HAPPINESS CONTEST 01 - When hubby cooks.

in #happinesscontest6 years ago (edited)

I am not sure is it only me or it happens to others too. Often, I don't look forward to eat what I cook. It just taste ordinary, like meh, nothing special. Although I confess I don't cook luxury food due to time limitation and it is for the children so I don't add alot of salt and seasoning.

For instance, take instant noodle as an example, the same curry flavour 3-minute instant noodle taste way better if someone else cook for me, instead of me cooking it for myself, same method, same water volume, same pre-packed seasoning. Anyone reckons with this? Hence, I always secretly wish to eat others' cooking.

SmartSelectImage_2018-02-20-12-46-32.png
Own design by Canva's app.

And.....SURPRISE!!!

Hubby woke up especially early the other morning and announced he would prepare breakfast. Oh my, I was happy to the max like bouncing on the fluffy boingy cloud. I wondered what was he going to make but what I was sure was I would not be eating only cream crackers/bread (which was my usual fast-on-the-go breakfast). Rubbing my palms in excitement to wait!

20180219_071622.jpg
I sneaked in at the corner of kitchen to snap his photo.

20180219_172832.jpg
Opsee! He caught me snapping his photo. Nah, he wouldn't mind because he knew I sure used it for blog.

Ta-Da!

20180220_122617.jpg
My all-time favourite: Scrambled eggs, bacon and baked bean!

Therefore, I did not care much about calories that day. I took a big amount of everything. 6 pieces of bacon! That was sinful gluttony only for that day, ahem! Because when you are happy you don't bother much about unnecessary worry or concern.

20180219_172958.jpg
Big portion, right? And all were mine!

20180219_074700.jpg
And must combo with a cup of coffee for happy ending.

Thank you, love.

I was indeed grateful because he already had alot in hands to do, yet he purposely woke up earlier to show special love. Indeed, love is like a flower, you let them grow. Thank you hubby for showing your ever-growing love for the family. And I did not only get to eat special breakfast, but a breakfast cooked by others, by my love. Every single mouthful I munched with gladness and happiness.

Love is that condition in which the happiness of another person is essential to your own.~Robert A. Heinlein.


Thank you @zen-art to host this "Happiness Contest". The link to the contest is here: https://steemit.com/happinesscontest/@zen-art/happiness-contest-01-is-starting-win-free-sbd-just-by-being-happy

Come on! Let us join the happy fun contest and support @zen-art and one another :)
SmartSelectImage_2018-02-19-17-20-19.png
Image is taken from @zen-art's Happiness Contest's page.

Stay happy! Stay lovely! Be blessed! 😉


With 💗, @iamjadeline

2018-02-17-00-46-09.jpg

LEGEND_20180219_165833.gif

20180212_193505-320x240.png

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Sort:  

You are so lucky to have a loving husband that cooks!
I wish to have someone like that in the future.
Your happiness is simple yet so touching! Best of luck. :)

He is a better chef than me. I cook to eat to survive only. He cooks to make sure tastebud and tummy both equally satisfied.

I love scrambled eggs!

Yes same same!!! Super nice. ;)

especially creamy creamy one

Oh yes!!!! Yummy.. 😋

Yummmmsss!!! Ben loves the beans too! Simple love breakfast with coffee is the best! 😍😍😍

Yes! Thank you for dropping by. I have to say this I miss you. Hope everything is well at home with the awesome addition. He pandai coz he wants to celebrate CNY also then can get alot of angpao. CNY angpao and arrival's angpao. Then fullmoon's angpao. Wuhoo!

Smilling widely as i read ur post :)))))) Can feel how excited you are and how yummy was the bfast! Heheeee. Happyyy together with u! 😊

Really yummy! Like dream comes true. Thank you Michelle. 😁

That's such a sweet surprise for you, @iamjadeline! Simple happiness at hand. :)

Yes. A surprise indeed. and Jayden also tumpang happy and bangga. 🤗

Looks sedap.. now i'm hungry.

It is sedap indeed. 😊

Super sedap breakfast you had there. Even more slurps because it’s lovingly prepared by le husband. Makes me wanna have the same for breakfast too; but I only have ham in the fridge, no bacon. Since your ai ren made breakfast, you did the dishes kah? 😄

Eh how you know? Really I did the dishes. haha. Ham goes well too I believe. Or luncheon meat? Do you take?

Usually, if one is cooking, the other will do the dishes.

Yes, I like luncheon meat very much. Now that you mentioned, you're giving me ideas. Since it's CNY, why not replace the bacon/ham/luncheon meat with bah kwa instead? Aiyo, it's only breakfast, but already so indulgent.

@iamjadeline,

Contrary to popular belief, our sense of taste is mostly influenced by our olfactory sense (sense of smell). For example, when blindfolded and nose piched off, many people will swear they are eating an apple instead of a potato!

But if we are exposed to the same smell for awhile, our sense of smell becomes desensitized to it. It's an evolutionary survival mechanism. That's why hospital workers, fish market workers, and slaughterhouse butchers soon don't notice the "smell of the workplace".

Those are reasons why food that one cooks often tastes better when someone else cooks it.

Namaste,

JaiChai

"when blindfolded and nose piched off, many people will swear they are eating an apple instead of a potato!"

Seriously? Wow I didn't this fact and now i know. No wonder whatever I cook I don't feel like eating them. lol.

Thanks so much for this insight. It is interesting. Thank you for dropping by for support. 😁

That looks like a hearty breakfast indeed. I am hungry ;-)
You're right by the way, other people's cooking always tastes better than my own, except pancakes! No one does it like I do

Wah. please share your recipe and steps of making your pancakes here, if you don't intend to keep it as a secret 😉

You have one lucky man! Feel the love.

You meam I am lucky to have this man isit? Thank you. Thank you. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56