Huge Increase in SHINGLES at Younger Ages Than Ever Before ... as Chickenpox has DecreasedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health8 years ago (edited)


Chickenpox (Varicella) Vaccine can inhibit the body from achieving its own immunity to Shingles.

Only a few countries in the world have added Chickenpox vaccination to their Childhood Immunization Schedules.

This is for two main reasons:

#1 Chickenpox is a mild illness that is almost always benign

#2 Scientists predicted that a decrease in children with chickenpox would result in an increase in more serious occurrences of Shingles.

Shingles (Herpes Zoster) used to occur predominately in seniors. Exposure throughout an adult's life to children with Chickenpox, acted as an immune system booster that prevented Shingles. The most at-risk for Shingles were seniors who did not have regular contact with children.

Shingles can be very painful and is much more serious than chickenpox.

Miller's Review of Critical Vaccine Studies, by Neil Z. Miller, lists several studies published in Medical Journals related to the Chickenpox Vaccine, including these two studies below (#187 & #188) that show:

The Chickenpox vaccine program decreased cases of chickenpox but increased cases of shingles and lowered the age of infection.

#1 The Impact of the Varicella Vaccination Program on Herpes Zoster Epidemiology in the United States: A Review

"As varicella vaccine coverage in children increased, the incidence of varicella decreased and the occurrence of herpes zoster (shingles) increased."
This study investigated the impact of widespread varicella vaccination in Massachusetts on the epidemiology of chickenpox and shingles.
Between 1999 and 2003, the chickenpox vaccination rate among children 19-35 months of age increased from 66% to 89%. Cases of shingles in all age groups (including the elderly) increased by 90%, a highly significant trend. Cases of shingles in the 25-44 year age group significantly increased by 161%

#2 Herpes zoster ophthalmicus: declining age at presentation

"Our study suggests varicella vaccination of children remains a possible explanation for the increased number of cases and reduction in mean age of newly diagnosed [herpes zoster ophthalmicus] patients."
This study investigated 913 patients at a U.S. hospital diagnosed with herpes zoster ophthalmicus (HZO), severe and painful shingles of the eye. The number of cases at this hospital increased from 71 in 2007 to 195 in 2013. The mean age of HZO patients decreased significantly during the same period.

On a personal note, a good friend of mine has worked in child care for many years. There is a large reference manual that daycares keep handy that list childhood illnesses. When she first began working in daycare, shingles was not in the manual, and she never saw shingles in little children. But as the years went by after introduction of the chickenpox vaccine, she started to see occasional cases of shingles in the daycare children, and the reference manuals were updated to include shingles as a childhood illness.

It appears to me that the introduction of mass vaccination for Chickenpox was a disaster on several levels. Vaccination has increased cases of a much more serious health condition (Shingles). Not only that, the Chickenpox vaccine comes with it's own list of serious Adverse Reactions.

Please see my earlier article on how a child was put into a vegetative state from the chickenpox vaccine. Matthew's VaxXed Story: Chickenpox Virus Infected Spinal Cord & Brain, Causing Permanent Brain Damage

For More Stories Like This One, Visit My Blog And Follow Me: @canadian-coconut

Sort:  

I had chicken pox as a kid and it was no big deal.

And I had shingles last year - it was very itchy, and I felt pretty crap but it's not worth freaking out over.

I had four vaccinations as a child and that's all, but I wish I hadn't had those.

A coworker of my wife got the chickenpox vaccine for her son and he got chickenpox from the vaccine. So don't believe this crap they tell ya that these are dead viruses because they're not.

Yes, the chickenpox vaccine can shed. A good friend's unvaccinated children got it from playing with a recently vaccinated neighbour child. Overall, the incidence of chickenpox has still dropped a lot though and caused an increase in Shingles.

Luckily, I've never had chicken pox. My brother has never had it, either, and neither has my dad. I've read that some people are naturally immune, and we've always wondered if we are. I saw both my great-grandmother and my mother have painful cases of shingles (my mom had chicken pox as a kid), and know it's a nasty, agonizing thing children should not be subject to.

I taught elementary school for a short time in my mid-20's, and briefly thought about getting the chicken pox vaccine, because I had a cousin who got "the pox" as an adult, and it was pretty bad on her....I read later it's worse in adults who get it. But, I was seeing an acupuncturist at the time who was really anti-vaccine, and she's the one who first turned me on to the anti-vax movement. I decided to not get the vaccine, and when chicken pox came through my classroom, I remained immune and did not get it. So, while I wouldn't want to rub my face on a kid who had chicken pox, I'm not too concerned about getting it, even if I'm standing near one who has it. I'd rather not get the vaccine. It seems like you're taking more of a chance with that than anything.

Good information!

If you ever had your titers tested, you would most likely show up as having the anti-bodies and being immune to chickenpox. Not everybody exposed to it gets all or any of the symptoms. My daughter had full exposure to chickenpox (played several times with a friend who had it) and so I waited until the expected incubation period. Sure enough she got a fever and when I looked closely I found 2 spots that were questionable as to what they were, and that was it -- she got better. If I hadn't known of her chickenpox exposure I would have said that she never had it. Yet I'm sure that she is now immune. The same goes for measles and mumps -- it depends on the state of your body when you get exposure -- sometimes you get full symptoms and sometimes you fight it off easily with few symptoms.

You and your brother were probably carriers of the disease. Most viruses naturally have carriers to help spread the disease.

That might make sense. My husband has always jokingly referred to me as a carrier, because I'm often exposed to certain things, but don't get sick. However, HE does, even if he was never exposed directly....he accuses me of carrying these things back home to him. Maybe he's onto something. Perhaps I'm a natural carrier. Interesting. I wonder what would make a person a carrier, who never actually got what they were carrying.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92