Eating Like a Warrior

in #health7 years ago

I’ve been around health conscious people all my life. Both my grandmothers are nutritionists, my mom has consumed a library of natural health books, and my cousin is a practicing naturopath.

It is no surprise then that salads, kale smoothies, and fresh garden fruits are a thing in our family.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my ice cream and consume a half gallon on my own when it is in the house.

Eating healthy foods is something I learned first hand. Knowing when to eat my food is something I learned from a college friend.

The Warrior Diet is focused on eating live foods (what diet isn’t?), but the difference from other diets is only eating them 1 or 2 times a day.

The idea derives from the warrior cultures through the ages. Spartan and Roman soldiers would graze on fruits and nuts during the day, and enjoy some tasty game at night.

If you’re not eating heavy, it is easy to burn the stored calories. The under-eating phase during the day allows our digestive system to rest while the intermittent fasting clears our purification system.

I can tell you from personal experience that once you get used to the under-eating phase, your energy levels go through the roof - your mind is clear as well.

For anyone who has fasted, you know the effect that a good cleanse has on the mind. You accomplish this every day with the Warrior Diet.

Personally, I am someone who has to eat to keep weight on. But, I value the flexibility of the Warrior Diet because I can be leaner while keeping a healthy weight.

There is so much science behind the Warrior Diet, and I encourage you to check out the book or watch the video below. Let me know what you think.


Image Source: 1-2
Video Source: Eating Less Often

Sort:  

It is amazing what fasting can do both physically and spiritually! This is an interesting concept, I especially like the bit of Roman history thrown in!
Sounds like your family has a wealth of knowledge in regards to health and nutrition. Do they have any vitamins,supplements or tonics, or any other tricks they recommend?

I love the bit about Roman history as well. Makes it feel manly, lol.

We use Nutrilite products as a family. You can check out their story here

Haha, yes spartan warrior! I will definitely check it out!

Thanks for the post and the video, very informative. I have recently been looking into intermittent fasting and also doing some detox diets, which I am planning to implement in the coming weeks.

Glad you found the info useful! This is one of the best health decisions I have made.

I have never adhered to any diets. I can not imagine my diet without meat, cakes and other things. Naturally, vegetables, fruits, fish, cottage cheese are also in our diet. But we can pamper ourselves with chips and various harmful foods))))

Chips are a hard one for me. I eat a lot of them. :)

Seriously?))) And what is your favorite taste of chips?))) And in McDonald's love to walk?)))

Haha, yes. Salt and Vinegar chips are my favorite. I rarely eat fast food though. :)

For the first time I listen to chips with the taste of vinegar)))

Must be an American thing. :)

haha absolutely health is wealth in the end :D

I have been doing a version of intermittent fasting and I feel great and am losing weight nicely. TFS

Great to hear!

Informative post. Hope it helps keeping people healthy. You are inspiration to others.

Thank you. :)

Great video. I usually eat when I'm hungry. Or at least I have a tendency to want to eat when hungry only. Mostly I eat twice a day except when in "binge" mode. I'm going to take a longer think about what I just heard. The principle is a lot more freeing than following a "diet". Thanks for posting this video sir!

It is hard to mentally switch at first, but it is incredible how free you feel to work at your day and eat later after a week or two. You are most welcome!

I've been around healthy eating people all my life too - my son just visited from BC and he told my wife my diet is terrible. Yeah, I know, I have to have some faults to work on, so I will explore healthy eating - right after I finish the cherry pie I just bought for Canadian Thanksgiving :)

Lol, I like your thinking, John. :)

You are what you eat...always good to eat healthy and smart ....thanks for sharing

We feel much better when we do. Thanks for stopping by, my friend.

welcome and more success

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 2.2% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @lydon.sipe
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lydon.sipe to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35