Mental Health Issues addressed through humour

in #health6 years ago (edited)

There is an Irish comedic duo who basically go around with plastic bags on their heads and pretend that they are very poor uneducated young lads from Limerick city in Ireland. It seems a bit mad, but they are actually really funny. More importantly though, they portray very important messages to the young people of Ireland. The first video here is a song they released a few years ago, which may not be to everyone's taste, as there is some bad language and rude gestures. But it's a good opener - let's start off light-hearted and then get serious!

If you do not like the video, I'd advise pressing stop, and continuing to the other videos I have posted further down, which I would really like people to watch. In these, one of the duo Blindboy Boatclub makes some very good points about some modern day issues, and in particular mental health issues in Ireland. I suspect this problem is rife not only in Ireland, but in every country around the world.

Funny song by the Rubberbandits called "Horse Outside"

Ok, so you may or may not have found that funny. We all have different senses of humour, but do take a look at these next video clips of Blindboy - he is a really interesting guy and you may learn something, I certainly did.

Mental Health

Here Blindboy highlights the fact that in Ireland the best mental health services are actually run by charities like Pieta House. This is a real problem here and our government should be spending a lot more money on mental health services, so that people don't have rely on charities, who in turn rely on funding through the generosity of the people who support these charities. We all pay our taxes, so we should expect that these services be properly funded.

He also makes a really good point about kids from the age of 3 and up being thought basic psychological tools to deal with stresses and emotions in their life. I'd absolutely agree with this, and it is as important as learning to cross the road. You could actually make the point that it is more important, because in Ireland in 2018, you are more likely to commit suicide, than to be killed on the road (2016 saw 162 road death vs 451 deaths by suicide) Yet, because this is an invisible risk, and was taboo for so long, we still don't have the correct structures in place for our young people.

His last point about being advertised to is also very striking, and I think what he says actually makes sense. His last comment can be taken as a joke, as I'm sure you all could see, he is after all a comedian.

Feminism

Here, Blindboy makes some really good points about feminism. I am not a feminism by any means, but Blindboy certainly made me rethink my definition of feminism, and I am more feminist than I thought, going by Blindboy's definition.

My Generation

Here Blindboy explains what his generation is faced within modern day Ireland, where a lot of the younger people of the country cannot afford to buy a house or have children and be able to provide for them.

Blindboy's Struggle with Mental Health

Here he goes into his own battle with anxiety and how he used and continues to use Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) everyday to stay well.

So, let's all be open about our mental health.

It is OK to be mentally unwell.

It is OK to be anxious.

It is OK to talk about it.

It is OK to ask for help.
Divider.png
Hopefully you enjoyed that post.

I try to post every day, so feel free to follow me and check out some of my other posts here.

Sort:  

Love blindoy. Might not always agree with him but he is so well able to speak and break down subjects to our generation that others can't.
It's always interesting to see him interviewed and he has that great mixture of humor and knowledge.

Ya, that's the thing, he is very clever at getting his point of view across through humour, and I love the way he always stays in character when on the late late show or wherever.. He's actually a great role model, bizarrely :o)

You got a 14.20% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @ablaze!

You got a 8.23% upvote from @thebot courtesy of @ablaze!
Please delegate us Steem Power & get 97% daily rewards share!
20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500, 1000 or Fill in any amount of SP.
Click For details | Discord server

This post has received a 18.70% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @ablaze.

You got a 16.67% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @ablaze!

You got a 6.88% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @ablaze!

Could there really be people out there who wouldn't find 'Horse Outside' funny? I must say I have yet to meet one.

I hope not, but you never know! I'm always a bit guarded since getting downvoted by that Bern Sanders lad and all his bots for making a comment on a Hajin post --spelt wrong on purpose ;)

Don't want to be offending anyone and getting downvoted again... That has been my only negative experience on here in almost 60 days... Such a breath of fresh air compared to other social media, which can be more akin to a sewer at times..

I hadn't thought of that at all, but you're probably wise. Steemit is my first involvement with social media but even here I see how people are punished simply for a difference of opinion. I was flagged once myself for simply commenting 'in Dan we trust'. Ah well, you live and learn....... to keep your head down;)

Ha ha awwww @ablaze that song had me pissing myself. Fuck ur suburu I got a horse outside. The part in the last video where ur man is talking about panic attacks hit me hard with memories of my anxiety/depression when it was at its worse. I think expression, artistic/musical/written is key. It was for me. I felt like half a person before I managed to claw myself out of the creative mire + start expressing myself again. I only mention it cause it looks like that's what the Rubberbandits have done. They remind me of an 'Irish' Goldie lookin chain. Quality :-)

Ha ha ha, glad you liked the song @raj808 and thanks for the honest insight into your own battle.. The mind is a fragile thing indeed, great to hear that your artistic endeavours helped to lift the black cloud for you..

Thanks for making me discover Blindboy , very interesting. There's an obvious social stigma on mental illness

No worries man, ya he is quite the character, and it's a great way to get across a message to younger people who wont listen to a professor for example... and you are right, there is still a social stigma attached to mental illness, society is getting better, but we have a long way to go..

I can imagine the youth listening to him thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31