Return to SUP training after a 3 month break

in #health6 years ago (edited)

sup-carnivore.jpg

Ok, so not a flattering image, it was not supposed to be. Taking a break from my usual philosophical pondering to get back into some movement training today.

So imagine if you did almost zero exercise for 3 months apart from a bit of stretching.(lots of screen time)
Imagine if you had not eaten for 20 hours, and even then only very little. (I usually eat once per day because I hate dishes)
Imagine if you only ate meat, almost totally zero plants of any kind for 7.5 months. (I am a contrarian in most things)
Then imagine if you paddled out to sea for 3km and returned (6km total) on a 23.5" wide 14' long race SUP with 6 knot headwind.

The phone app "run keeper" stopped recording at 5km, so did not pick up the last 1km.
Even so, 6km/hour is about 2-2.5km/h slower than what I used to paddle when I was training.
I have lost muscle mass, skill and some fitness, (I fell many times), but considering all the training I "have not" done, my body has maintained a fair amount of tone and performance.

Still as ugly as a bag of smashed crabs, and should at least brush my hair before a photo - but I am what I am.

I am a bit of minimalist, simply because when I reduce the unnecessary, what remains is easier to understand and maintain.

If you read my posts, you'll figure that I am a great appreciator of nature and of reality as it has been unfolding long before technological influences began playing a significant role. Long before the stories of man began re-mapping our instincts.

That is probably the reason I ended up trying a diet based upon what my ancestors may have eaten during both ice ages and times of plentiful game.

I enjoy Stand Up Paddle, (SUP) training because it rewards both functional baseline tension (postural/emotional) and the application of force in a moving environment, (focus and skill).

The ocean may be largely dead, but it still moves to non synthetic forces ie. heat and gravity. It is so nice to calibrate to this and just this.

Any day above ground is a good day
Any day above water is a great day =8-P

I know I won't win any votes from the vegetarian community, but I have tried both that and raw vegan also. I greatly respect all who try different things and find their own way in the short amount of time we have, before we too return to where ever we arise from.

Sort:  

Awsome! The best shape ive ever been in and the best i ever felt was on a keto style diet. Mainly meat and some plants. Any particular reason youve done this? Heres a post i did for my vegan friends...

https://steemit.com/life/@weirdheadaches/my-favorite-plant

Never tried SUP but i grew up surfing. Maybe if i can heal enough ill give it a go. Wanting to start a fast, a cleanse, and keto style again. Cool post.

SUP is easy compared to surfing, but still is a different skill set which takes a little while to learn.
I love it because it is all about alternately, relaxing and allowing, then pulsing massive leverage.

All this happens to the tune of heat and gravity moving through water - that is the rhythm we recalibrate to on narrow board.

You'll totally get it instantly.

Like yourself I have tried many ways of eating, I just felt drawn to try this as it is so minimalistic.
Ruminants have 4 stomaches and turn grass and weeds into the most precious organic building blocks that are easily assimilated and in the ideal ratios - so reason goes. I had to try it, now it is what I gravitate back to, no discipline required.

I saw your post, very cool, thanks for dropping in!

Minimalistic cool :). Havent surfed in years so SUP take some time. Very cool rhythms

No vegetables for 7.5 months?
How's your body feel after that? Any noticeable issues?

Also, I tried standup paddle boarding for the first time recently, within a short period of time I found myself on a clear collision course with a pier pylon, I vowed I would not collide with it....my strength and novice skills i was sure would be sufficient to prevent such an easily avoidable outcome....alas I fell in, soaked not only in water, but also in the realization that I was a weak rookie!

I actually just felt better and better until that became the new normal.
I was already "keto" - using fat for fuel, for a couple of years so the transition was actually very smooth.

No trouble at all going to toilet for number 2's - and the morning diarrhoea I had had for the past 12 years cleared up right away. So far I can see zero need for fibre or for plants so long as high quality fatty meats are available and sustainable. (plenty of grass out there).

SUP - oh man its such an amazing thing to play with. Balance is not compromise it is aligning with nature while its moving. It is the most incredible therapy as well as being fun. I used to enjoy introducing it to new students but do not teach so much anymore.

Well done for getting out there, pylons can be dangerous. good to have lots of space when learning :)

That's interesting. I know the keto diet doesn't gel with everyone's biochemistry but you sound like one of the ideal responders. I will try SUP'ing again and hope i'm less of a pylon magnet the second time around!

Food is such a tricky thing to understand.
We use it for social bonding as well as for altering, (distracting our emotional states).
Radically changing diet will also radically change our gut bacteria
It can take many weeks to settle
Also when we are consuming hundreds of different compounds it is very hard to know exactly what is causing inflammation etc..

For sure though there are people who seem to be thriving on all sorts of variations, very cool to see.

Have fun!

That is actually impressive. I have a canoe that I use in the river. Never tried paddling straight out like that before. In the river is nice and relaxing. You don't even have to paddle much at all!

Yeah, standing up makes you so much more sensitive to movement of the water and how we are applying pressure through our bodies in relation to gravity. Its a really great way to train, do a bit of mindfulness and get some alone with nature time all rolled into one.

Great the training for any old

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Testing your mind and your body shows your perseverance and determination to try new approaches to life as you only have one, so why not.
Btw, you don't look too bad at all if we may say. If we hit the gym for a year and then don't go for a month, we find ourselves back to square one. Usually down to an over-indulgence of everything. Every body is different. Thanks for the post.

✈️👫

Hi :)) You have a sporty appearance :)) Many people who have a round shape of a pie, would you like them to have such a sporty figure as yours :)) You are very real and inquisitive. You yourself are trying to find the right life for yourself, and not to follow other people's opinions and attitudes. I support you :))

Thanks for the support :)) I will periodically give you the SBD.

very kind, but really no need, I have plenty and you have kids :)
still a very nice gesture and was appreciated

I'm happy that in my life there are such wonderful and kind people - it's you :)) We live with you in different countries, which are very far from each other, and we speak different languages. But I am pleasantly surprised at your good gesture. I hope I can call you my friend in Steemit :)) And I hope in the future, and for you to do something good and useful :)) Good luck to you !!!

Hi Olga, your thoughtful comments make it worth writing.
I earn rewards, which I am grateful for, but I write mostly to explore
the conditions which are common to all us humans.
Your comments also challenge me to look more deeply and be more honest.
I can tell that you are also knowledgable and interested in this subject, it is fun to explore and share what we discover.
Mostly though it is just nice to see my friend here, and feel your kindness, even when your questions are tough and make me try harder :)

You did really hard work in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55910.18
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27