My HappyPlace by me @c0ff33a ☕️

in #happyplace6 years ago (edited)

A good week ago my friend @robertandrew started a new tag #HappyPlace , in this tag you can share

The place where you love to do a Combo of things including but no limited to ,relaxing, pondering, eating and drinking ,meditating, and yes even working on Steemit.

You can read his full Happy Place Post and it is a wonderful tag to share a post about where you find most relaxing.

My own #HappyPlace - it's a bit unusual of course, because for me it is...

IMG_2952.JPG

At work, with my coffee roasting machines. Roasting coffee is a very isolated task, you have to watch the machines all the time they run and distractions are to be avoided. Today I had to work both machines because while I had bulk orders to fulfill with the big roaster, someone had come to see the smaller one working. Talking, roasting on two machines and trying not to over roast the coffee is hard. But there was a bigger problem, after I had just started to cool my first roast on the big 5kg roaster the power went out in the whole roasting room!

This is quite a major problem, the roasters heat drums from below and when the drums stop turning you risk the heat being in one place causing the drum to warp. The situation was of course made worse because I was demonstrating the machines to a potential customer and obviously did not want them to worry - not easy when you are in full on PANIC!

But after checking the RCD for the consumer unit in the roasting room, because I wired all the electrics myself the next stop was the fuse box I ran the power from in the first place. Now this fuse box is circa 1990's technology, old school porcelain fuses with a fuse wire.

IMG_2946.JPG

The gap is the fuse I pulled out that is supposed to be powering my roasters, and it quickly became evident what the problem was.

IMG_2947.JPG

Burnt out fuse wire, running both roasters at the same time plus the extraction fan and router in the room had exceeded the power capacity of this fuse wire. Short term fix borrow one of the other fuses from the board because three of them run a 3 phase grinder I was not using at that time - it's super fun pushing a porcelain fuse into place on an old board like this when everything in the room is turned on - sparks galore and yes this fuse box is 12ft up a wall so I had to climb a ladder to access it. Wobbling on a ladder while you push in a sparking fuse - that is not my #HappyPlace but still all in days work for me.

Total power outage time was 4 minutes , it's not good at all for the roasters to have the heated up drums they use sit still at temperature it can warm them, and the person I was demonstrating the machines to was a bit flustered - but I was soon back running the machines and he got to take home some lovely roasted coffee to try.

Once all the roasting had been done and my visitor had left, resolving why I had this problem came about. I dug around in my tool boxes and found a fuse wire set. It had 5amp fuse wire which was super thin, then 15amp fuse wire which was the exact diameter in my blown fuse. This was the problem, the small red 1kg roaster is 5.5kw so pretty much the whole power rating for that wire, except on top of that I had the motors from the bigger roaster needing power, extraction fan etc.

So I replaced the thin 15amp wire with thicker 30amp fuse wire - that will keep my roasters going a long time and without the worry of the power shutting off suddenly again.

I have many different coffee origins to roast tomorrow, so hopefully a coffee of the world post will show up soon. Thank you all for taking the time to read my posts, it's always really appreciated and I hope you all get something new out of them.

Some of my previous posts you might have missed


Driving to Darlington

The C0ff33 Vlog 4th May 2018
Sublime Sunday by @c0ff33a ☕️





Kind thanks to @enginewitty for employing his Ninja graphic design skills and producing this 🔥 banner

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

For the simplest way to upvote and promote your work, log into SmartSteem it’s the smartest way to get your work noticed.

Join Steemfollower and get upvotes in return for upvotes. It’s free, simple, easy to find new content to upvote and get your own content seen by more users and possibly upvoted.

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from. You can also follow me on Twitter

The picture to the right kindly sketched by the wonderful @bridget.art , be sure to check her incredible art out https://steemit.com/@bridget.art

The greatest challenge we face on Steemit is getting our posts seen, I have always believed the simplest and best value way of doing this is by commenting on the blog posts of others, the more you engage people and interact with them the greater the chance they will visit your own blog and return to the favour.

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr


This awesome animated Banner has been kindly been created by the wonderful @snook

Sort:  

You are CraZy to do what you did!!!!! Do you have ANY IDEA what could have happened to US with out you??????? <<did you see what I did there :D

That said, I really like knowing your happy place is something you have to do most days. Shows you really are doing what you should be doing in life!!!

I wish @ecoinstant was one more........ he needs to see this.

I'm not sure what day it is today but whatever day it is I hope you have a wonderful rest of yours :D

Thank you very much, honestly I have been in far worse scrapes then that - nothing dangerous about fitting a fuse it just get’s a little scary when it sparks! It’s like changing a light bulb that has blown when the switch is on and you fit the bulb and it lights up in your hand - that sort of scare.

It’s Thursday and I’m roasting again right now - no rest for the wicked!

Nice and a interesting place you shared today awesome to see your post today : )

Thank you very much

Me gusta mucho el café, aquí donde vivo lamentablemente ha desmejorado la calidad del mismo por problemas diversos, así que me gustaría mucho una taza de buen café recién tostado jajaja. Quizá algún día amigo. Saludos...

That could have been catastrophic. Glad you found the issue and were able to resolve it quickly. Awesome job👍

Thank you very much, it would have been a bit Smokey if I had a full load of coffee in the drum when the power went out. It’s not good for the roaster either sitting static hot like that. All sorted now though, with some nice thick 30amp fuse wire in place!

This is awesome! I bet the smell over there is unbelievable! I love the smell of coffee.

When it’s roasting it smells more like burnt toast - but while it is cooling it can be heavenly.

There is no doubt that your Happy place is something around coffee :-)
This is interesting, I am going to share my happy place soon, it's kind of exciting :-)

Thank you very much, it is true to say I am never too far from a coffee. And I guess your #HappyPlace will in some way involve crystals!

My goodness, this sounds a bit scary. Should you not have turned off and unplugged the things before changing the fuse? You're lucky you didn't get electrocuted.

Well, I am sure this IS your #happyplace when things are running smoothly. I love the smell of roasting coffee!

Aaaahhh yes that would be far too sensible, besides which the me is of the essence I would not wish my roaster drum to warp sat still while at 200 degrees Celsius so a little spark ⚡️ is not too bad.

In fact I have had far worse electrical mishaps, including the time I was on the top level of our work pallet racking - some 15ft high up wiring a new power feed for some lighting. I had disconnected the lighting fuse and needed to tap into an existing junction box of wiring. While adjusting the position of an earth wire there was a tremendous and flash that nearly sent me flying backwards off the top of the racking! Turns out the 1960’s wiring had been done by someone very creative - they had some how combined the lighting and sockets power feeds into one junction box - so the socket power was live - I should have double checked with a tester but never thought of it! Bit of a close call that one - especially as I was the only one in the building that evening and the other key holder was away abroad for a week - so the staff could have turned up the next day and wondered why the could not get into work!

I really could do a ton of posts on all the random stupid stuff I have done that some how I manage to get away with not being badly injured!

Mmm, I think I could like your happy place, I LOVE the smell of roasting coffee. Although too much is definitely too much lol!
The worst part of our vacation was the swill we were forced to drink at times, gas station coffee... ICK!

Your back! I missed you. And you reminded me I need to go upvote @youarehope ThankFull Thursdays post it's always so wonderful.

You do get some terrible coffee on the road, although it does the job of keeping you alert at least! Thanks for calling in very much appreciated.

Men at work the best place one can enjoy...

We would get bored quickly without something to do !

You got a 12.30% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @c0ff33a!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43