Meditation for the restless ones - do you dare?

in #health6 years ago (edited)

This is a powerful exercise to shake off your stress! Meditation doesn't have to be still and silent. Shaking is an old type of meditation that has been used for thousands of years to wind down, become more present and awaken the body. It's an active form of meditation, perfect for when the thoughts are spinning. Shaking is a natural behaviour, something kids and animals sometimes do after stressful situations.

You'll look quite crazy...

So start by finding a private place if it makes you feel more comfortable. I tried shaking for the first time one year ago at a yoga and meditation retreat in India. We began every morning with 10 minutes of shaking. At first it was hard to let go of the tensions, but after a while it felt amazing!

How to shake it:

There is no right or wrong, shaking can look in many ways. The main thing is that we shake the body and totally let go. But here are some guidelines:

  • Stand up with your feet hip wide apart, bend your legs slightly and relax.
  • Close your eyes.
  • Put on some nice music, such as shaking music like this one by OshO (Spotify).
  • Relax your jaws and breathe through your mouth.
  • Start shaking your body from your knees, hips, stomach, buttocks, chest, arms, face. Make the entire body from the inside and out to vibrate.
  • Shake exactly how you like it. Maybe with your arms over your head, fast, slow, leaning forward or backwards...
  • Let go of thoughts about the past and the future. When you notice them (they will probably come and go), kindly return and focus on the present.

After shaking it is nice to stand still for a little while, pay attention to what is happening in the body and then rest a few minutes.


How do you feel about meditation? And is this way of practice presence something you want to try?


If you like this post please upvote, follow or resteem <3

Sort:  

Okay, so, I DO practice meditation, and this one is new to me!! I'm going to try it in the morning and not tell my husband what I'm doing. I bet I can get him to join me!! LOL! Sounds fun!!!

Haha that is wonderful! It can be really fun! Hope you will like it and that your husband join you! :D

I don’t do yoga (yet) but this sounds like the easiest way to start! Put on some music and shake the day ‘hello’! I might try this out after this nights sleep :-) Thanks for this idea, I’d never heard of it.

It only takes a few yoga poses to see results. Stretching in general is great for you. Holding each position for a while will give you a nice low impact workout too! Perhaps the biggest benefit is the psychological impact of focusing all your energy on the task at hand. By focusing on the stretch, the gentle pain as muscles loosen up, and the sensation of burning as you force your muscles to hold a pose, you give your mind a break from all the other distractions in the world.

This is a great reminder, thank you! I love yoga, it has been so good for the mind :) Like your posts, now following!

Yes it's really fun, easy and a great way to start the day! At first I felt silly but now I have even dared to do shaking in a park in central Stockholm (the tourists passing by got really surprised haha) :) Hope you will like it!

I practice yoga on a regular basis and I really enjoy meditation, but I don't take time to that to often. This sounds cool and fun, definitely worth trying.

By the way: have you heard about plans for a Scandinavian meet up innCopenhagen: https://steemit.com/steemit/@copensteem/copenhagen-the-beautiful-city-to-host-the-first-official-meet-up-in-scandinavia

You live in Sweden right?

That's great! I always feel good after meditation but it can be hard to practice when we need it the most. This kind of meditation is sometimes easier for me those times :) Hope you will like it :)

Oh I had not heard about it, thank you for telling me! I'm interested! Live in Stockholm but could defenitely go to Copenhagen for a meetup :) Are you going?

I'm definitely thinking about going, would be so much fun. Else a meet up in Sweden is great to plan as well:-) I live not far from Stockholm.

This is like a more active form of morning stretching, I'd be truly happy if it can help more people to get into their bodies and feel their energy throughout the day. nice post!

Thank you! Oh me too! If it could help people to feel more present and connect to their body I would be so happy :)

Oh my god @givemeyoursteem, this is such an awesome post!! It made me so excited, because this is exactly what I need right now. It is always hard to let everything go and not to feel crazy when you are dancing/shaking alone, but this is exactly why I need to do it. To feel this freedom!!! It is a challenge and I can't wait to do it tonight!

Thank you so much!! And big thanks for your resteem <3 Yes it's an awesome feeling even if it can feel a bit strange in the beginning. The good thing is that no one has to see us when we are doing it - if we don't want to ;) Best of luck with the shaking, I hope you'll like it!

I love this......I am following, upvoting, and resteeming......Check some of my post out as well, you probably will enjoy....Blessings and much love🙏😇❤

Oh I'm so glad to hear! I like your posts and the focus on meditation. Following you to! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86