particular one but I'm more of a taiji or taichi person

Brilliant idea. I just did my yoga this morning :)

Using it to try to improve flexibility :)

Thank you! Yoga can certainly improve flexibility, and so much more

Yes! Thank you for pointing out....lots of folks don't know that this is actually a resting pose! 🕉

You're welcome! It's amazing how yoga is exactly what the person needs it to be!

Thanks for prompting our bodies to get flexible and unobstructed!

You're welcome! I'm glad you appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01