Fasting for 36 hours before I go full KETOGENIC!

in #health7 years ago

I have been on a mission to become the best me possible lately. The most recent change I'm going to be making is switching to a ketogenic diet. A ketogenic diet is when you switch your major source of energy from carbohydrates to burning fat instead. This a hudge dietary change as a vegetarian. To "kickstart" the ketosis process I am going threw a 36 hour water fast(also going to be ingesting sodium, potasium and magneseium to avoid the "keto flu"). The water fast will force my body into getting used to burning fat as the major energy source rather then carb's. The goal is to ingest less then 40 grams of carbohydrates per day, And fast completely from carbs for 10 hours per day.

There are TONS of benefits of switching to a ketogenic diet, Helps prevent cancer, Increase in stable energy, neuroprotective benefits, Increase in cognitive function, Reduction of "over activity in the brain", Eating tons of DHEA and fats also helps increase the mass of your brain. Ketogenic diets are also great for alot of people who are trying to loose weight, who have epilepsy, diabetes, high blood pressure, acne, alzheimers and the list goes on and on.

Here are a few quotes from the National Institute of Health about ketogenic diets.

"On each of the final 5 d on the diets, ketone diet–fed rats ran 32% (P < 0.05) further than did the Western diet– and carbohydrate diet–fed rats (Fig. 2A). Ketone diet–fed rats were the only group that increased running performance from baseline, averaging 22% (P < 0.05) further each day over the 5 d."

" Supplementation with a ketone ester improved running performance on a motorized treadmill and working memory during a maze test. Mechanistically, ketone ester supplementation was found to increase the free energy available from ATP hydrolysis in the isolated, perfused rat heart under conditions of increased work."

Source:
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5102124/

"During the five days of acquisition training, the escape latency of the rats in each group decreased day by day, but the average latency of the KD rats was less than that of the STD rats began on the fourth day (Fig 2B), indicating that KD treatment enhanced spatial learning ability."

"Spatial learning and memory were assessed by the MWM after multi-modal stress exposure. All animals swam without difficulty and no differences in swim speed were observed between diets or stress (p = 0.95 and p = 0.92, respectively, data not shown). A non-significant trend was observed for a main effect of stress on path length (p = 0.07), suggesting that exposure to stress resulted in a trend for increased swim distance. This effect reached statistical significance on day 4 (two-way ANOVA, main effect of stress, p = 0.02, Figure ​Figure3C).3C). Individual analysis of daily path length revealed that KD-fed rats swam significantly shorter distances when compared to NIH-31-fed rats on both days 2 and 3 (p = 0.05 and p = 0.04, respectively) regardless of exposure to stressors."

Source:
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5430035/

20170823_112748.jpg

Sort:  

I want to try this just finished a 21 day colon cleanse and it would be the perfect time to jump into this. This reminds me of the Atkins diet from a long time ago!

In the last 2 month I have tried for some times to stop eating for 36 hours - a detox diet that also helps to start the ketosis process but i always failed
:(
My work require me to resolve problems daily and I have noticed that when i don't eat - the brain does not work so efficiently as it should, and so it takes me more time to resolve issues than usually i resolve faster
..after all the brain works on sugar

in few weeks i go on leave and i will try it again

I dounloaded books and recipes for the ketogenic diet but havn't tried any yt, but I at pretty healthy anyway. Mostly organic non gmo and do a lot of green smoothies with kelp and Chorella. upvote and resteeming this for you.

I heard by many friends that ketogenic diet is harmful for health is that right or not ?

How is it harmful? Outside of going into full blown keto acidosis, or having preexisting renal problems.... There is no evidence that it is bad for you. Studies have actually show an increase in the life span of rats.

Waao thanks for this information and clearing my doubts :)

is this healthy, why dont you just eat a healthy diet, smaller portions and go for brisk walks

As long as you still get the essential micro nutrients through juices, tea and potential supplements, this is a very healthy diet.
It uses the bodies fat stores to keep itself running, in the process a lot of bodily functions are getting a reset and are activated again. Less energy and blood (energy) will be running through the digestive system so it can go to places where it is needed more, healing the body.

I am a simple farmers daughter without much luck in life, all you guys could change it by using a few minutes watching me pouring out my heart and giving me a upvote so that I can buy a new cam without standing on the street offering my pussy to the lowest bidder.

Please, I lost all on Mgox.

Kisses

how did this go?

Legend! Nice call. I do intermittent fasting to try to get in a ketogenic state. It feels great. I wish I would have known before.
Let me know how the 3 day fast goes. I've never done that before.
Cheers bud. Talk to you soon.

Im more or less on a Kito diet. It's difficult, but being a meat eater, it soes allow me to double down on the

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond Please consider upvoting this comment as this project is supported only by your upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53