My food is my medicine

in #health7 years ago (edited)

27912909_10214022196582977_8831186525722339457_o.jpg

I was inspired by the fellow Steemian @sebastianjago and his post he shared the other day about healthy breakfast options .

Isn't it awesome that thanks to social media we nowadays can find people from all over the world who share similar beliefs and approach things the same way as we do. In fact, I first met @sebastianjago on a different platform called Golos.io a little while ago and was stoked. Golos is a Russian based blockchain platform similar to Steem. Sabastian is from Australia. I'm Russian but have been living in California for years. Jeez, this is a small world! Now I follow him both on Golos and Steemit because I'm interested in what he has to share about his way of healthy living.

I haven't always been obsessed with healthy choices, till about five years ago when my health started deteriorating so rapidly that I wasn't sure I would make it to my forties. Not sure what the real cause of the problem was - either bad DNA, or proximity of my home town to Chernobyl (I was was a little girl when the nuclear explosion happened there), or may be it was a change of a traditional Russian diet to American cuisine that my stomach wasn't ready to handle. I've been looking for answers for years but still haven't found them.

Conventional medicine didn't help much, doctors were just shrugging. So, I had to take my health in my own hands. I won't go into to much detail in this post but want to emphasize that food can be healing. And I'm a living proof to that. I've tried many methods, including extreme things like fasting and veganism and can tell there is no one universal remedy or technique that suits everyone. We all are different, as well as underlying causes of our problems are. I only encourage everybody to educate yourself, explore options beyond those that are imposed upon you by mainstream, be proactive, find like-minded people, experiment, seek you own path and never give up.

I personally find out that eradicating as much crabs as possible from my diet, especially the short-chain ones, and switching to a lot of alkalizing organic foods like leafy greens, vegetables etc. make me feel better. So, I switched to a low carb high protein diet and have stuck to it. One of the recipes I came across during my quest was a cottage cheese with flax seed oil mix. It's a part of a so called Budwig protocol, that some people believe can be helpful for treating or preventing cancer. While I have no evidence or sufficient data neither to prove or to contest this statement, I find the dish itself delicious( with my modifications) and eat it very often in the mornings along with a half of grapefruit.

These are the ingredients and how I prepare them:

Low fat cottage cheese, organic, about a half cup
Cold pressed flax seed, organic, 2 Tbsp
Garlic clove, 2/3 (skip if you are going on a date:))
Several branchlets of cilantro or basil leaves with no stems

Mix very well in a blender to turn everything into a homogeneous paste. Depending on the brand of the cheese, you might need to add a little cold water or milk. I use a few spoons of goat milk, adding a little at a time. Since I only make one serving at a time, I purchased a small Ninja bullet blender. While it's not nearly as powerful as my Vitamix that I use from prepping smoothies in large quantaties, it still does the job.

It may not be the most traditional way of starting a day. But it's a matter of habit. Japanese, I've heard eat miso soup for breakfast and find it normal))) I got used quickly and may be somebody else will dare to give it a try! Make sure you tolerate lactose ok, though.

Share your experience with me if you do!

28055646_10214022396267969_5090547759796312979_n.jpg
Basil that I grow on the balcony and cilantro from my garden

Sort:  

Food is certainly the way to my heart! Great post!

I am a breast cancer survivor - I did try the Budwig Protocol and I was finding it hard to stomach because of the flaxseed oil. I will certainly have another go at it as per your method. Besides I do like cottage cheese. Anything that can help my body to fight cancer I will only be too ready to give it a go. Thanks for sharing diet.jpg

Yeah, it tastes way better when mixed with a little bit of garlic and herbs. And I assume we can only benefit from those additions. As I already mentioned above, I can't tell how potent it is regardless fighting cancer, but it definitely helps me with not gaining extra pounds!)) The overall low-carb approach happened to be very beneficial from that perspective. Stay well!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 19:07:59
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 136.62/200.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 20
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

good
visit my page dear :)

Your herbs look amazing and healthy! Can't wait to grow mine again :(.

Have you tried using this herb and cottage cheese oil mix as a dip/sauce?
Weird, no?

Thank you!;)
In fact I did!!! That's the way my husband likes to eat this stuff!))

@kotturinn By the way, I recently learned one amazing trick for making killer pesto of that basil. Blanch it before using and your sauce will remain bright green color for very-very long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81