Why Do I Feel Sick and Bloated After I Eat Beans?

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Watch Out For Bad Lectins!

Lectins can bind with certain kinds of proteins that are present in our cell membranes. They are attracted to sugar, binding to sugar becoming the glycol part of glycoconjugates on the cell membrane. Lectins are like a magnet, which attract certain kinds of molecules, which stick together that does not stimulate the immune system and interacts with cell-cell interaction.

Dietary lectins are in raw legumes, grains, tomatoes, potatoes, eggplants, and peppers to list a few. But lectins are everywhere in our food chain, part of a seed that becomes a leaf when from a sprouting plant called the cotyledon is in all the seeds and grains we like to eat. Also, the seed coat is high in lectin. When I read this, I thought of all the whole wheat; I used to eat whole wheat bread which includes the seed hull. Lectin is also in nuts, seeds, and many vegetables.

Lectins protect the plants against insects, pests, and microorganisms. The coating on a seed which is made up of lectin helps the seed pass through an animals digestive system as a form of seed dispersal. Most lectins are resistant to heat and digestive acids, and they can enter our bloodstream unchanged.

Why am I writing this article about lectins? Because I have fibromyalgia, which is means I have a dysfunctional immune system. Certain kinds of lectins are harmful to our immune system. However there are many kinds of lectins, and they play a role in immune function, body fat regulation, cell death, and growth.

Many dietary lectins trigger antibody production because they pass through our digestive system. We all have antibodies floating around our body from lectins. Lectins we used to be able to tolerate may become toxic because of a change in our immune system, GI-track injuries, or other sources like medication. Because we don’t digest lectins, we often produce antibodies to them. Some lectins are toxic like raw or sprouted kidney beans. Kidney beans have phytohemagglutinin, which can poison us, triggering an immune response if we only eat a half dozen sprouted or raw beans.

Raw kidney beans can contain as much as 70,00 lectin unites. When thoroughly cooking kidney beans reduces lectin content to around 400 units, which reduces the irritation to our intestinal lining.

Good lectins can decrease certain diseases, help the bodies essential functions, like cell adherence, inflammatory modulation, and programmed cell death.

Everyone needs to know that what they are eating may affect their health and I had no clue eating raw beans could poison me but what I didn’t realize cooking doesn’t always remove lectins toxicity. If you do eat raw kidney beans, which I don’t know anyone who would want to but maybe undercooked beans may be a problem. You will experience nausea, diarrhea, and vomiting. So cook your beans thoroughly! I am writing this paper because I have fibromyalgia. Lectin cause GI distress and will damage my weak intestinal lining.

As food passes through our intestinal tract, it causes some damage, however when you have a healthy digestive tract damage is repaired without stressing the body. That’s why I like intermittent fasting. Only eating during a small window of the day gives my gut time to heal after eating. The purpose of our intestinal lining is to contain things that could hurt the body while absorbing the nutrition we need for our body to function correctly.

Lectins cause a lot of damage to our intestinal walls. As they pass through our digestive system, they produce a lot of damage, which takes a long time to repair. The damage caused by lectins leave our intestinal lining wall porous; this is called a leaky gut. A leaky gut allows molecules that would usually pass through our body access to our bodies sensitive systems. Also, a leaky gut inhibits our ability to absorb nutrition, like vitamins and minerals we need.

When too many lectins are eaten at one time, our gut will go into emergency and dump its load. That’s why when many people eat certain foods they experience explosive gabs, cramping, vomiting, and diarrhea. Intestinal wall damage happens when we drink too much alcohol, which also damages the GI lining and causes it to dump its load in a very unpleasant way.

Once a lectin has escaped our gut barrier it causes an immune system response, and the body moves in its defenses for the attack. Lectins that have broken through our gut defenses can cause skin rashes, joint pain, and generalized inflammation. There are chronic disorders that are correlated with leaky gut. Many researchers have noticed children with autism have "leaky gut syndrome" and removing harmful dietary lectins improves their overall health and improves their cognitive abilities.

People who suffer from Crohn’s disease and irritable body syndrome have been found to be extremely sensitive to lectins. Researchers have found those who suffer from Crohn’s disease have a high level of immature cells in their gut lining. Immature cells can't protect themselves from lectins.

