Life is Death is Life [Living with Fibromyalgia and Chronic Pain][What is Fibromyalgia?]

in #health7 years ago

As the sun breaks through the blinds each morning, my eyes open with less energy than when I closed them the night before, my body aches with knots like gremlins had burrowed within the sinew and muscles across my shoulders, arms, chest, and back, and often a lightning bolt sears through the center of my legs as my sciatic nerve ignites.


Mind still foggy from cycling through stage 1 and stage 2 sleep and never reaching stage 3 (restorative sleep), the first thing I reach for is my medicine, cannabis concentrates. After medicating with a few dabs, I spend 15-30 minutes doing a morning yoga routine, followed by a breakfast shake made fresh full of all the things I need to process and metabolize the foods I eat throughout the day. Failing to consume this shake leaves me with severe constipation which leads to exasperating the pain I already experience, or with severe diarrhea leaving me malnourished and dehydrated. I have to be extremely careful of what foods I put in my body as my body tends to reject many different things, synthesized chemicals especially, and they either cause me extremely painful bloating and gas, irregular stools, or just an increase in the pain I already experience; during the worst of my flare-ups I cannot even keep water down.

close enough.jpg
Source


When these symptoms came to a peak in late 2015 I had given up on my health and was ready to take my own life. The pain was so severe I had trouble breathing some days. I couldn't eat anything, much less the things I wanted to eat! Making matters worse, I hadn't slept in over 10 years. When trying to share the experience of chronic pain, only those who experience chronic pain can truly understand; empathy only goes so far.


After many months of many different tests I was finally sent to a rheumatologist who gave me the final diagnosis of Fibromyalgia.


What is Fibromyalgia?

Fibromyalgia is defined by National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases as, "a disorder that causes muscle pain and fatigue (feeling tired). People with fibromyalgia have pain and tenderness throughout the body." These are not the only symptoms that a fibromyalgia patient may experience. Some other symptoms include, but are not limited to:

  • Fatigue
  • Headaches
  • Digestive Issues
  • Painful Menstruation
  • Memory Problems (Fibro Fog)
  • Trouble Sleeping
  • Morning Stiffness

body.jpg
Source


What Causes Fibromyalgia?

Empirical Science is coming closer to understanding fibromyalgia, but as it stands there is little known information about what causes fibromyalgia. Theories that surround fibromyalgia link chronic stress, repeated trauma, repeated injuries, illness, and genetics (NIAMS).


How is Fibromyalgia Treated?

There is no known cure for fibromyalgia, the only route doctors are able to take are those which treat the symptoms which appear and cause discomfort. According to NIAMS, "Fibromyalgia treatment often requires a team approach. The team may include your doctor, a physical therapist, and possibly other health care providers."

The most effective form of treatment is a combination of regular exercise and physical activity (as per one's tolerance), and a regular, balanced, healthy diet. Medications can be used in combination to assist symptoms which may need further addressing. According to Mayo Clinic, "Duloxetine (Cymbalta) and milnacipran (Savella) may help ease the pain and fatigue associated with fibromyalgia. [Doctors] may prescribe amitriptyline or the muscle relaxant cyclobenzaprine to help promote sleep." Pain relievers are sometimes prescribed, but are often avoided to try and curb dependence. Anti-seizure medications may also provide relief to some symptoms, "Gabapentin (Neurontin) is sometimes helpful...while pregabalin (Lyrica) was the first drug approved by the Food and Drug Administration to treat fibromyalgia (Mayo)."


fibro1.jpg
Source


I wrote this article in hopes that others may begin to further understand those of us who have to live through life with fibromyalgia, and other chronic diseases & illnesses.


Many days I have to cancel plans with friends and acquaintances because the pain is just too severe. I have lost friendships because of what I experience. There's no way I can hold a regular job, I cannot sit or stand for too long, I cannot lift heavy objects regularly, I get tired very quickly. I am a very motivated and intelligent individual, but my drive is almost zero most days because it takes so much energy to just get out of bed that I have so little left for my hobbies. The nerves in my hands have been effected so that I can no longer do most of the arts that I find so much passion in.

Still I find a reason to smile. Days where I find myself spiraling downward, I find it very useful to write in my gratitude book several things that I am grateful for and/or pleasant things that occurred over the day. I hope that this article about fibromyalgia was informative for you. I am sure I forgot to mention things, so feel free to ask questions and I'll do my best to answer them or direct you where you may find the right answer.

Love to you all & may you all find health!


Works Cited

"Fast Facts About Fibromyalgia." National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, n.d. Web. Accessed 09 June 2017. https://www.niams.nih.gov/health_info/fibromyalgia/fibromyalgia_ff.asp

"Fibromyalgia." Mayo Clinic. Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research, 02 May 2017. Web. Accessed 09 June 2017.
http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/fibromyalgia/diagnosis-treatment/treatment/txc-20317826


LOVELAUGHTER&&XHAOS

PALPABLE POPE Ypyskypo Skwyrl, the Y'sas
High Priest, Temple of Appled Thought
Alchemist for Trades


If you enjoyed this post, feel free to follow me and check out a few of the others that I have authored!


Sort:  

My wife has an appointment with a Rheumatologist soon for exactly this

Let me know if there is any questions you have about it. I hope she finds some relief!

Thank you. That's nice to know we have that option. I probably will pester you about it in future. We're very new to the entire concept.

You're very welcome. I've found it very helpful to be able to talk with others who have a similar experience. Fibro is a very confusing thing and the entire situation surrounding it can seem so mysterious in a frightening way.

Just know that while there is no cure, there are ways to live a normal life and get beyond the pain. Meditation helps a lot, especially different mindfulness techniques.

That's good to know. Thank you :)

I forgot to mention, another thing that might be found useful is finding local support groups. Others may have good advice for both her and for you living with a loved one going through such. My best wishes upon the journey towards health that you two are embarking upon.

I've already done that thanks. It's not diagnosed yet but we've sought out groups in our area and joined them pre-emptively

you might want to check out
https://inclinedbedtherapy.com/testimonials/fibromyalgia

There might also be a connection to lyme disease ("lyme disease, anatomy of a cover-up"), heavy metal poisoning (usually from amalgame fillings), focal infections (root-filled teeth), natural radiation fields at the sleeping place (water veins), atlas misalignment (see http://www.atlantotec.com) and sometimes parasites or microbial infestation.

Thank you for sharing this! I know this struggle all too well. I injured my shoulder in 2015. The injury developed into Chronic Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS) which then triggered severe Fibro. Here I am at age 40 being forced into retirement by a body that feels like it's 90. I had to leave the job that I loved (I am a Nurse) and I still struggle with feeling like there is purpose in my life. I think the biggest thing to remember is that we aren't alone. Post like this and people like you remind us of that. Thank you, thank you, thank you! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68