IS CONVENIENCE CONVENIENT?

in #health6 years ago (edited)

00330019.JPG

Every aspect of life has been and is advancing and yet there seems to be something missing. In an age of technology there is an increased desire to return to the ancient ways. Instead of slowing down; thanks to all the modern conveniences, we are speeding up. Why is it that instead of peace of mind our lives are more stressful and we constantly long for more time.

The dictionary defines Convenience as "the state of being able to proceed with something without difficulty. Synonyms: benefit, use, good, comfort, ease, enjoyment, satisfaction"

Benefit. Enjoyment. Satisfaction. These words strike me as the perfect definition of Convenience. And yet, our "instant" modern lifestyle is anything but beneficial, enjoyable or satisfying. Let's look at a couple convenient aspects of modern life.

*Convenience foods - in the long run - compromises our health and affects the vitality of family who no longer sit around the table enjoying a home-cooked meal.
*Modern transport - the proverbial planes, trains, automobiles - rob us of the pleasure and beauty of the journey.
*Multi media has replaced face to face time over a cup of tea strengthening the bonds of friendship.

Of course this is a broad generalization. But we have all been in company when someone (often ourselves) spends more time on their cellphone. Do you think that convenience is convenient? Or, like us are you slowly introducing those old fashioned practices?

Buckaroo Baby 2016-10-28 013.JPG

One area that I am returning to the ancient way is preferring cloth diapers and mama cloth. Disposable diapers scare me! Yip. I have nightmares about using disposable diapers. They were invented for our convenience and comfort. And yet, they are more like a weapon of warfare in disguise! My main reason for avoiding them at all costs (pun intended) is because the chemical reaction against the delicate baby's body is actually carcinogenic. We think that disposables are cheap but if you do the calculations you will quickly find that they are far more expensive than cloth diapers. Apart from the effects on budget is the damage these things cause to the environment. It is believed that one disposable diaper will take about 500 years to decompose. That theory has clearly never been tested as they haven't been around that long. However, because nothing natural is used in making disposables how can it ever decompose?

IMG_0427.JPG

Cloth diapers today have come a far way since the terry toweling and safety pins of our childhoods. I know I make cloth diapers. Let me tell you; they are beautiful! They are easy to wash and so easy to wear. My little one has never had a rash problem wearing cloth diapers. We've never had accidents. And believe it or not cloth is actually far more hygenic. Cloth diapers are truly convenient! Cloth diapers tick all my boxes.

As a hippie organic homesteading mama there is no alternative to cloth diapers.

IMG_9621.JPG

Sort:  

[Sigh] I agree with all your points mama. It's a sad progression to 22nd century when every thing is fast and easy - fast and easy path to the grave.

I enjoyed cloth diapering, though it's not as cute as your cloth diapers :) Do you sell them? You ought to.

Yes I do sell them. My cloth diaper business is the original Buckaroo! I call my brand Buckaroo Baby. The name is a combination of our last name and the area where we live.

Oh, how I planned to use cloth diapers! When I found out we were expecting twins I even considered a diaper service that would pick up the dirty ones and leave us clean ones but we were just out of the service area. In a 200 sqft. house, with a teeny washer/dryer combo, and twins I resorted to disposable and it haunts me. I was incredibly happy to discover that our waste station goes through extreme lengths to break down each diaper in a way that leaves much less impact on the environment though. I applaud you for using cloth diapers and for encouraging others to as well! If we have any more babies you better believe I am hopping on that train, I just hope they come in singles! -Aimee

Edit to add: We featured your latest post in a Pay It Forward Contest here. Keep up the great posting!

Aimee don't let it haunt you. A friend of mine has a great expression. She says she "chooses her battles". I love that. We each decide what will or simply can't work for us. Cloth diapers and mama cloth are non negotiable areas but then there are other things I've simply not been able to do. I must admit washing all those diapers for twins would be a challenge. My husband has triplets from his previous marriage and he said when faced with cloth or disposable TIMES THREE, convenience won. I totally get that.

