MIT Breakthrough: Color Changing Tattoo Ink for Diabetics.

in #health7 years ago

Steemit this could be revolutionary!...Or it is at least a step in helping diabetics.


color-ink-384867_640.jpg

As I'm sitting here writing this post, I can feel the effects of a drop in my blood sugar levels. So that means I have to draw blood and check to see just how low. Yikes!! 42! (it's supposed to be near 100) Get this man juice stat! Imagine if I could have just glanced down at a tattoo on my arm and noticed it was changing color instead of drawing blood. A lot less of a pain in the ass right? I guess I mean pain in the finger.

diabetas21.jpg

Researchers at MIT and Harvard have collaborated in developing a tattoo ink that combines liquid and biosensors. So far, three inks have been made that can measure sugar levels, PH levels, and sodium levels. The ink for sugar levels changes from a blue to brown as blood sugar levels increased. Unfortunately these inks are in the proof of concept stage in there research and have only been tested on pig skin. It is likely that these color changing tattoos won't be around for years.


It's a great idea that could dramatically cut the number of times you have to stick yourself with a needle everyday. I hope that one day I might get a tattoo with it. Heck, better yet a cure for type 1 would be the bees knees! Thanks for reading!


images are from commercially licensed google image search.
News article is here
Snopes fact check

Until next time...

Keep Being Cool Steemit!


doctorcrypto.gif

Sort:  

This Post was resteemed by @resteemitnow

|| POST RESTEEMED + UPVOTED ||

Want to Boost your Posts?

Introduction Post Read here

Just send 0.030 SBD NOW

Nice information bro ....
I have upvoted for you ....
Keep voting,commenting,writing.....!!!
@zayushz

Thank you sir!

MIT at it again, creating one solution at a time!

As always you got my vote Doc. Awesome article and yes, that would be an amazing development. It would also bring type 1 and 2 into easily managed territory and I bet overall stats would soon show more level HbA1c results. Probably more affordable than the medtronic artificial pancreases as well. Will definitely resteem.

Thanks for the resteem!
As far as type 1 goes.. I feel that there is definite promise in stem cell research. In the meantime,
If you could look at your tattoo to get a general idea of your levels!... Mindblowing.

Congratulations @doctorcrypto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Super-duper awesome!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

This post received a 1.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @doctorcrypto! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

That would be very awesome! I myself am not, but have close family members who are... It kinda gets tiresome, and they get lazy at doing it, which can be dangerous... :(

Indeed! Being lazy about it is when it gets dangerous. (long term problems) I myself am guilty of this. :(
I see all kinds of studies and breakthroughs but unfortunately, It seems like it is not in the foreseeable future.

Yeahhh, I know... :( Sad but true...

I would love a tat that did more than take up space on my... Well everywhere... At this point there isn't too much bare skin left and I haven't been under the gun for a while, but a small syringe inked into my forearm letting me know its my time - would sit for that one in a NY minute...
Steem on sir... Steem on... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71