Lectins pass through the body quickly, eating a variety of fruits, live-culture fermented foods, vegetables can reduce inflammatory issues. From what I understand eating one kind of food high in lectin is like picking at your skin until you have had a wound and you keep poking at the injury rather than leaving it alone to heal.

Unrefined grains have more nutrition but they also contain more lectins and other anti-nutrients. In our past this wasn’t a problem, grain is difficult to grow and collect in large quantities in our pre-industrial past. Now with machines we can grow large quantities of grain and most of our food has some kind of grain involved, like bread, pasta, rice, quinoa, kamut, amaranth, oats, barley, and of course our snack foods. We can walk or drive to the market and within minutes find yummy grain products like cookies and chips.

Our body hasn’t evolved to handle a high grain diet. In the past, our ancestors found a way to get around upsetting their digestive system when eating high lectin containing foods. They soaked, sprouted, and fermented before cooking high lectin containing food. Lectin content in foods can vary from year to year, and genetic modification can cause changes in lectin content.

Peanuts, soybean, grain, cereal, and dairy are the most common culprits when people complain of digestive pain. You know the dreaded smelly farts and bloating. Seafood and legumes have the most lectins.

How to avoid lectin levels, sprouting seeds, and beans, sprouting removes most seed shells. Soaking and cooking your beans. I was taught to soak my beans overnight and rinse often while soaking. Also I read long ago adding baking soda while soaking is helpful. That doesn’t help my sensitive daughter; she can’t eat beans of any kind even fermented soybean products.

Fermentation removes much of the lectin content, the bacteria can eat lectin. Also sourdough bread is fermented and of course beer. I can’t handle alcohol so beer and whisky are out of my diet.

Fermentation allows beneficial bacteria to digest and convert many of the harmful substances. I found the paleo type diet does work for my gut issues. I also avoid the nightshade family. Most of my nutrients come from fermented veggies, fruit and vegetables that don’t have a high lectin content. I’ve read that some some seaweeds and mucilaginous vegetable bind to lectins and they pass through our gut without damaging it.

There is the blood type diet, which is based on how our blood type reacts to lectins. There are blood type groups of people that respond to lectins differently. Some researchers have found urinary tract infections, and anemia can be caused by a high lectin diet.


I will flag comment spam at 1% strength. If you keep on spamming my post, I will flag you at 100%. I don't care if you have limited English abilities, write a couple of sentences about this article, no copy-paste, please. I will flag: one sentence comments, links to your blog and begging for up-votes and follows. Also, I will åflag comments that have nothing to do with my blog's article. I will also check your comment section to see if you have been comment spamming on other blogs.

Graphs Taken From DIETARY LECTINS: BLOOD TYPES & FOOD ALLERGIES by Laura Power, Ph.D.

The Paleo Diet tomatoes, vaccines, and autoimmune disease

Do dietary lectins cause disease?

Immunological implications of the use of plant lectins for drug and vaccine targeting to the gastrointestinal tract.



some_text A link to My Blog
Sort:  

interesting...i know of many diets that exclude beans for this exact reason. i'm not much of a bean person, but my son loves them.

I think I've shared I have an acute metabolic disorder. I have extreme sensitivity to simple carbs and sugars from any source. So I eat lots of protein and mostly green vegetables. One of my staple foods I eat to keep my body functioning is a blend of organic almond butter, sunflower seed butter, walnuts and shredded coconut along with coconut oil. I'll eat about a half cup of this a day. But apparently this mix has a fair amount of lectins in it. Do lectin blockers (supplement) help or work? Blessings.

I love seeds as well, I read if you soak your nuts and seeds before you eat them the lectin content isn't as high. Sunflowers and pumpkin seeds have a high lectin content but I seem to be able to digest them. I am thinking of going off all the high lectin seeds and see if this will help my fatigue issues.

For breakfast I ground up sprouted pumpkin seeds and roasted walnuts, I cut up an apple and a banana with some raisins and mix the whole lot up, it makes an awesome breakfast that last until I eat dinner which is around 4pm. I don't eat anything until the next day. I can go all day long with lots of energy and fall asleep like a baby at 10:30pm. I wake up around 5:30am ready to go!

I don't know if lectin blockers work, I read that some seaweed and plants that contain mucins can block lectins. Something I need to look into!

