My #2 Favorite Natural Beauty Product: FERMENTED RICE WATER

in #health7 years ago

fermented-rice-water.jpg

Second only to coconut oil, fermented rice water is my favorite substance to put on skin and hair. With an atomizer spray bottle, I use it as a hair rinse, and face toner.

SKIN

rice-water-skin.jpg

Source

Nearly 50 years ago at a sake brewery in Japan, a group of scientists serendipitously noticed that THE HANDS of the brewers were unusually soft, and showed strong contrast to, and far fewer signs of, aging than THE FACES of those brewers.

The researchers were perplexed by this.

Reportedly, after decades of research, ..."they surmised that the secret must lie in the yeast that the brewers’ hands were in constant contact with during the sake fermentation process."

They found it to be full of:

  • B vitamins
  • Vitamin E
  • Amino acids, that provide moisture
  • Organic acids, that remove dead skin cells
  • Pitera, a substance produced during fermentation that promotes cell regeneration and renewal

SK-II sells a very expensive skin care line that is based on pitera. But why pay $100+ when you can get the active ingredient by simply soaking rice, and waiting a couple days? :-)

page-divider.jpg

HAIR

yao-women.jpg

Source

The hair of Yao women in a Chinese village, Huangluo, grows longer than 3 feet. And they remain grayless until they are in their late 80's. They attribute this to washing their hair with fermented rice water.

yao-women2.jpg

Source

I have a coarse and curly afro, AND live in a very humid, tropical climate. Even still, I find the following to be true:

  • increases elasticity, hair is just springier
  • detangles + decreases hair's surface friction
  • amino acids strengthen hair roots
  • nourishes hair follicles
  • restores pH balance

"Found in rice water is inositol, a carbohydrate that can repair damaged hair as well as protect it from future damage."

The one and only caution.

This water will ferment, and stink. Not to worry, though. The unpleasant smell will completely disappear, once dry.

QUESTION: Does gluten health-up our hair?

Gluten is Latin for GLUE. As in sticky. Adhesive.

Lots of people go out of their way to avoid foods with gluten in it. Those with Celiac disease and Irritable Bowl Syndrome, for example, are often encouraged to adopt a gluten-free diet.

Okay, so it might not be the best thing to have INSIDE us, but what if...

... the same thing in it that gives bread dough its elasticity, gives SIMILAR elasticity -- and therefore resilience -- to hair?

HOW TO MAKE IT

There's no need to get overly scientific about measurements with this. I'll tell you how I make mine. I apologize to those of you who prefer precise recipes.

I find, when working with low-risk, natural ingredients and processes, it is (for me) more effective, to find and follow my own guidance.

First, I research. Online. Offline. Inline.

Then, I sift, sort and select the right path, or practice, for me.

That's what I did with this ancient Asian beauty tip:

  • See the empty salsa jar in the photo above? I put about 2 inches of white rice in it. (You can use any kind of rice. The internet suggests organic).

  • Filled the jar with water. Covered with lid. Did not cook. (Heat kills the nutrients. Lots of people still like to cook their rice first.)

  • Let sit room temperature for 2-3 days. (The longer wait makes for a stronger rinse. The internet recommends 24 hours. I want more fermentation than that. It will stink more, but I figure that is because it has more inositol and pitera, which I welcome. And when the water dries, the sour smell goes away completely.)

sake.jpg

TIP: If I were ever in a pinch, or a rush... I would consider using a store-bought bottle of sake, with a spray bottle!

page-divider.jpg

Gif Source

Other Recent or Relevant Posts:

* The Powerful Speedy Wound Healing Qualities Of Coconut Oil, Proven With A Recent Gash On My Head

* My First ColorChallenge :: FridaySkyBlue :: Acapulco Bay

* Celebrating One Year On Steemit!

* Allow Your Good Thing

* We Are The Message


@erikaharris

Sort:  

Great advice, didn't know it was such a good thing for you! Thanks for sharing!

@tamacvet: I enjoyed researching and experimenting! Thanks for your support and upvote :-)

This looks very interesting. Easy enough to start the ferment while I do more research. Thank you!

My pleasure, @soulsistashakti. I'm happy to have a fermentation buddy here :-)

I've been wanting to try fermented rice water as a hair rinse for a while now. I've recently shed more than half of my hair and am trying to grow some/all of it back. I've never heard of gluten for hair, but find that an interesting approach to better elasticity. Thanks for sharing your tips :)

@lisamodular! I used to have a shedding problem, too. Now, I can't even pull my hair out, when I TRY! lol It's considerably stronger. I hope it works similarly, or better, for you!

Smells like boiled egg (ewww!) but: (1) very temporary, depending on how quickly your hair dries; and (2) very worth it! Best wishes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51