Thank you for the feature! I love the #payitforward and happy you featured my goatie girl and goat diaper (it's my signature diaper which I had especially designed)

Thank you, choosing your battles is great advice and one I employ often especially with twins. Triplets? Wow! That's incredible. I have a hard enough time with one baby vying for my attention when I am busy with the other; I don't know how I would manage one more. @alaskahippie also has triplets and she's been an amazing resource to me here. I love her perspective and her determination, it's inspirational. I was more than pleased to be able to feature your content, especially that adorable photo! Did you create the graphic for that goat pattern!? -Aimee

Oh wow! I didn't know @alaskahippie has triplets! I've enjoyed my interaction with her but we haven't ever discussed HOW MANY children. Phew. She is inspirational. But so are you!

Yes, I had that especially designed. Because I'm so goat crazy I wanted to somehow incorporate that aspect of homesteading into my diaper business. The print is so popular some moms have ordered matching clothing with that diaper. It's really sweet. It just has too much pink for my little boy or I'd probably have a couple sets!

Oh thank you. Today was a challenging day and I don't feel so inspirational. Yes! She even shared a picture of her trio in the discord group.

I love that diaper design. I have no doubt it would be requested for other uses too. That's fantastic! -Aimee

Congrats great post you won the Gogreenbuddy contest! Max upvote for you!

Yay! That's wonderful. Thank you so much @gogreenbuddy!

mmmm, Great question! and great answer too!! if we actually stop and think about so many things we do.. it makes the mind boggle!
oh and.....
Congratulations @buckaroo your post had been selected for an upvote worth ~$1.66 as part of the @ecoTrain Community Support Initative. Your upvote will come soon!

I hope this encourages you to keep writing amazing posts and making this world a better place!.




JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW

Oh wonderful! Thank you @eco-alex
And yes we do many things without questioning; and when we do we find there are very few of us actually questioning...

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

As I see it, yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

It's a throw-away society and FULL THROTTLE too, it seems that no one can be bothered waiting for anything anymore, they want everything NOW.
I am not sure when it started to happen, but i have seen the trend accelerate around 30 years ago...
Hopefully we will all soon realise the importance of speed and convenience soon.
GOOD LUCK

I used clothe diapers on all three of my children. They NEVER had a diaper rash or problem. I despised disposable diapers.

Twice a week I would soak, wash and sanitize their diapers; and when the child-rearing was over, those clothe diapers made the BEST rags!

Sorry for the late reply @goldendawne! I love your input. I also despise disposables. But I think they have become the "norm" and so people preferring cloth diapers get frowned upon these days. I'm happy to see how the awareness is growing though

Nice post mama! I agree we don’t see the journey anymore and rely on convenience...
We did try cloth diapers but because of how my baby was like at the time we had a bad experience and reverted back to disposables. I think what would have helped us at the time was if someone who was experienced was able to explain how to use them in the best way or even a pamphlet with how to would have been great!
Disposables were something we resorted to to reduce our stress as first time parents - our son did a lot of poo explosions and he leaked overnight when he wore the cloth ones.
Perhaps for the second we will try again. I heard that girls are better using them.
Thank you for the thoughts though!

Having someone demonstrate is definitely the way to go! I have had some really scare pooplosions but they are always contained in cloth. I've chatted to moms who use cloth and disposable and they agree that the cloth always contains those explosions. I hope you can find someone either in your area or online who can talk you through them. They are really very easy - once you know how. Once I join discord we can chat

Hey I just realised you aren’t on our @steemitmamas group! Just thought you were since you tagged your post with our hashtag😃hope to see you on our discord group!!

Thanks @vincy. No I follow @steemitmamas and tag when I feel it is a relevant topic. I have as yet to join the discord group. I barely have time for posting and following which is why I haven't joined yet

Your diapers are so cute!!
And your piece is here is very true! I sadly used diapers on my kids but I don't think I will make that mistake again. Especially if I'm home all the time, there's no excuse.
Your goat looks pretty amused by them as well! :) how cute!

My goats are amused! They are my four legged kids and always insist on being involved.

Haha! Awh! That's so funny.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55128.91
ETH 2303.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31