I am not going to buy this product but I am going to research searching the nets scientific and medical data bases.

A Natural Shield Against Lectins
Since lectins are so prevalent in the diet it was suggested in the first article that a supplement regimen be considered to reduce lectin interactions. Lectins have the ability to bind to sugar residues of polysaccharides and amino sugars in the gut and on the intestinal cell surfaces. By consuming an array of these friendly sugar structures, which are part of our digestive makeup, then a type of decoy system is implemented in which "sacrificial" molecules are present to bind lectins and keep them from sticking to our cells and causing damage. The application of a lectin-locking device exists in a new product called Lectin Lock™. Supplementing with these decoy sugars at the start of a meal allows for the binding of potentially harmful lectins and their elimination through the gut. Besides the all-important lectin binding, the product supports health in numerous other ways.
http://intelegen.com/nutrients/natural_defense_against_lectins.htm

Interesting. I'm hesitant to discuss my situation simply because it sounds like whining to me. But... just to let you know, on a good day I can eat 1 or two strawberries or maybe a cherry or two, or a blackberry or two. It's crazy! Oh well, someone has to do it I suppose.

ohh so lectins are really very very dangerous for us ??

Some lectins are dangerous like the dietary vaccines I mentioned in this articles. If you eat enough raw kidney beans you will die. Heating and adding enzymes will not completely destroy dangerous lectins. If you have a bowel disease avoiding lectins from my experience will help your health. The reason I wrote this article is that i suffer from an autoimmune disease called fibromylgia. Changing my diet to gut friendly has helped me heal, however I didn't know tomatoes, potatoes, eggplant, plants from the nightshade family can cause inflammation and irritate a leaky gut lining, which I suffer from.

There is a biological weapon made from legume lectin called Ricin.

Ricin (/ˈraɪsɪn/ RYE-sin) is a highly toxic, naturally occurring lectin (a carbohydrate-binding protein) produced in the seeds of the castor oil plant, Ricinus communis. A dose of purified ricin powder the size of a few grains of table salt can kill an adult human.[1] The median lethal dose (LD50) of ricin is around 22 micrograms per kilogram of body weight if the exposure is from injection or inhalation (1.78 milligrams for an average adult).[2] Oral exposure to ricin is far less toxic as some of the poison is inactivated in the stomach. An estimated lethal oral dose in humans is approximately 1 milligram per kilogram.[2]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ricin

Reddust I enjoy your posts and content! I know you've written extensively about vaccines (Haven't read everything...yet) Have you done a vax detox? It may help with your health issues. My little boy has a sensitive stomach - he's unvaccinated - but I believe it is because I did not do the detox myself before he was conceived. I agree with the intermittent fasting. Look forward to reading your thoughts on that! As far as soaking goes, certain grains, beans etc need apple cider vinegar added to the soaking process; while others require (good) salt. Will need to check which as I can't think of them off the top of my head. In health!

I haven't done a vax detox although I have horrible reactions to vaccines as a child. We lived in Germany the first 4 years of my life and the military loves to dose it's people with lots of vaccines.

There are so many chemicals in our environment plus our medicine I have focused on giving my body the nutrition it needs to clean and heal itself. I've kept my plan simple. Whole foods that I can digest easily, supplement because of my poor digestive system, lots of fermented foods because I have had lots of antibiotics and harsh medications throughout most of my life. I haven't tried the cider protocol but I have soaked and sprouted my grains and legumes before cooking in the past. I don't eat legumes that often so I never really thought about what they may be doing to my gut, immune system, and cognitive abilities. That's why I wrote this article! I had no idea that the peel and seeds of the tomato have lectins that can harm my gut lining!

Homeopaths here in South Africa can still put together a detox for adults who were vaccinated as children. Maybe find out? Foods play a huge role in our health (fermented is excellent and I soak everything, even the nuts) It sometimes seems overwhelming but it's a day at a time and small steps. But your health is worth it! I'm sure your articles will help others.

@buckarro, I will do a search on the South African vaccine Detox program! If it isn't too harsh I will try it out, sounds like an article to wirte as well ;-)

Please; I like bean a lot and i don't react to eating (either feeling sick or bloating) except if i ate it late at night before going to bed i might bloat with smelly breath upon waking up the next morning,this lectin of a thing, all the grain types you mentioned are the major content of the food we consume daily, is there any other way to reduce this lectin in bean rather than soaking it over the night, because i realized when you soak been over the night before cooking it does lost its taste. I need a better way to cook my beans to reduce its lectin content and enjoy the taste also.

