How to Yoga - Lizard Pose VariationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health8 years ago

Good day, Steemians!

Commitment is what transforms a promise into reality. -- Abraham Lincoln


As the New Year rolls in, I'm questioning everything and
preparing to write a new chapter in this epic life; things are changing!
I love yoga - I have shared this with you for many months.
I want to continue sharing yoga with you,
because it is my sincerest hope that you can tap into the
seemingly miraculous healings I have experienced -
yoga can release even the most impossible,
ingrained, rockiest bits of discomfort within the being,
and I wish everyone can feel that for themselves.
I may be changing the form of what I share here,
but my intention remains pure - to bring my best
and share my wealth of knowledge so that you can benefit.  
In the meantime while I search for clarity, I'll share another great pose.
You don't have to do a full on sesh each day to reap major rewards;
honestly, 1-2 minutes a day in a choice asana can totally change your life!

This is a variation of Lizard Pose

AKA Utthan Pristhasana in Sanskrit

(utthan = stretch out, pristhasana = back body, asana = pose/posture)


This is a super yummy, gentle stretch for the hips.


Hip openers are my favorite because it's where
I habitually store my tension.
When I started yoga, I really fell in love when I noticed  
a) how quickly and drastically I gained strength and ability, and
b) the pattern in movement and how each asana preps the body for a new phase.
This pose is only an arm placement  
and distribution of weight away from an arm balance.

It's a great stretch for the hamstrings,
quads, and hip flexors.
Because the pelvis is a foundational aspect of the body,
increased mobility in the hips sets one up
for greater success throughout the rest of a practice.

But t's all play; you can breathe into this as long as you need.
The success of a practice does not depend
on coming into "advanced" poses.
If you're comfortable here, hold it as long as you like.
If you want a challenge, play around with variations.
It's the inner journey that makes a practice personal,
and it's up to you and only you
to take exactly what you need for today.


How to LIZARD POSE:

  • From down dog, step the right foot forward to the outside of the right hand.
  • Stretch through the back leg and extend through the heel.
  • Draw the shoulders back and extend the heart forward.
  • Maintaining the pelvis parallel to the short edge of the mat, drop into the hips.
  • You can come down onto the forearms if you prefer.
  • You could alternatively thread the right arm under the right thigh; that variation is a prep for an arm balance.

Breathe in, breathe out.

Breathe in, breathe out.

Breathe in, breathe out.





💛 Sara!
Thank you to the ever lovely @everlove for the lovely photo
We can make custom Steemit Ts or pants fit for a king--thanks @quinneaker!


Sort:  

I'm not sure you were born yet even lol, but some of you may appreciate this old school Taco Bell commercial from the early 90's or so:

Wow I do remember that! Crazy what watching TV will program into the brain. Thanks for sharing, Barry!

You are welcome Miss Sara.

Great Pose for Organ and Bowel Health... keep them coming @saramiller
My take (well minus the image for some reason: https://steemit.com/health/@kyusho/janurasana-organ-and-bowel-health-maintenance

Thank you @kyusho!
And thank you for sharing your post, @kyusho - it's very informative, very thorough.

Thanks @saraniller, I follow your great tutorials for the discipline.

I love this pose! It always loosens up my hips!

I completely believe in the power of yoga! I've been practicing since I was 15 (30+ yrs) and often only for 15 minutes a day, but it's made ALL the difference for me. Thanks for continuing to share your yoga teachings xoxo

Thank you for receiving them! It's a huge life hack and it's my pleasure to share.
I'm really glad to hear about your practice, @natureofbeing! Seriously, even 15 minutes can totally reset the system. Or even a minute or two in a few choice poses!

Hi!
I'm not there yet, lol! But thanks for posting your whole long trail of work! Very impressive!

I've restarted Yoga after a 40 year hiatus, so it will probably take a while to recover. I'm taking posts that inspire me and curating them at Steemtrail under fitness-trail, just for my own purposes, but hopefully that helps you too.

Thank you @baerdric! Cheers to you for returning to your practice. I hope you are amazed and delighted by yoga's ability to heal! If you do have any restrictions, health concerns, or areas of your body that store habitual tension, please let me know and I would be happy to share modifications for each pose to help you ease into it.

Well, yeah, I'm a mess. But I'll have to pick away at it one thing at a time. Took me a long time to get here, I can have patience getting back into it..

Patience is a most excellent practice!
This is an inspiring story.

Thank you. This will be a great addition to my practice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33