The best cure for a hang-over! Have a happy NEW YEAR'S day & SUPERMOON too ๐ŸŽ‰

in #health โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-01-01 at 11.54.30.png

I know of two ways to continue the party into new year's day:

  • Keep drinking

  • Re-alkalise the body (before you keep drinking!)

Alcohol is very acidic

The feeling of imbalance we experience after a night of drinking is due to the alkaline nature of our bodies.

The fastest way to correct the imbalance caused by the acidic alcohol is to consume alkaline food.

My personal favourite

The humble watermelon is unquestionably the most pleasurable & effective way I know of to re-alkalise the body. If I had a big one the night before I will try and eat the entire watermelon.

I will also squeeze the juice of a whole lemon onto it. Here in Bali, limes are easier to come by and whilst not quite as alkaline as lemons, they are still increasing the alkalinity of the body and I guarantee you will feel infinitely better in less than 30mins.

IMG_8315.jpg

Don't reach for the painkillers...

Your liver is already at full capacity cleansing your blood from the alcohol, so adding any kind of pharmaceutical chemical into the mix is not going to help its performance.

You are dehydrated!

The most common reason for headaches is dehydration.


source

Upon waking, the first thing one should do is drink a pint of water. Even a bleary-eyed, brain-dead reveller can manage this.

The watermelon breakfast will further hydrate you and you will most likely have to go to the toilet a few more times than normal, but trust me you will feel great in no time at all...

Then you can continue drinking! ๐ŸŽ‰

Though you can of course have plenty of fun just feeling great in your body again.


Why didn't I drink last night?

Last night was the first time (except during my 2 year spell of sobriety) I consciously chose not have any alcohol to see in the new year. I did this for the simple reason that my body was speaking to me very clearly yesterday. And it was telling me to alkalise! I have been drinking way too much black coffee recently, working like a crazy biphasic man.

To understand what I mean by biphasic, check my post from two days ago here

So, last night I chose to drink two coconuts (mixed with lime) and I ate a large salad as my restaurant dinner.

...and today I feel great!

474A9840_1_2_tonemapped.jpg
Under the light of the full moon this place in which I have been living for two years is really very special.

The Supermoon - Jan 2nd

It is not only a full moon tomorrow, but it is a Supermoon too!

A Supermoon happens when a Full Moon or New Moon is near the Moon's closest approach to Earth; also called perigee.

source

This conjunction of a new calendar year with a supermoon is a powerful one for me. I feel the need to cleanse and rest. Not party.

There will be plenty of time for partying when all my crypto investments have had a year to grow.

So... I will see you at the eve of 2019 party!

By then both my children will be able to dance with me... all night long ;)

Screen Shot 2017-09-08 at 13.37.27.jpg

Happy New Year everyone from my crazy little family in the Jungle ๐ŸŒด

Thank you for being the beautiful beings you are.

2018 is the year the world awoke to the awesome power of crypto!

Blessings from Bali.jpg

Acid/Alkaline chart source

gradient banner.png

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world.

Currently based in Bali he travels with his partner & two children. With no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over six months.

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

@samstonehill is the creator of:

@steemshop account where you can buy or sell anything you like using your steemit wallet SEE MORE

@steemmasters which provides FREE TUTORIALS, personal training & resteeming services. Website HERE
Contact me directly on steemit.chat if you want to know more about this

@steemholidays which encourages resort owners to offer holiday packages in Steem or SBD

@steemtv which aims to provide the best in decentralised films, exclusive to Steemit & DTube

The dailyquotes tag initiative designed to encourage steemians to share their most life changing quotes with the community on a daily basis.

The Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins group on Facebook which seeks to help newcomers make the transition from Facebook to Steemit, providing them with detailed notes and personal assistance with their posts... resteeming them when he can.

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 19.44.43.png


Here is a list of Steemit Witness I have voted for & recommend you do the same:
@teamsteem @timcliff @jesta @good-karma @someguy123 @blocktrades @pfunk @klye @krnel @blueorgy @ausbitbank @thecryptodrive @ura-soul @pharesim

Without them our beloved Steemship would not fly.

Learn what this means HERE and place your vote HERE

sexy banner.png

Sort: ย 

Very timely advice, I am sure a lot of people will find this very helpful today. Happy new year!

That was my thinking.

Happy New Year!

thanks to the useful information for me.Here, in Bali, lime is more easily found and although not alkaline like lemon, they still increase the body alkalinity and I guarantee it will feel much better in less than 30 minutes.

Errr... yes. Thanks for repeating this point.

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

What a timely advise, just woke up feeling like crazy and your post was just God sent. Just tried your solution and feeling much better. Just don't know what to do with my red shot eyes though. Thanks

There is a white flower which grows near the river here which will help with that. One small drop of the liquid in the stem of the plant placed directly in the eyes will clear them right up. There is a natural way for everything :)

Happy new year!

http://insadreams.com/nandyarvattam-east-indian-rosebay/
is it this flower you are speaking of? Sir
Great advice. Sharing on twitter

thanks dude. Happy new year to you :)

Happy New Year!

Watermelon better than lemons for alkalizing, who knew? Thanks for the helpful chart!

I don't drink drinks with alcohol content for more than a decade now.

A decade! Good man. I did two years and enjoyed very much what I learned about myself in this period. These days my responsibility to my family seems to keep me on the right path. And a bottle of beer after dinner is about as excessive as my drinking gets!

That's great man!
More power to you and your family!

I no longer drink for the pleasure of being drunk. Iโ€™ve learned that I can recreate that with my mood and attention. I drink for the flavor. The problem is, if itโ€™s a crazy party where people are passing drinks around, after drinking one or two to enjoy the flavor, I forget what Iโ€™m doing and keep drinking X-D

This is great to keep in mind. Iโ€™m guessing your ph level also determines what kind of foods you crave....which kind of explains why I eat fast food now and just feel โ€œwho the hell enjoys this?โ€ But then I eat it twice and Iโ€™m like โ€œyeaaaaaaahโ€.

Great advice Sam. Howabout the tried and tested method of hollowing out a watermelon and mixing a bottle of rum or vodka into the pulp - drinking and re-alkalising at the same time? Happy 2018!

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

I don't comment enough. But I appreciate reading your posts.
LEMON and GINGER Water is another wonderful health zing.
And if anyone ever gets a sinus infection: Cut an Onion in Half. Leave it in the room you are in, especially when sleeping. :)

Stay healthy and enjoy that super moon !

Wishing you a Happy Holidays and many 2018 Blessings!

Drat! Late to the after party :)

Could have done with reading this yesterday - actually not for me as I was very moderate but Rick got roped into shots which are always a bad idea.

Boy did he suffer...

Anyway I am sure your advice will serve us well in the future as the proverbial banana skin is waiting and a winking around unsuspecting corners.

Happy 2018 days.

xox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57452.21
ETH 3016.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36