I can't eat late at night, I get migraines! When I stopped eating after 4pm I reduced my migraines to 3/4! I read there are blood types that can handle lectins differently. So you may be the blood type that can handle bean lectins. Your gut may be healthy as well and not suffer the irritation people like me deal with when we eat foods high in plant lectin.

Nice explanation
Thanks

Ah, I was pretty worried for a second until you suggested to soak the beans overnight. I don’t normally eat beans but my boyfriend started making me veggie burgers since my diet is mainly vegetarian.

Watch how you feel if you eat a lot of beans because if you are sensative to bean or legume lectins the damage to your intestines will be acclumative. I read the gut lining is damaged everytime we eat but when we sleep the lining of the gut heals itself...That's why I like to intermittent fast, I only eat between a 6 hour window and I keep my meals small. I usually eat two meals a day with a small snack, some kind of fruit or veggie that is easy for me to digest. I am surprised how little food I need to eat to stay healthy when I eat whole nutritional dense food.

This has helped my energy levels and my inflammation problems. My joints and muscles don't ache all the time like I have the flu!

your post is enriched knowledge about lectin, human physiology and diegestion power vary man to man, this is not based on solid and concreat proof, but lectin is found almost in every food and people here consume a diet which mostly taken leagums daily. some are low level but they are practicing this type regularly. and either they ignoring their problem or supper diegestio power as they get limited option to check up their health status.

You are right about how each person is different regarding how they handle lectins! Good job ;-)

Many people are experiencing inflammatory problems and poor health, reducing intake of lectins may help their digestion system heal so they can absorb nutrition to heal itself.

Dried beans are an adaptable, moderate wellspring of protein, fiber, starches, press, B vitamins, potassium, magnesium and other fundamental supplements. When you get ready dried beans starting with no outside help, you can dodge the sodium and different added substances that canned beans contain. Notwithstanding softening beans in arrangement for cooking and shortening their cooking time, splashing beans may make them more absorbable and improve their nutritious advantages

If you can absorb the nutrition from properly prepared legumes they are a great food source. However because I have inflammation issues and my gut has been damaged beans and other foods containing high lectin content are food I am going to avoid eating.

beans are my favorite. It's good to know the reasons behind bloating after eating it :)

I love beans as well @bhabykat, but they do not love me....hahaha I fart too much and bean lectins are not good for my gut health. There are many people who can handle bean lectins and they are good for their health.

I transit your writing from google, I am very interested in your discussion, yesterday I just had a problem after drinking a glass of tea and a plate of rice cooked with coconut milk, suddenly my stomach hurts and continues to spread all over my back, but I am not sure, I am afraid there is something wrong with my digestive system, whether this includes the influence of lectins from rice ,,
thank you in advance for your explanation, if you do not mind I will continue to follow your post

I didn't mention coconut but it is high in lectin content as well. You may be suffering from something else since you eat rice and coconut all the time. I can eat both without any problems! I read that you can eat certain plant lectins without any adverse effects if you have the right blood type. It is called the "Blood Type Diet."

I can't eat late at night, I mean I can't go to sleep with a full tummy, I get migraines and feel awful the next day like I partied all night drinking whisky and eating lots of peanuts (my favorite party food)...hahaha

you talk diet, I am always fail in diet ,, ha ,, ha ,, ha ,,
I have tried repeatedly, I am inconsistent, I failed to continue ,, my blood type O, if you have any suggestions I would be very grateful ,,
I am so glad you want to be friends with me.

I am type O as well, but I can't remember what kind, there are variations...I posted a link to a PDF article that talks about blood types and lectins. Go to the bottom of my article and look for this title. Even if you are not consistent, just pick one small thing to change. Like what you eat for breakfast...changing small habits impacts all your habits, kind like hmmmm making everything unstable and easier to change.

Graphs Taken From DIETARY LECTINS: BLOOD TYPES & FOOD ALLERGIES by Laura Power, Ph.D.

ok, thanks for the information, i will try to learn it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66167.46
ETH 3530.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15