Something You’re Sure To Love

in #hardforkseries7 years ago (edited)

guitar-1015750_1280.jpg

Something You’re Sure To Love

 
It’s strange as hell when Venn forgets to put me on hold. He’s standing right there in front of me, a hologram looking at Pilot, talking to some guy I can’t see in Idaho. Didn’t even mute me, so I have to keep quiet like a little kid, while he conducts his business. I’m his father, dammit.

I punch up a smoke and stick it in my mouth. These things are getting so real. It’s a free upgrade Venn sent over this morning. Usually the upgrades don’t offer much but this one--the spliff feels like it’s actually in my mouth. I take in a deep pull.

Well, they haven’t figured out that part, yet.

I flick the poor-excuse-for-a-joint into the air with one hand and point at it with the other. “Bang.” It disappears. Pilot jumps at the illusion just a moment too late. He comes over and head-butts my leg, wanting to play that game again.

“Not now, old buddy.” I whisper to him as I bend over, and he leaps onto the loveseat beside me. He walks in a circle, then lies down against my leg and purrs.

(story preview only)

Sort:  

Wao! @jonknight

This is extremely awesome, i got carried away by the wonderful expression. I nearly got my food burnt. You really made my day with this.
Thanks big time.
I look forward to reading more from you.

Regards @maintain4real-eu

Thank you! If I make it to 2029 I'll be celebrating 70 years on this old rock. That might be a pretty good day...

That's pretty cool @jonknight. I believe for sure that you will made it beyond 2029.
It will be a great pleasure for me to celebrate you.
You deserve the best because you are giving the best.

I really appreciate that--Thanks! Maybe we'll get together and toast long life!

Hi @jonknight. A Treasure Hunter from the Isle of Write found this story to be a gem worthy of curating and, if you accept, publication in our upcoming anthology series.

This post explains our curation project and what this means for you! A 5 SBD reward should appear in your wallet momentarily. Please navigate to the The Isle of Write on Discord and type @TreasureHunter into any chat to inform us of your arrival. As soon as possible an Isle Treasure Hunter will contact you to answer any questions you may have and verify if you would like to be included in the publication.

Congratulations, and thank you for sharing your talent with the Steemit Fiction community!

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Thanks! I accept without reservation!

Whoops! Copy error 😉

But, yay!

This post received a 10% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sunravelme from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Congratulations! This story has been curated by The SFT. :-) A small SBD reward has been transferred to your wallet.

https://steemit.com/curation/@sft/the-sft-curates-12-8-17

It has been added to the Literary Reading Room at the SFT Library.

http://sftlibrary.com/

I am honored. Thank you.

Sniff
Nice piece! Feelin' the love.
Good luck.

Thanks, John. Lots of heart in this one for sure.

Great story. You are really refining the 'sentimental' and 'emotional' side of your writing, and it makes for very pleasant reading. I may be missing those components in my own writing. :)

I am seriously working on the emotions. A delicate wire to walk, trying to goad up a giggle or two and then turn that into tears... it's a tall order. Makes me happy to see it works with you. Thanks!

Saw this in the queue and was so impressed. Well deserved curation by @SFT!

If I were pressed to name my favorite story by me, this one would rank high in the running. Thank you!

This is spectacular, @jonknight. There are so many wonderful, quotable gems. It’s a New Mexico high plains breeze. I’m a tumbleweed, rolling slow along an empty stretch of highway, looking for or maybe, remembering a home. Wow.

It's a very touching tale, too. You've done an amazing job of putting us readers into this little future world, where so much damage has been done, but the memories of the past linger. The poignant VR communication really works. Just... wow. (And I love your curse word!)

Thank you @jayna! As always, the workshop helps immensely. I loved writing this, and rewriting and rewriting, lol. But I did love it, and it makes me happy to see it reach you and others, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50